We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Danna Langkawi
Nearby Hotels
Dash Resort(Langkawi)
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$113
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$565
$552
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$27
$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$554
$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$21
$16
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$31
$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sabrina Resort(Langkawi)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (3,542)
Filter reviews
3,542 results
Traveler rating
3,103
329
81
15
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,103
329
81
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshoulder massagemarina viewcolonial stylegames roompool staffinfinity poolbeautiful hotelcable carwelcome drinkbest hotel we have ever stayedplanters restaurantour honeymoonmoment you arriveperdana quaymerchant roomluxury hotelpool side
Filter
Updating list...
3,044 - 3,049 of 3,542 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Just like the other 100 reviews- excellent service! Definitely worth every penny.
Customer service was like no other. Stayed there for 5 nights with friends and absolutely fell in love with the place and staff. I felt that the staff members where very attentive to each and every customer.
We had the pool/beach view and the swimming pool was breath taking.
Dinning experience was excellent. Had a different selection of bbq food every night by the pool. Morning buffet consist of a large range of selection. Had roti of the day and/or waffles freshly made and bought over to you. Was greeted every morning at the restaurant with a freshly made yoghurt shot.
Believe me, you will not be disappointed. This hotel made my trip to Malaysia worth while.

Room Tip: rent a car
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mint21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your patronage and your lovely feedback. I am so happy to know that your stay was a memorable one. Please keep in touch and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back at The Danna Langkawi.

Thank you again

Sincerely,

Aamir Khan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

HOTEL IDENTITY
Those interested in live music and a lively environment need will enjoy the Hard Rock chain of hotels and detest The Danna. This hotel is more like an understated, luxurious modern colonial hotel. One might feel afraid to talk out loud along the hallways! However, there are certainly nice touches like the 1930s photos adorning the billiard room and balconies with seats to the garden, outside guestrooms.

ROOM
New, solid wood flooring, very clean (no dirt even under the bed!), comfortable beds and pillows, evenly distributed air-conditioning, powerful shower, luxurious toilet fittings, all lead to a very comfortable stay.

FACILITIES
The fitness, billiard, games room, etc., are all small in size but furnished with quality and comfort in mind, definitely deserving of a 5 star rating.

POOL
Expected for a 5 star hotel, so I would not consider it better than that of another similar 5 star hotel. However, the poolside views are spectacular (!) and certainly worth lazing around especially with the new and comfortable chairs. Overall, a quiet and relaxing environment with views to die for!

CHILD
Most hotels (even 5 star hotels) simply do not treat the child as a guest. At The Danna, we received 3 welcoming drinks, and in the room, extra bed, towels, toilet amenities, and even bathrobe (which our son loved)! Just like there are 3 guests in the room. Also, the staff constantly greeted our 10 year son (as if he mattered), the young woman in charge of the water sports was happy to kayak our 10 year old around the beach coast, and when we departed the staff handed a small two piece box of chocolate (not to us), but to our son. Bravo! Finally a hotel that does not treat the child like a piece of “invisible luggage!”

BREAKFAST
How many hotels serve a choice that includes “eggs Benedict” instead of the usual scrambled eggs and sausage? From muesli to an Asian selection, the spread was both inviting and delicious.

MINOR DETAILS
The room was decorated with the usual heavy curtain, but with a well-designed double layered satin curtain, the breakfast spread was covered with a see-through glass, etc., all very minor details but part of what distinguishes the stay as a 5 star experience.

SERVICE
Unfortunately, here is where we felt letdown. Service was at times erratic and certainly not expected of a 5 star experience which should transport us away from the humdrum of our everyday life. Before our arrival, a guest experience planner (GEP) from the hotel emailed a form for us to fill (our needs, vacation expectations, etc.), and we thought “great,” they are going to help us plan our vacation. The day before we arrived, I called for a late checkout (and the hotel agreed) and I emailed our flight plan. On arrival, staff were not aware of our late check-out or departure time and the concept of a GEP had evaporated into thin air. We were greeted with a welcome drink and a brief massage (nice touch) but was disappointed to note that another couple that arrived with a child (about the same age as our son) was given a tour of the games room, etc., while we were just ushered to our room. We asked about internet terminals; were given incorrect information and finally ended up walking around the entire hotel looking for every single facility on our own. During breakfast, my wife was told to wait in line for her omelet but after one was cooked, the staff told her it was meant for another guest and instead they would deliver another one to our table. A minute later, the same omelet was delivered to her. Due to a sudden engagement, we cut short our stay and were only at the pool once, so we did not receive any of the “great service” the other reviewers mentioned except for a cold towel, but only as we were leaving the pool area! Nor did we receive any biscotti, chocolates, etc., that another reviewer mentioned except for 3 green apples in our room. Perhaps the other reviewer stayed in a suite, but even a 4 star hotel in any part of the world provides shortbread cookies, fruit baskets, etc.

CONCLUSION
The Danna is well worth the experience. The staff was pleasant, full of smiles, and kept their distance to provide us with plenty of privacy. Free services like the boat ride to a man made island was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wingloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the time you took to write a detailed feedback about your stay experience at The Danna. Please do accept our sincere apologies for all the inconveniences you had during your stay. At The Danna, we strive for excellence and feedback like this one does help in improving our product and services further.

If you are coming back to the island in future then please do not hesitate to call or e-mail me directly and I will be happy to make arrangements for your stay. I am sure the next stay will be a memorable one as we will ensure that your stay is well looked after.

Thank you

Warm Regards

Aamir Khan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Too much rain in Southern Thailand so we were off to Langkawi where the sun was shining. Booked The Danna online as all the reviews were so good! I have stayed in hotels all over the world, this one is the best I believe that I have ever stayed in, absolutely faultless in all regards. I would particularly mention a fabulous pool, great food,especially breakfast, and a staff for whom nothing is too much trouble! Believe me I can be hard to please, this was quite an experience from start to finish.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guitarist97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy that we were able to make a memorable stay for you. We all are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Wishing you the best of everything

Sincerely,

Aamir Khan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

pros:
1.service: i don't think i understood the level of service a hotel can achieve until my stay here; the staff are amazing! i always felt like a princess , pampered by waiters who refused to let me wait at the breakfast buffet and placed me back at my pagoda to enjoy the view while they brought whatever i wanted ...they fussed over me, but i completely calm way that made me feel cared for instead of claustrophobic. the poolside staff bring complimentary iced lemon water, freshly chopped fruit,crispy fried calamari and spring rolls through the day.the poolside towels are like blankets!obviously no expense was spared in the quality of the amenities. what is particularly admirable is the hand on heart gestures all staff use, and they are all sincere! especially amazing were: Clement Paul,Hatini, Dayang, Safwan, Ifin,Saliza(who double checked the room everyday to ensure it was always as perfect as the day we checked in),Sumathi,Emily...i am actually leaving out so many names because everyone is wonderful...one morning at breakfat i particularly enjoyed the pain au chocolat and mentioned to the chef that they were more enyable than ones i had eaten in Paris. The next morning, even though they were not on the buffet and i had not mentioned anything further, the waiters brought me a frshly baked one...that's service! the staff knew our names and seemed to learn all our preferences so they were always a step ahead in pampering us. the day we checked in we received non alcoholic champagne(halal, so they were obviously conscious of our dietary requirements), a jar of cookies and biscotti and chocolate truffles.the night before checkout we were treated to the finest chocolate mousse cake imaginable. i can go on and on, but basically, the staff here feel the need to spoil their guests and they don't ever stop trying....
2.quality. the hotel,pool, rooms and facilities were top-notch. the style is colonial and this is the first hotel i have been to where the web pictures couldn't even begin to do justice to the actual beauty of every aspect of the hotel. you simply have to see it to understand.the gym, billiards room, xbox room, library ,business centre, cafe and kids club were all excellent and we hardly left the hotel since everything was provided for.
3.perdana qyay: we were pleasantly surprised by the presence of a lovely yacht marina behind the hotel. here we found an excellent convenience store, laundry service(5 ringitt per kg ), many restaurants and a spa.
4.location:close to attractions like the cable car and 7 wells and in front of the marina. also an easy drive to Cenang.
Cons: there are none in paradise ...i miss that royal feeling .this hotel is more than 5 star, it's kind of above the whole rating system- it dwells in another superior realm than other earthly establishments.
Langkawi is a place that i can say 'been there, done that' about ,as i am a person who loves exploring new destinations. But i would go back to Langkawi , just for a sojourn at the exquisite Danna, where i experienced the best service and quality ever...

Room Tip: definitely choose a seaview room
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jozidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2011

Dear Ms Juzidoc,

I am very grateful to you for your detailed feedback. I am slo glad that your stay was a memorable one. The entire team already misses you and are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Our Guest experience planner will be in touch with you to assist you with your future plans.

Wishing you the best always

Sincerely,

Aamir Khan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We arrived in Langkawi after spending a week in Singapore and looking forward to a few days of peace and relaxation. We were picked up from the airport in a Jaguar XF by Mr.Nirosh, our guest experience planner. From the moment we sat in the car, we were made to feel at home. The hotel is about 20 minutes from the airport and nestled amidst a brilliant ensemble of mountainous rain forest and the coastline with an added touch of a tiny harbour where private yachts lay anchored.

The check-in process was highly personalized and we were quickly led to our room. In our room, upon the bed, lay a pair of swans made out of towels symbolizing and celebrating the honeymoon that we were on (which I had mentioned somewhere in passing, in one of the e-mails to the hotel). We loved this personal touch and attention to detail. Being a new hotel, everything is just amazing and we hope it continues to stay that way for years to come.

The Danna has amazing restaurants but were a little too expensive for our budget, hence we opted, like many other guests to eat at one of the many restaurants that dot the harbour. We spent a good part of the next day at the hotel's pool, which is, the biggest in Langkawi !!. A private beach that offers among other things, tranquility adds to The Danna's well thought out location. Also added to the benefit of the location is the Langkawi Cable car which is about 5 minutes from the Hotel and is a must for anyone visiting here.

We would like to specially mention, above everything else, the contribution of each and every staff member for making this hotel, perhaps the best in Langkawi in such a short span of time. Every person in the hotel makes you feel special, like royalty. We would exclusively mention Nirosh, our guest experience planner, who was there to pick us up at the airport and took care of the entire stay. Next up, is Dayang, who met us at the restaurant during breakfast and ended up becoming a great friend with whom we will stay in touch and last but not the least, our enthusiastic driver Mie who took us around the Island.

We strongly recommend The Danna for anyone visiting Langkawi. Its peaceful, tranquil and invokes a sure shot Wow ! And for all Shah Rukh Khan fans, he stayed here for two weeks recently !

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sachin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for a wonderful review. Both Nirosh and Dayang and the rest of the team is on cloud nine. We are very grateful to you for your kind words. We are now looking forward to your return to The Danna Langkawi.

Warm Regards

Aamir Khan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews