We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horror movie”
Review of Villa Flamboyant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Anse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Flamboyant
Ranked #11 of 11 Grand Anse B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“horror movie”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

...the place is dirty and they try to cheat you anyway...far from everything...breakfast almost zero....if you see this name change page or street

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vibescocktailbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    7
    6
    26
See reviews for
7
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paola, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Me and my husband stayed at Villa Flamboyant for 5 nights during our honeymoon to the Seychelles in September 2011 (former management). We paid a relatively low price for this accommodation (just 55 Euro per room including B&B). We rented a car so we had no problem whatsoever traveling all over the island. It is much more economical to rent a car than use taxis.

Even though the former manager of the hotel was very criticized in some of the reviews, we found her very helpful. She explained and discussed with us the history of Seychelles. During our stay, we booked an excursion but the company misplaced our forms and did not pick us up in the morning. The former manager did not hesitate to call the company herself and solved our problem.

We found Villa Flamboyant had an amazing location. It is situated right next to a beach. It was so relaxing staying on a hammock while looking at the ocean. Even though the workers have been criticized by other reviewers, we found them quite helpful. They opened our coconuts and took us to the fruit bat's cage.

The room was very simple but clean. On the downside, there were ants in the sugar so we did not eat much breakfast. Please keep in mind that we only paid 55 Euro for our room. We found this to be good value for money.

Wish a good luck to the new management. They are really lucky to own such a wonderful place!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noottingham
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2012

As from December 2011 the Owners of villa flamboyant-The family Cresswell have taken over running the hotel once more.They had previously been leasing it out to A Mrs RoseMarie Cobian for the past five years. The Owners have renovated and restored the Hotel and it is a fantastic place to spend a holiday. The location is just superb! right on the beach and bordered by ancient,bright red flowering flamboyant trees. Mrs Cresswell is an amazing chef and puts on the most amazing spread every night.which is served on the patio overlooking the sea . The Villa has two lovely private chalets with kitchen/self catering and veranda with their own beach as well as rooms in the main house,which is designed in the fashion of a traditional Seychelles Plantation house The best thing about Villa Flamboyant is definately the amzing location.beautiful coastline and you can have the whole beach to yourself for the whole day literally!!.However the villages of grandanse and baistanne are onlt 10/15 mins away by car .The island even has a bustling nightclub in baistanne. very popular with locals and tourists alike! My advice to anyone staying at Villa Flamboyant would be to hire a car even for two days to explore the island. Prices are reasonable,and the island is too small to use a vast amount of fuel.There is a bus service,but this stops running at 7pm. And if you have to choose between being close to the shops and noisy bars for having such an amazing unspoilt location to spend your holidays.I think it is no contest! especially since the bars and shops are no more than a 10 15 minute drive away. Mrs Cresswell has a son who works at villa flamboyant who also can provide driving services villa flamboyant has a public facebook page with more pictures and booking information. search Villa flamboyant Seychelles on facebook

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrNBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Hello,my name is vanessa cresswell.i am one of the owners of villa flamboyant along with my mother.and my father who passed in 2000.villa flamboyant was an incredible award winning small hotel.a wonderful place to spend your vacation,with most of our guests returni!mg year aftetq year.we had to lease the guesthouse out for the past 5 years,and unfortunately,these terrible reveiws are during that time.the manager rosemarie cobian was obviously not suited to the hotel industry!! So we have taken back villa flamboyant and will be running it ourselves from now on! It is newley refurbished.we have a great team of caring staff! An exelent chef! a beautiful small family run hotel where we really care about your stay,and want you to have the best holiday! villa flamboyant is back to being one of the most enjoyable places to spend your time on praslin

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pepsiiseychelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I have never seen a horrible place like this, wherever in the world. The "room" had dirty sheets, dirty towels, dirty curtains, dirty forniture and it was full, really full, of spiders and webs. The bathroom had not been cleaned before of our arrival, the WC had undoubtfully been used by someone else.... The narrow shower was broken, the sink was dirty and rusty. At dinner (we had booked 7 nights with 7 dinners!!!) we had a fish cooked with its entrails in dirty dishes and dirty glasses. At breakfast we had toasted bread and butter full of ants. There is not a manager to complaint (actually there is not a hall or a desk for check in). Our key was given us by a teethless, long-long and thin-thin native maid, who knocked at our door asking for some cigarettes!!! (cigarette is the only english word she knew). Fortunately we found another room in a clean, standard hotel at Grand Anse at 110 euro/night, but we had to spend two nights in such a hovel at 95 euro/night, sleeping on our beach towels in order not to touch the sheets. For only 15 euro/night more, now I can remember Praslin as a paradise and not as a nightmare. The manager of the hotel at Grand Anse explained us that Villa Flamboyant was a very nice hotel in the past, in a wonderful garden on the beach, but when the old owner died, his daugther (Rosemary) did not care about the hotel and left its management to her french assistant (Michel) who doesn't care about guests and cleaning. During those horrible two days, the other guests were a couple of italian guys and a german family of 3 people and all of them were complaining for dirtiness and absence of service, looking for some other accomodation. Lonely Planet suggests this hotel on the guide and I wrote them to camplaint, because it is really a shame: travel guides should pay more attention to their suggestions!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucia_155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grand Anse hotels

Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Rooms are nothing special, a bit run down. There were tropical ants in our bathroom.
There's nothing outside villa, beach isn't good for swimming, if you'd like to eat out you should get a car or bus to get somewhere. So if you are looking for solitude and unpretentious concerning rooms this place will be ok.
Though unpossibility to swim is not so important, cause the best beach on Praslin is Lazio, and there're no hotels near there. You can get to Lazio from the villa by bus, the busstop is opposite the villa. But then fom the busstop you should walk about 1,5 km to the beach)

Room Tip: Maybe rooms with ocean view are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shap4ik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

This stay was not like our previous wonderful visits to Villa Flamboyant. Sadly we won't be returning unless there is significant quality maintenance and more attention to detail. Natalie is welcoming and knowledgeable about how to get around. The chef was also very friendly and hard working.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tropicone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Anse hotels
0.0 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#5 of 8 in Grand Anse
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Relax Beach Resort
Le Relax Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Grand Anse
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Indian Ocean Lodge
Indian Ocean Lodge
#2 of 8 in Grand Anse
303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villas de Mer
Villas de Mer
#3 of 8 in Grand Anse
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belle Vacance
Belle Vacance
#9 of 11 in Grand Anse
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Flamboyant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Flamboyant

Property: Villa Flamboyant
Address: 1 Anse St Sauveur | In the south of Praslin, Grand Anse, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Grand Anse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Anse
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Flamboyant Guest House in Seychelles is situated in a calm and quiet environment facing the turquoise ocean. The guest house, a former plantation house, composed of 6 double standard rooms and 2 self catering chalets , with its simple traditional wooden style architecture is majestically set on 2 hectares of wooden and landscaped tropical garden with some 2 kilometers of exclusive isolated beach frontage, in a safe surrounding of simplicity. Having won several awards, the Villa Flamboyant hotel boasts a professional hotel service and guarantees you a quiet and relaxed vacation in a peaceful atmosphere at attractive rates for groups and families. The hotel features 2 restaurants, facing the sea or the garden, offering mostly fresh fish from the facing ocean, such as red snapper, cacatois, tuna, barracuda, shark, and natural products of Praslin Hotel Villa Flamboyant is a safe place situated on an isolated beach, guarded by the family dogs and a security agent. The property also enjoys a bus stop in the vicinity, with buses going to Grand Anse and Baie Ste Anne, the 2 main villages of Praslin, as well as Anse Lazio and Cote D'or famous and popular beaches ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Flamboyant Hotel Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing