We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Danna Langkawi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Dash Resort(Langkawi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,538)
Filter reviews
3,538 results
Traveler rating
3,099
329
81
15
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,099
329
81
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshoulder massagemarina viewcolonial stylegames roompool staffinfinity poolbeautiful hotelcable carwelcome drinkbest hotel we have ever stayedplanters restaurantour honeymoonmoment you arriveperdana quaymerchant roomluxury hotelpool side
Filter
Updating list...
2,936 - 2,941 of 3,538 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The Danna is a very nice property - not a spralling resort but an intimate setting with excellent character. The staff was fantastic and helped us coordinate a couple of excursions. And the backdrop couldn't have been more appealing - Langkawi is a beautitful destination.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTJ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive reveiw of The Danna. We all really appreciate it. Please come back soon to your 2nd home in Langkawi.

Warm Regards

Aamir Khan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed at The Danna for a couple of days as the end of trip through Malaysia. It was a perfect ending. A couple of things worth mentioning:
- beautiful colonian designed building
- impressive rooms, with large bed, large bathroom en terrace
- huge infinity pool (the staff is really proud of it being the largest on Langkawi)
- pool area spacious setup, you can lay down and relax without having someone else big toe up your nose
- happy hour at the poolbar between 4 and 6 PM :)
- decent food quality at the restaurant

The best thing though is the staff. Each and every one of them has a constant smile on their face and are most attentive and will go great lenghts to help you with whatever request you may have.

Some minor developmental points:
- wifi coverage is quite poor. Although it is free, there is no coverage in the rooms. Only at the restaurant and bar. However, several different staff members assured me this was already being tackled, so I expect this to be fixed quite soon
- the hotel is located nicely in a calm bay, at a decent distance from any towns, which limits your dining options to the hotel restaurant and a couple of others at the neighbouring marina. (we had our meals at the hotel and loved the food, but prices are european)

In summary, a great hotel with all the amenities plus the staff to make your stay truly unforgettable!

Room Tip: Don't care too much about a room with a view. Spend time at the pool instead of at your rooms terrace.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JelmerJoosten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and writing your review. We are all very happy to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. The WiFi issues is almost over as we have finished installing WiFi to atleast 95% of our rooms and the rest will be over by the end of the month. On your next visit you will be able to enjoy the WiFi anywhere at the resort.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at The Danna

Warm Regards

Aamir Khan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed at the danna for 4 nights. The service was excellent, from the initial check in and greeting to organizing excursions. Pool area is amazing and the room was large with good facilities (stayed in Merchant room).
It was also my girlfriends birthday while staying at the hotel. The staff assisted with arranging some flowers and also presented a cake from the hotel. All the staff were very friendly and made my girlfriend feel special throughout the day.
location is great as there are a few restaurants and wine shops outside the hotel (on the habour) for more cost effective dining. As with most hotels of this quality food inside the hotel was good if a little expensive. Its a shame high end hotels cant offer lower priced food as Im sure the Danna will lose alot of businees to the outside eateries.
There were a couple of minor issues while we were there but nothing to distract from the overall excellent level of service and friendly staff.
I would highly recommend this hotel and will hopefully be back at some time in the future.
Thanks to the staff for making our stay a happy one.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and writing your positive feedback about The Danna. We all really appreciate your patronage. I am glad that you both were able to enjoy the birthday events besides your stay.

Wishing you well and looking forward to welcoming you back at The Danna soon

Warm Regards

Aamir Khan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Luxurious, spacious and clean rooms with great view, huge toilet with great amenities. Friendly and extremely helpful staff that makes your stay unforgettable - responsive to requests through mail or phone, great service through cocktails/fruits waiting in the room, massage upon arrival. Rich breakfast and huge pool. All in all, great choice!

Still, the hotel management must take care of the rising issue of jellyfish, which is a problem for the whole island and not a favorite discussion item of the locals and staff.

Room Tip: Top floor with marina view (401). Ask for it and you'll get it!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 01SKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your wonderful feedback about us. Our staff is definitely our asset to the resort. I am glad that your stay went well. The issue of Jelly fish, as you rightfully mentioned is an issue in the island and Local authorities are working on it. There is a full development Lab focused on issues of the island, has been created from the Prime Minister's office and they are half way through to implement some significant initiatives to make Langkawi further beautiful on international standards. I am sure this problem will be resolved soon. I will keep you posted on developments through my replies to feedbacks.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future

Warm Regards

Aamir Khan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We spent a wonderful 11 nights at The Danna in July. The service was the best we have ever experienced, and the hotel was new, clean, and lovely. Food in the restaurant was really good (selection very extensive) and pool/beach facilties great too. Loved the free yoga classes with Dorothy!
Location was perfect if you're keen on a quiet beach and relaxing setting, which was exactly what we were after. We hired a motorbike to get around the island, which the danna boys valet parked each time we returned!!
The strip of restaurants in the harbour next to the hotel were all worth a visit (including privilege restaurant which is rated #1 on trip advisor).
We recommend The Danna to anyone travelling to Langkawi - we already have two friends booked in for next year!
All the staff were fiendly and helpful, but thanks especially to Azmie in the restaurant and Thiva by the pool. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank south-melbournites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review of The Danna. Azmie and Theva are super stars in our team and their passion to serve and anticipate guest needs results in their job satisfaction on day to day basis. We all appreciate your comments and are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at The Danna.

Warm Regards

Aamir Khan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews