We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Privacy, Tranquility and Wow !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Certificate of Excellence
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Privacy, Tranquility and Wow !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

We arrived in Langkawi after spending a week in Singapore and looking forward to a few days of peace and relaxation. We were picked up from the airport in a Jaguar XF by Mr.Nirosh, our guest experience planner. From the moment we sat in the car, we were made to feel at home. The hotel is about 20 minutes from the airport and nestled amidst a brilliant ensemble of mountainous rain forest and the coastline with an added touch of a tiny harbour where private yachts lay anchored.

The check-in process was highly personalized and we were quickly led to our room. In our room, upon the bed, lay a pair of swans made out of towels symbolizing and celebrating the honeymoon that we were on (which I had mentioned somewhere in passing, in one of the e-mails to the hotel). We loved this personal touch and attention to detail. Being a new hotel, everything is just amazing and we hope it continues to stay that way for years to come.

The Danna has amazing restaurants but were a little too expensive for our budget, hence we opted, like many other guests to eat at one of the many restaurants that dot the harbour. We spent a good part of the next day at the hotel's pool, which is, the biggest in Langkawi !!. A private beach that offers among other things, tranquility adds to The Danna's well thought out location. Also added to the benefit of the location is the Langkawi Cable car which is about 5 minutes from the Hotel and is a must for anyone visiting here.

We would like to specially mention, above everything else, the contribution of each and every staff member for making this hotel, perhaps the best in Langkawi in such a short span of time. Every person in the hotel makes you feel special, like royalty. We would exclusively mention Nirosh, our guest experience planner, who was there to pick us up at the airport and took care of the entire stay. Next up, is Dayang, who met us at the restaurant during breakfast and ended up becoming a great friend with whom we will stay in touch and last but not the least, our enthusiastic driver Mie who took us around the Island.

We strongly recommend The Danna for anyone visiting Langkawi. Its peaceful, tranquil and invokes a sure shot Wow ! And for all Shah Rukh Khan fans, he stayed here for two weeks recently !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sachin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, May 22, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for a wonderful review. Both Nirosh and Dayang and the rest of the team is on cloud nine. We are very grateful to you for your kind words. We are now looking forward to your return to The Danna Langkawi.

Warm Regards

Aamir Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,572
    294
    71
    12
    10
See reviews for
819
1,597
72
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (764)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
139 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

The rooms are specious, the position in a small bay is very well chosen, the chef knows how to cook. All good assets. However, the biggest asset of The Danna is it's staff. All members are proud to serve you and proud to serve you good. It's never important whom of the staff you address. Once addressed your questions will be answered, your remarks will be noticed. They really operate as a team.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bert_janmaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your feedback. Our staff are our greatest assets at The Danna. They strive for excellence and I am very proud of my team. Thank you again

Wishing you the best always

Sincerely

Aamir Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

Words can hardly describe how impressed I was with the hotel during my brief stay there last month.

Its location in a secluded cove makes it a hidden treasure, waiting to be discovered. Upon stepping in, I was given not only a free drink, but a head and shoulder massage that weary travellers would find very reinvigorating.

Built with colonial English elements combined with modern touches, the decor is distinctive and exudes a grandiose feel. There's a courtyard in the middle, filled with lots of greens, that bring nature to the doorstep.

Had the luxury of staying in a seaview room, and it was simply magnificent. Rooms are about twice as large as any you'd find elsewhere, and the views are to die for. Try having dinner on the balcony during sunset !

The hotel was so lovely I spent almost all my time within. It is perhaps THE best hotel that I've ever stayed in and you'd be hard pressed to find a better experience in this parts of the world.

The staff are also a plus point, everyone went about with smiles on their faces and greeted you on sight. One definitely feels like a king here. Will surely return if I have the chance to!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyTan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Dear JeremyTan9,

Thank you for your comments and feedback. Balcony dinner is also one of my favorites. We have just started The Danna Park Cinema where you can watch selected top hit movies or you may choose one and request to be played. This is will take you down to the meory lane when we all used to enjoy drive-in cinemas in summer nights. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Danna- a palatial resort.

Wishing the best always

Sincerely,

Aamir Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

My husband and i have just returned from a 4 day stay at Danna Langkawi. This a true 5* hotel with facilities and services to match. The public rooms and bedrooms are beautiful, the courtyard very well thoughtout and when the planting properly established will be stunning. The staff were extremly helpful and friendly. Unfortunately the area was having freak weather conditions and we only had a few hours of sunshine the rest was torrential rain. we did at every opportunity venture down to the magnificent infinity pool and the litte poolside touches were appreceiated i.e. iced water, fruit cold towels various nibbles. The sunbeds are very solid with huge thick towels (much needed with all the rain) and the placing of the sunbeds was quite ingenious in some cases.
The beach needed a tidy up because of the bad storms but it was impossible for anyone to do it in those conditions so i cant comment on how clean and tidy it would normally be. Equally my husband went to ask for the complimentary trip to the island but the boat was broken aagain it would have been difficuot to fix in those conditions,

The breakfast was very well presented with a good choice but not outstanding, however the afternoon tea , which we had served by the pool, on one of the few breaks from the rain, was outstanding and excellent value.
We usually try to eat in local restaurants as well as the hotel we are staying in but although there ae quite a few restaurantson the harbour most were only mediocre and perhaps we should have eaten more than once at the Danna especially as we discovered that they were doing 20% discount at the Planters restaurant.
My one gripe I have with all 5* hotels is the price of drinks. I just wish they would realise that if they charged half the price they would sell 10 times as much and the hotel guests would stay in the hotel grounds giving a much better atmosphere. A huge hotel with no guests in the evening is not appealing. A large beer locally is 8rm whereas a normal size one in the Danna is 20rm and the wine and cocktails the same mark up.

I was going to try the spa but as they didnt do pedicures and i really wanted one having travelled round for quite some time i used the local spa Aya which was excellent and ended up also having 2 massages there. Thomas is the owner but his massages are not for the faint hearted! Again the hotel spa was deserted i would imagine due to the costs. I am quite willing to pay for an excellent hotel like the Danna with all its facilities and services but do feel that the ancillary facilities including food and beverages Spa etc. should be more competitively priced .
I was very pleased with the Danna's smoking policy - strictly no smoking in the public rooms dining areas and hotel rooms but has a lovely smoking/cigar room and ashtrays available round the pool. My husband does not smoke at all but i quite like a cigartette on holiday so thier policy catered to us both.

Excellent free internet an wifi. again much appreciated as we were able to print our boarding passes out on departure date.

We loved our stay at the Danna and it certainly deserves 5*. I hope the service presentation, cleanliness and facilities will stay the same in time. We intend to return in September.
My thanks to everyone for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pennybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a such a detailed feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I have seriously taken all your recommendations into consideration and hopefully you will see the change when you are back in September.

Have a great 2011 and we are looking forward to seeing you soon at The Danna

Sincerely

Aamir Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

Stayed for 1 week with daughter aged 3, staff very friendly and polite, childrens club is fantastic. Rooms are very spacious and beauitfully decorated. Main pool is gigantic, childrens pool is very big as well. Nishore the guest services manager provided fantastic information on Langkawi things to do and has vast knowledge of the island.

Breakfast was very fresh and variety was very good. Childrens meals were very good especially fish fingers which were made from fresh sea bass. We also asked head chef to produce meals for our 3 year old which were not on the menu and he kindly produced very high standard quality meals for her which was great. Only reservation with food was beach BBQ at night when our BBQ fish/meats arrived the staff at BBQ station trippled the quantities we ordered for no reason which was a waste of food. Also at the BBQ the deserts had half finished so our waiter offered us ice cream instead as an alternative which he then charged us extra for ice cream on the bill! This was quite cheeky but since ice cream was tasty I did not make a fuss.

In the evenings bar was great with live band playing, bar staff very attentive, friendly and looked after all your needs thankyou Kartik.

Hired a car from hotel guest services, car was ready in 30 minutes at a very reasonable price. The lovely lady who arranged our car hire provided excellent informaton on excursions best suited for our needs and reccomended some fantastic beaches to visit nearby where the sea was amazingly clear which i found safe to swim in.

Main plus points were Beauitifull brand new hotel, genuinly friendly staff, great location, fantastic pool and very child friendly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a wonderful feedback. We all appreciate it here so much. I have passed on your special recognition to Nirosh and Kartik and they are very grateful to you. I am also looking into your BBQ bills and will come back to you privately through your e-mail address on file with us.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back at The Danna.

Sincerely,

Aamir Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

Let me start this review by saying I am working in the luxury hotels industry, so I am very hard to impress. However, Danna hotel managed to do just that. They have one of the nicest properties and the friendliest staff you can find. Here we go:

1. Arrival - Door staff welcomed and already knew our ferry from Penang was delayed. Luggage taken care of immidiately
2.Check in - welcome drink which was delicious, cold towels, quick complimentary neck/head massage, followed by an efficient and friendly check in. not over the top - just right. Hotel lobby and ambience were exceptionally inviting. Staff in the corridors are all very welcoming and neat.,
3. Room feautures explained by our receptionist in a very friendly manner. Did not take long and it was just right
4. Standard Room exceeded our expectations, spacious, free wired internet, really good amenities as well as Tea/Coffee making facilities, which I like to have. Not all 5 star hotels provide it.
5. One of the largest pools I've seen. Very tastefully done. Also easy access to the beach area. Very private and exclusive
6. Quality of food and service in the restaurant during Breakfast were fantastic. Staff is very friendly and the views from outside seating area are great. Very much 5 star service complete with piano playing after 8 am.
7. Area immidiately around the hotel is great too. loads of international restaurants. our favourtie one was a Japanese restaurant Hamachi - very reasonable and good quality food. There is also a nice spa opposite the hotel main entrance called AmAya Spa - the nicest massage I've ever had complete with Brain sound wave therapy, fish pedicure, feet reflexology massage and the selection of other massages.
8. Hotel is very close to Cable Car and 15 minutes drive from the airport

Some constructive criticism:

1. Toilet in the bathroom is not sound proof, so if someone in your party is using it, you can hear it in the main room. This is because the wooden panel door can be moved open to make sure the person who is enjoying a bath in the room can watch TV. It did not spoil it for us, but worth mentioning.
2. Although hotel is very close to the Cable car and the airport, some other central towns are slightly out of the way. However, it only costs 36RM which is about 9 British pounds to get there (around 40 mins journey by taxi).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Dear Fellow Hotelier and Guest,

Thank you for your detailed and wonderful feedback. The entire success of our team is driven through our core values where "Excellence in everything we do" is the favorite amongst all. Team Members learn from each other. I have taken note of constructive feedback as well. We all appreciate it.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon
Sincerely

Aamir Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

What an amazing Hotel.I have stayed at some lovely Hotels in my time through various Business trips but this one beats them all! As soon as you walk through the doors of the Hotel you are looked after like a King! Hotel facilities were fantastic and the staff were the most friendliest people you could ever meet.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments and feedback. We all appreciate it here at The Danna.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon

Sincerely,
Aamir Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Kok
3.9 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
1.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 100 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
5.6 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
10.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia

Property: The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Address: Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated on a legendary island of Langkawi, Malaysia, The Danna Langkawi is a reflection of a timeless luxury vacation hotel that nestles against a backdrop of nature’s beauty. This 5-star luxury beachfront hotel in Langkawi offers an elite holiday experience, allowing you to find supreme comfort amidst an inviting ambience while admiring the unrivalled views of the white sandy beach, marina bay, sea and verdant green hills. Amid the solitude and serenity of the island, return to the heyday of the British empire and immerse yourself in colonial splendor, coupled with modern amenities and a dash of exotic intimacy. The distinct British colonial design of The Danna Langkawi is complimented by Malaysian influences that embrace the future while paying tribute to the past. The Danna Langkawi is the winner of TripAdvisor Traveler’s Choice, HAPA Platinum Service Excellence award,HAPA GOLD Resort of the Year award, HAPA GOLD Signature Luxury resort and Expedia Insiders' Select 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing