We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth for money”
Review of The Danna Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Danna Langkawi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I came to The Danna Langkawi for my vacations with my family and this hotel is such a wonderful place to be..the staff welcome you with a lovely smile and they even provide to u a welcome massage on our arrival...I still can remember all those cheerful staff such as Ragil and Shuaib..they really welcome u and we dun even feel like going back after 4 days and 3 nites at the hotel..even on the last day all the chefs and staff bit farewell to us..surely to come back to dis hotel...love it so much...thumbs up to all the staffs..

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jue7377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your kind comments and feedback. Ragil and Suaib are our shining stars and they really provide intimate experiences to our guest. I am glad that everything went well with your stay and it is very common in our guest that they do not want to return to their home after staying at The Danna :)

Looking forward to yor return to The Danna

Warm Regards
Aamir Khan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,550 - 2,556 of 3,213 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2011

Just spent 6 nights here after a week in KL. Lovely hotel! Were a little concerned before we came that it wouldn't be a family hotel, but we were wrong to worry- the children (11 and 8) loved it! From the warm welcome, to the beautiful rooms - best we have ever stayed in (we had sea-view Viceroy with interconnecting door for children), and the amazing pool, this hotel was a dream! The food was excellent- we became quite addicted to roti canai for breakfast. We ate snacks around the pool during the day along with coolers from the bar- prices are not cheap for Malaysia but appropriate for a luxury hotel. In the evenings we ate at Planters restaurant a few times- good range of dishes or themed buffet. We tried the chinese seafood restaurant in the harbour- tasty but not outstanding, and Privilege restaurant- very good food but slow service. Other nights we took taxis to Pantai Cenang and ate local at Tomato- cheap but wow! Service at the hotel was excellent-nothing was too much trouble for the staff. It was clean and elegantly furnished, with supremely comfortable beds. We took a couple of trips as recommended by the concierge- the mangrove kayak and the snorkelling and fish-feeding boat- both were great experiences. The Langkawi cable car was well worth the long queue (go early or late- or swelter while you wait!). A tip- we brought DVDs from home to use in the room- wrong region, need region 3 here! A grown up hotel for all the family, would love to return!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsAWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your time and writing such a detailed review of The Danna. You said it right that this hotel is a dream. I am so glad that everything went well with your stay. I am also happy to know that you really enjoyed all the "Things to do" in the island. Looking forward to your return in a not too distant future.

Warm regards

Aamir Khan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Staff were lovely, couldn't do enough for you. Hotel although very grand had a relaxed atmosphere. Food wasn't overpriced and of a good standard. Pool area ideal for both kids and couples. Rooms indulgent. Amazing sea views. Location on the harbour ideal for night time restaurants.

Paul Wellington & family.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pjwelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Dear Mr. Wellington,

Thank you so very much for your time and writing your review. It was a pleasure to have you all here stay with us. The entire Planter's team misses you and very sad that you had to go back home. Next time we should get together for dinner with Collins. Looking forward to your return to The Danna Langkawi.

Warm regards

Aamir Khan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Can't fault the rooms, the staff, the ambiance...the whole Danna experience has been excellent the 3 nights we were there. Some feedback, nothing major, ..only 4 DVDs available, Mr Aamir (the GM), after we spoke to you we checked again at Straights & Co, there is no list of 200 DVDs as you mentioned, only the 4 on display. Thanks also for complimentary birthday cake, it was a nice gesture. Also there should be a sign warning guests of jellyfish, there is a big party of them...the jellyfish I mean. Definitely not safe to go into the water. Great stay nevertheless.

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about The Danna Langkawi. I am checking on your comments with regards to movies as some are borrowed and some are not returned in time by a few guest. My apologies if it caused you any inconvenience. I am glad that rest of your stay was great. Please do come back soon and I will make sure that we have enough movies available for your viewing pleasure.

warm Regards

Aamir Khan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I was luckily enought to stay at the Danna in october whilst in Langkawi on business and i must say has to be one of the best properties in Langkawi... the hotel is british colonial style and very compact... not spread out like other resorts in Langkawi which means you dont have to take buggies or walk far for all facilities... it has one of the best pools in Langkawi overlooking the ocean... the rooms are amazing even the cheapest room is tastefully decorated and a very large bathroom with views out to which ever way your room is facing.

The dining facilities are amazing, planters restaurant offers a large array of buffet for breakfast and also ate there for dinner one night and offers a good choice of food at quite a reasonable price for a 5* hotel... there is also a good choice of restaurants outside by the marina if you wish to eat out now and again

The staff here are amazing and cant do enough for you from the pool side to restaurant all are smiling day in day out.

There are some also nice touches offered by the hotel.. the welcome massage with cold towels and a nice welcome drink to the poolside cool towels and ice water and not to mention the FREE WIFI which some hotels charge for these day.

This place is a must for anyone visiting langkawi even though it has only been open for under a year it still looks brand new

Room Tip: all rooms are amazing and the views are to whether you are facing the forest, marina or sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelswansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time in writing such a wonderful review of The Danna Langkawi. Our team of associates really makes that difference in our guest experience. They are not only passionate but work hard to create that intimate experience for all our guest. I am glad that you had a wonderful and a memorable experience at The Danna Langkawi.

Warm regards

Aamir Khan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

This hotel is less than a year old so everything is in good condition and presented beautifully. Marina or sea view rooms are the best aspects. The staff were super helpful and are so obviously proud of the hotel. The pool is fabulous for early morning laps - over 50m long! Langkowi is easy to drive around and is worth doing. The cable car is just around the corner and is spectacular. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Marina or sea view rooms for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewFarmPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for taking the time and writing your wonderful reveiw of The Danna Langkawi. Team Members are the greatest assets for us as they feel really proud to work for The danna and honestly work hard to provide a great, memorable The Danna experience to all our guest.

Looking forward to your next stay at The Danna Langkawi

Warm regards

Aamir Khan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

A genuinely excellent hotel - beautifully designed (from every interior angle) by someone with a keen aesthetic sense - and almost faultless, and, at times, charming, service. Even the cheapest 'Merchant' room is astonishingly fitted out: sublimely restful furnishings and superb, airy bathrooms (at last: a hotel bathroom with exterior windows!) The Planter's restaurant allows you the choice of a breakfast in a wooden 'pondok' overlooking the pool and bay, or snug in the main dining room. The food's superb - and very well presented - with plenty of attentive staff. Excellent 'little' touches too - the cool towels and iced water - (and on one occasion, slices of melon) circulating at the pool; the nooks and crannies (pool room; library; cafe) - and, if you wish, just a stroll from a choice of dock-side restaurants in the marina. Come here to rest and relax at the hotel - and spend hours in the array of pool spaces - a tad far from activities such as diving.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2011

Dear Guest,

Wow, I am so impressed reading your review as you have really written it carefully choosing the right words to describe the experience. Thank you so very much for your time in writing your The Danna Experience. We are all happy to know that you really enjoyed it so much. Please do come back soon to the chosen solitude to take in the piquant scene of the The Danna Langkawi as memories forever.

Warm Regards

Aamir Khan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Kok
1.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
11.6 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
3.9 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
5.6 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Danna Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danna Langkawi

Address: Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Price Range: $242 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Danna Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated on a legendary island of Langkawi, Malaysia, The Danna Langkawi is a reflection of a timeless luxury vacation hotel that nestles against a backdrop of nature’s beauty. This 5-star luxury beachfront hotel in Langkawi offers an elite holiday experience, allowing you to find supreme comfort amidst an inviting ambience while admiring the unrivalled views of the white sandy beach, marina bay, sea and verdant green hills. Amid the solitude and serenity of the island, return to the heyday of the British empire and immerse yourself in colonial splendor, coupled with modern amenities and a dash of exotic intimacy. The distinct British colonial design of The Danna Langkawi is complimented by Malaysian influences that embrace the future while paying tribute to the past. The Danna Langkawi is the winner of TripAdvisor Traveler’s Choice, HAPA Platinum Service Excellence award,HAPA GOLD Resort of the Year award, HAPA GOLD Signature Luxury resort and Expedia Insiders' Select 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Danna Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing