We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family getaway”
Review of Indian Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Indian Ocean Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Anse
Victoria, Seychelles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Family getaway”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

For a family get away, it doesn't get better then this. With two young boys, our room was spacious enough to not only accommodate us but allow them space to play. The bed was comfortable and large enough for all four of us though the boys started out the nights on their sofa beds. The staff were friendly and obviously used to catering to to young families and the usual requests.
The pool was a clear winner and the boys LOVED it, including the smaller pool which they used when we didn't want to go in the larger pool. The beach is average but perfect for late afternoon sandcastles and gorgeous beaches are just minutes away so this is no deterrent. The hotel offers a convenient shuttle service to Cote D'Or which is a gorgeous bay on the other side of the island. we had our own car hire but will reconsider this next time.
The breakfast was first class with a wide selection and dinner was a buffet spread with very good food. Deserts were heavenly!
We had a great time.

Room Tip: The rooms all face gardens with plenty of space for the kids to play.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InekeSey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    127
    57
    13
    8
See reviews for
62
181
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Indian Ocean Lodge is a place that will give you a pleasant stay, unless you are expecting more than you are paying for. So, you have to ask yourself, what do you want from your stay? We mostly needed a place to sleep between trying to see everything there is. We had a great time!

The staff was never once rude while I was there. Slightly disinterested at times perhaps, but full of smiles when we got a bit enthusiastic about our day. The room was perfectly adequate even though we are both somewhat averse to pastels and the bed proved slightly hard for our soft tourist bodies.

Grand Anse on Praslin is not a great place for swimming. It is shallow and full of stingrays. Well, we saw one. On the other hand, you are not so far away from either Vallée de Mai or the harbour from here, meaning you are well-placed for excursions. If you want to go swimming on Praslin, my advice is to go either to Anse Volbert (Le Côte d'Or) or Anse Lazio. The bus will take ages to get there so go by car.

The food at Indian Ocean Lodge was alright. My partner thought it was good but I will only go that far with some of the desserts. If I recall correctly, most days dinner was a buffé and there was usually something nice to choose but you would rarely be surprised by anything.

All in all, I'd have to say that Indian Ocean Lodge is a three star hotel through and through. It may sound like a strange thing to say but on the whole I thought it a hotel that is adequate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monochromo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

If you're considering Indian Ocean Lodge for your stay on Praslin, you probably are on a bit of a budget. This is one of the cheaper spots (for Seychelles) and therefore, as with most things, you get what you pay for.

First of all, the beach here is crap. It's strewn with seaweed and there is a very, very limited amount of sand. So, you're going to want to spend your beach time on the other side of the island at one of the more famous beaches. Anse Lazio, for example, is a 30-40 minute car drive away. Don't use the hotel shuttle. If you're coming to Praslin, seriously just rent a car at the airport. You won't regret having wheels while on Praslin.

The rooms here are fine. They are actually pretty well decorated and have a kind of pastel and driftwood vibe to them. The patio is nice and has a little shade curtain as well. That said, the gardens are not that well manicured and not terribly beautiful. The pool area is alright, nothing special. Breakfast is a decent buffet with quite a few options, and the restaurant itself is, like the rest of the hotel, very average.

I wasn't terribly impressed with the staff. They didn't really make me feel all that welcome, and I got the feeling I was being watched, if you know what I mean. The hotel staff shouldn't care about my idiosyncrasies or giggle at my food/drink orders.

Finally, my room had a second door, a back door, that I guess goes out into the maid area/hallway. Multiple times people tried to come in this door, which annoyed me to no end. Plus, there's a lot of noise from that area since the door has a lot of space between the ground and the door. Obnoxious.

All in all, fine for me as a solo traveler just checking out Seychelles after a business trip, but if you're here on your honeymoon I suggest you splurge. Go big or go home. People who are saying this hotel is good are just deluding themselves, I guess because they had to pay so much they may as well not want to admit that, ultimately, it's below average.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BanhRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is good and the stuff is friendly
The food is fantastics .
Beach is bad and there is bad smell. In next time i will not come here again.the room are very clime and clean.romantic view at sunset

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank alaa199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oland, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

A relatively small hotel with good standard! It was nice with the size of the lodge and rooms are newly renovated with tasteful decor, the size was excellent and in addition there was a lovely porch. Location is very good right next to the beach, the negative was that it is so incredibly shallow water it was actually a bit difficult to swim.
The food was very good and well prepared. The staff however was quite nonchalant, snäsiga answer if you asked something. We had the feeling that they wanted the man would speak French.

Room Tip: all were equally
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2014

All the staff here is with very bad attitude. We lived here for three days and received supercilious looks instead of smiles. We gave generous tips and smiled to them, but received no smile at all. We don’t know why. The experience is the worst in Seychelles, and almost ruined the happiness of holiday.
The room arrangement is good, although the furniture is very old. The sea view is good as well as the garden view.
There is Seaweed in the beach of this hotel.
中国人还是不要住这里了,这里的员工明显歧视中国人。对中国人一直板着脸,对老外老远就开始笑。。用小费都换不来对中国人的笑脸。

Room Tip: very bad attitude
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rita y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-Communications, Public Relations Manager at Indian Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Hotel. It is a regret that on this particular occasion, we did not fulfill your expectations. Our staff service standards need to be improved, and we have taken your review to share with the team and we are putting measures in place to better our standards. I am glad you liked the room, it is an Island rustic chic atmosphere which most guests always compliment us.
Yours Sincerely,
Nicole St.Ange
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abisko, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I have had such bad experience with the service this past December, when my husband and I visited the Indian Ocean Lodge on the Seychelles that I will never visit them again or recommend them. Unfortunately, because the food was great. We did not feel welcome.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nuolja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-Communications, Public Relations Manager at Indian Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
We weer disappointed to have read your recent comment, but we thank you for taking the time. Feedback such as yours can only assist us in improving our standards. In regards to your review our service needs to be upgraded, and we are taking all necessary measures to do this. I am glad that you enjoyed the cuisine, and we hope to one day welcome you back.
Kind Regards,
Nicole St.Ange
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Anse
2.9 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
778 reviews
2.1 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
873 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,004 reviews
2.2 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Ocean Lodge

Property: Indian Ocean Lodge
Address: Grand Anse, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Grand Anse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Anse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Indian Ocean Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are spacious, each boasting a king-size bed, air-conditioning, ceiling fan, tea & coffee making facilities, mini fridge, IDD telephone, WiFi, safe, hairdryer and satellite TV and private terrace.The restaurant offers both local and international cuisine in an informal and friendly atmosphere. Live music five times a week. Our bar on the seaward side services both the lounge and the pool deck. Shuttle service to and from Cote D’or beach are available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Indian Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Ocean Hotel Praslin Island
Indian Ocean Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing