We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Grand Anse
Certificate of Excellence
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Dhevatara was one of the best places for honeymooners. The staff was fantastic. They were very friendly and helpful. The suites are very nice and the decoration is really great.
The location of the hotel is not the ideal but there is a bus stop outside the hotel and also free bus to the most famous beach of the island, anse lazio.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charishadjipanayiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    47
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
17
175
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

For your honeymoon, you always look for something special. Dhevatara looked like the perfect luxury place to enjoy it in the lovely Praslin island for a substantial price but still below other resorts.
Property is small (only 10 villas) but well apointed and quite unqiue with all the small fountains and small steps to get to the rooms. Nevertheless it misses more or better amenities (eg jacuzzi, larger pool, sports facilities, beach bar).
Rooms are quite spacious and very well furbished, products are all Occitane, decoration is quite nice, almost no noise can be heard from outside so we were always to sleep quite well.
Breakfast is a la carte with good quality but you do miss some more variety.
Lunch and Dinner are both very tasty and the chef does an excellent work but prices tend to be prohibitive if you want to eat here everyday- a starter for 20 euros, main course for 40 euros, dessert for other 20 euros... even if the island is overpriced in general does feel a little too. Its better if you look for some options outside the property such as Cafe le Monde (2 minutes on foot) for more affordable values and great meals.
Regarding the beach it was a big disappointment even if we knew it would have some seaweeds we never thought it would be so dirty. The hotel does offer a free shuttle to Anse Lazio(best beach in the island without any doubt!) departing at 10am and returning at 4pm, but the 40 minutes ride doesn't feel that comfortable to be done every day... a more closer alternative might do the trick - Anse Georgette at Constance Lemuria Resort but unfortunately the hotel doesn't offer any shuttle there, so you need to go on bike (20-25 minutes) or by car (5-10 minutes). I just felt that for such a nice property they could at least try to clean more the small part of the beach near the hotel (they do it at Paradise Sun in the other side at Anse Volbert and it was as full of seaweed as in Grand Anse)
Staff was always very helpful but for a 5-star we felt that some flaws must be corrected- sometimes they forgot to supply soaps, shampoos, bikes were poorly maintained (gave us bikes with flat tyres, almost no brakes and seats werent comfortable at all), massage was not very good as it was done with cold hands...), water was out for a couple of hours and it was promised that the technician would come immediately and I missed some nice towels or flower arrangements as usually done in top hotels. Anyway the staff was always polite and very friendly.
As we were in honeymoon, it was offered to us a fruit basket, champagne, 2 bottles of rum and a couple of 30 minutes massages - that was something we
Sincerely I would still recommend to stay at this hotel but on a next time I would either upgrade to a resort to have the full service or to a guesthouse near a beach where one can swim.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Martinitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

From the beginning to end myself and my girlfriend were in complete awe of property and service. The staff was extremely kind and even further more outgoing, which a huge plus considering the investment one had put forth in choosing Dhevatara as our hotel of choice. The pictures that were in the travel site ads did this place no justice it was even more remarkable in person. The rooms were perfectly decorated and stood out upon check in. The FOOD my God was simply amazing and what really stood out was the fact that even though I was alergic to Fish the chef was more than prepared to accomodate me with an alternative meal. Each meal breakfast/dinner just continued to top one another each day we were there. Simply put the dininig experience was the best I've ever had and I would consider myself and girlfriend to be seasoned travellers. We loved the fact that upon dinner every evening, housekeeping would do an evening sweep of our suit and prepare the bed and room for our bed time arrival after dinner. Attention to detail was surely not lacking. The staff were ALL extremely friendly and went out of there ways. They all showed true hospitality. They even helped in arranging a rental car service for us when it seemed like all of the rental car companies were fully booked.

With this said there were some small negatives that I noted:

1. The cost of drinks at dinner were on the steep side from the beer to the simplest item water.
I tuly would recommend the halfboard option. Honestly if you are doing outdoor activities on a dailey basis two meals should suffice especially with when you can grab small snacks around the island.

2. I do personally feel that with the proximity of the local airport to the hotel some kind of complimentary shuttle service should be given to and from the aiport. The money paid alone should justify this being added as complimentary.

3. As with all the previous reviews the beach left something to be desired but I will attribute this to the time of year and weather. Maybe a bit of a sweep up of the seaweed from time to time would do the trick.

Overall I would say this hotel was more than worthy of its 5 star rating and status. I would definitely stay at Thu hotel again upon my next trip to Seychelles.

*On a side note I want to thank the hotel staff for putting together a surprise birthday cake for my girlfriend during our last night there. It wasn't a store bought cake either. It was baked their marvelous chef and they even accompanied the cake with a birthday greeting card signed by the hotel staff. What an awesome gesture. Thanks once again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank NAIJABOY5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhevatara, General Manager at Dhevatara Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear valued guests,

Many thanks for your nice comments, we are delighted to have contributed to the success of your stay in Praslin. At Dhevatara Beach Hotel, we are aiming to satisfy our valued guests by delivering a very personalised service.

In regard to the transport, due to the local law, it is with regrets that we are not allowed to provide a transfer to and from the airport or the jetty to our guests.

We are currently in the monsoon period and therefore the beach presents some sea weeds, although we rack the beach few times a day it is not enough to keep the beach free of sea weeds also we do offer a daily complementary shuttle to and from the anse lazio during this season to reduce our guests' discomfort.

Many thanks once again for choosing Dhevatara Beach Hotel for your stay in Praslin, the entire team is joining me to wish you a good continuation and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to heaven, in the near future.

With kind regards,

Geraldine Morat,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresnes, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in a suite with a view and that was nice except that the whole beach is infested with seaweed that there is no place to set a foot, no one told us this so for a vacation with a direct access and view to white sandy beach was not to be. Then the bed reeked with unwashed fungus moisture all over and we had to ask the manager to replace the whole bedding after my husband and I woke up with numerous bug bites. Then the air conditioning did not work properly and would make loud clunky noises waking us up throughout the night. The breakfast is nice but dinners are over priced and under or over cooked. We had stayed at Archipel and Constance before and it to be much better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Suresnois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhevatara, General Manager at Dhevatara Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear valued guests,

Many thanks for your valid comments, at Dhevatara Beach Hotel we aim to ensure the entire satisfaction of our guests and I do apologise that we were not able to fulfil your expectation during your stay with us.

Effectively, in June we are in the monsoon period which bring to the Seychelles a rough sea with seaweeds on the cost of the Island, for this reason we offer to our guests a daily complementary shuttle to the Anse Lazio which is one of the most beautiful beach in the Seychelles and protected from the monsoon.
In addition, during the monsoon period there are more mosquitos and sand flies on the beach also, although we are treating against it, we recommend our guests to put some insects repellent when walking on the beach especially at sunrise and sunset times.
I do apologise that you travel agent did not mention the monsoon period to you while booking your trip to the Seychelles so you could have come prepared.

As soon as you've mentioned a humid smell on the bed sheet we've replaced them and once again I do apologise for the disagreement encountered.
I wish you had mentioned your concerns with the air conditioning during your stay as we will have addressed it immediately which will have make your stay more enjoyable.
In regard to our dinner, I am really sorry that the food was not cooked at your taste and would have been more than happy to address it if you had mentioned it to us during your stay with us. Following your comment, our executive chef is working on it to ensure it won't happen again to our valued guests.

Once again, we do apologise for not exceeding your expectations during your stay with us. Please be ensured that we have taken your precious comments into consideration and are already working on the mentioned concerns to avoid them in the future.

We hope, you will keep a good memory of your stay in the Seychelles and will allow us to pamper you should you decide to come back to our beautiful island in the future.

With best regards,

Geraldine Morat,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cefalu, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

In May 2013, we spent our wedding at the Hotel. It was just great! Everyone was very helpful in making this day a very special one to us! Although we couldn't get married at the beach - due to weather conditions -, we'll never forget this day! It was a perfect place for a quiet wedding which we would recommend to anyone who is not searching for a big place with a lot of people.

The hotel is very nicely designed - the open restaurant, the water, the garden with its furniture, the rooms. It has a lot of natural materials, like stones and wood, which makes you feel relaxed immediately. In our room there was only one disadvantage: We had lights next to our bed that were so big that you could hardly turn them on/off and that made it impossible to put down a book or anything else on the night table. Here, decoration came first, practicapability later - what a shame.

The cook was excellent. The food was presented like in a Michelin star restaurant!! And it was very creative, too! Compliment!

Thanks once again to the team of Dhevatara! If we have the chance, we'll come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 335Silvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhevatara, General Manager at Dhevatara Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear valued guests,

Many thanks for your lovely comments, we are delighted that we have contributed to make your special day unforgettable and a complete success.
For us at Dhevatara Beach Hotel we are very devoted to the wellbeing and satisfaction of our valued guests and we are training our staff on regular basis to insure the highest quality of service provided.
Many thanks once again for choosing Dhevatara Beach Hotel for your stay in Praslin.
The entire team is joining me to wish you all the best and we are looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Geraldine Morat,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at the Dhevatara Beach Hotel for 12 nights for our honeymoon, and we didn't regret it! After a tiresome journey, we arrived in this small and quiet hotel, and at once we were surronded by a relaxed and zen athmosphere. The aquatic gardens and all the surrondings in the hotel gave us a feeling of well-being and peace, which was highly enjoyable as we are living in a big city. We simply loved this setting!
We were welcomed with a refreshing cocktail and accompanied to our ocean view villa. The room itself was quite big, and needless to say clean and well kept.
The food cooked by native chef Pat was delicious, we just could't have enough of it!
During all our stay, we could relax and enjoy, thanks to the staff, very friendly and helpful with everything, from helping us with breakfast, or giving instructions, or making dinner reservations elsewhere.
Thank all of you for making this a memorable holiday!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhevatara, General Manager at Dhevatara Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear valued guests,

Many thanks for your comments, my team and I are delighted that you had a memorable stay with us and find at Dhevatara Beach Hotel some peace and quiet to relax as you wished.
It is our aim to offer a relaxing surrounding to our guests with personalized service to ensure your well being and entire satisfaction.
Many thanks once again for choosing Dhevatara Beach Hotel for your stay on Praslin, it was a pleasure hosting you and we are looking forward to the next opportunity to welcoming you back in our little paradise.

With best regards,

Geraldine Morat,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a great find away from the larger properties you might find on Mahe but same excellent level of service you would expect from a similar 5 star brand just more personal.
The hotel has 10 rooms on a beach frontage on the coast of Praslin. it is easy to get to from Mahe either by ferry or island hopping plane.
There is a pool ,small spa treatment room, beach front and lawn area and a fantastic tranquil feeling about the place as it is all arranged around water features. The rooms are well laid out and some have both front view and a small garden view to the back behind the bed. This is a clever idea as you can open up the curtains and shutters all around without loosing your privacy. The room has a good size bed ,TV sofa, a bar and changing area and large bathroom with shower and bath sized for two.
I was here on business (honest) but could easily see myself here with my wife on a romantic trip.
One thing that defintely deserves a mention apart from the lovely staff is the quality of the food. Everywhere on the Seychelles food is expensive so be prepared however in the hotels restaurant the quality is excellent, really inventive and as good if not better than seen at any of the other top hotels so you feel like you are getting value.
Even if not staying I would make the trip for the food from another property.
All in all a great property which is much better value than than some of the more expensive upscale brands it competes with but with a more intimate and personal style.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scoobydoo4169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhevatara, General Manager at Dhevatara Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear valued guests,

Many thanks for your lovely and appreciated comments, we are delighted to have contributed in the succes of your stay with us. It was a pleasure serving you, the entire team of Dhevatara Beach Hotel is proud to read that we have nothing to envy of larger and branded 5 stars properties.
At Dhevatara Beach Hotel we aim to provide the best personalised 5 star service, from the reception to the housekeeping departments without forgetting our restaurant with its fine and exquisite dishes to delight our valued guests.
Many thanks once again for choosing Dhevatara Beach Hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you back for a romantic escapade with your wife.

With kind regards,

Geraldine Morat,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Anse
2.8 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,330 reviews
3.5 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
777 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
156 reviews
8.9 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
4.2 mi away
Hotel L'Archipel
Hotel L'Archipel
#1 of 1 in Au Cap
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhevatara Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhevatara Beach Hotel

Property: Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Address: Grand Anse, Grand Anse, Praslin Island 00000, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Grand Anse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Grand Anse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dhevatara Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dhevatara Beach Hotel is a 5* Beach Front Boutique Hotel, offering 10 individually styled and designed Suites that embrace local culture and architecture whilst providing the amenities that a modern day traveler expects. All our suites (50sqm) are individually decorated and furnished with handcrafted art pieces to create a natural luxury environment.No need to rush in the morning to have your breakfast. With us, you have the freedonm to decide where and when you will have it: in the restaurant or in the garden even until 3pm. Forget the hustle to wait for a club-car to reach the Beach , here, it will take only 20 seconds to find the blue sandy beach or the invigorating first ionized swimming Pool in Seychelles ( chlorine Free).The Hotel offers: 5 Ocean and 5 Garden view Suites with En-suite bathroom with bath and shower,Deluxe L'Occitane Bathroom amenities. Separate changing room. Balcony. Mini-bar. Tea/coffee making facilities. In Suite deposit safe. Free Wi-Fi Internet access. 40 Inches Multi Directional flat screen TV with 21 satellite channels including EuroSport Channel, English and French movie channels, German, Chinese, Creole Channels. DVD players . Direct dial telephone. Air conditioning. To note that 1 ocean and 1 garden view suites can be turned into Twin rooms and that no extra bed can be intalled in the Suites. We are also able to provide 2 interconnecting Double suites attached via a Single Room for a maximum of 5 pax. Unfortunately due to the stucture of the Hotel, we are able only to welcome children over the age of 12 years old. At the Pond restaurant, Dhevatara a-la-carte Signature restaurant, our multi award winning Chef, delights his guests through a combination of culinary traditions interpreted with ethnic savors from Mediterranean, Asian, and of course Creole flavors. His fusion cuisine is bound together with the perfumes of home grown spices, local herbs, and flowers all handpicked from the in-house roof-top spices garden. At Dhevatara Beach Hotel we assure our highest level of service to ensure our guests a comfortable and memorable stay with us, making them feel more than a room number. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dhevatara Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing