We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Space, privacy and relative peace” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iles des Palmes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Iles des Palmes
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Baie Ste Anne
Certificate of Excellence
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Space, privacy and relative peace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom self-catering chalets. Lots of space and sufficient kitchen utensils. Clean bathroom towels provided every day. Quiet "beach" close to the chalet - although not suitable for swimming. Sufficient little shops around the island to purchase groceries. Marie-Rose always very helpful and quick to assist with any query / problem; e.g. our car had a puncture and she quickly phoned the car hire for assistance.
Disappointments were: mattress of the double bed was rather 'lumpy" and needs to be replaced; restaurant as advertised not up and running yet; location of Isles des Palmes is opposite the bay from the habour - so some noise is audible rigth through the day and night.
Overall we had a very relaxing trip, being able to do whatever we wanted to, without being tied to the schedule of a hotel.
Take a drive to the beach in front of Raffles - good for snorkeling and swimming and very quiet.

Room Tip: We stayed in Nr 3 - but ALL chalets are situated along the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edi027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sezfree4u, General Manager at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for a positive review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Iles Des Palmes Eco Resort. We noted your critique of the bed in No 3 and we will address it .During November and part of December, we have a yearly low tide, this inhibits swimming in front of the bungalows, during low tide. However, during the high tide, it is fine. Additionally, since Iles Des Palmes has over 7 beaches on the property, numerous are accessible by kayak, Anse La Blague is accessible by a short walk and offers fantastic snorkeling options. Depending on weather, and level of fitness, guests should inquire about excellent snorkeling options with the Reception assistants. The restaurant is done. We are waiting for final papers from government to start operations. This seems to be delayed, but we expect it all settled any day now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    54
    12
    8
    16
See reviews for
32
75
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed in one of the Pirate Cove Bungalows of Iles des Palmes. A beautiful place we really can recommend!
A clean and spacious bungalow right in front of the beach. Just 3 steps from your veranda to the sea.
The bungalows are not right next to each other so you don't immediately look at your neighbors. In front you look at the beautiful Anse Takamaka bay with clear shallow water where you can see fishes and rays from your veranda or enjoy the birds on the lawn. At the back there's a big garden with a lot of coconuts, flowers and a small turtle pasture. The swimming pool area with a beautiful pool right in front of the sea is a very nice place to spend your afternoon and watch the sunset. Unfortunately, because the pool area is new and still a little bit under construction, the bar wasn't open jet. But we stayed there at low season so after all there were no other guest to sell drinks to.

To the main road and the bus stop it's about 15 minutes walk and the nearest shop is a bit further. If you're lucky a nice local will offer you a ride. The bus does not go al the way around the island and you have to pay every time you get in. If you take your time and enjoy being among the locals it's doable, but a rental car would be easier. You can arrange everything with the friendly receptionist.

A wonderfull place for a good price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natascha99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sezfree4u, General Manager at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you so much for a fair and accurate assessment of our establishment. Iles Des Palmes is first a Seychellois run business, we take great pride our service and product. Secondly, we are an eco resort, which is ideal for nature enthusiasts.Hikers, kayakers, bird watchers, nature lovers, appreciate Iles Des Palmes for its unique placement in the market. Only one other establishment on Praslin has larger grounds, that is a golf course. The added amenity of pool, sun deck, loungers, are all on line. The restaurant and bar is complete. We are only waiting for official documents to commence operations of the best restaurant in Praslin coming soon. Rest assured, we will continue to use our value for money formula in all our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I want to thank Marie-Rose and the whole staff. They made our stay so pleasant, and nothing was too much effort. We felt very taken care of! Our bungalow was lovely, and we really appreciated the beautiful flowers laid out each day. The location is stunning, and we really enjoyed taking a kayak out and going around the bend one afternoon. Lots of fun! The accommodation is more off the beaten track than the big hotels on the island which is wonderful. If you need a rental car or a lift to a restaurant in the evening - the team efficiently organise it all for you. They have recently built a lovely pool on the water - and we enjoyed a cooling off swim each afternoon after our adventures! They plan to open up a restaurant too soon - and this will make the place unbeatable :) We also loved the giant crab which lived in front of our bungalow and was sometimes enticed out with hibiscus flowers... Book at Isles des Palmes! I don't usualy review places but was really wowed by the service, the views and the wonderful self-catering accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sezfree4u, General Manager at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
The staff and management of Iles Des Palmes Eco Resort is completely elated over such a fine and accurate comment on our services and product offer.
Our staff, work tirelessly as a team to meet guests expectations, keep our word, and deliver the service they expect.
Iles Des Palmes screens professionals with empathy being a key characteristic we look for in applicants. Marie Rose is excellent and her smile, makes your day, even if it is raining.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and hope you will make Seychelles your regular destination and Iles Des Palmes a second home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

As the title says amazing and peaceful. Iles de Palmes is scrupulously clean and tidy. The rooms are simply furnished and clean. The shining star of this little gem of a hotel is the peace and quiet It is an absolute bliss. If your looking for peace and quiet in a good location,then look no further. Iles Des Palmes is as good as it gets. I would recommend the place to anyone Excellent for families and couples. The owners has just built a swimming pool which can accomodate young children as well. A newly built restaurant situated next to the pool with breathtaking views of the bay. I would recommend the place to anyone. Excellent for families and couples.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sezfree4u, Manager at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Our Staff of Seychellois (e) are so proud to receive such a appreciative comment on our establishment. It lightens our heart, because we are always keen to learn how our guests feel about our stay, so if there is something to improve on, we can do it. The fantasitc pool over ocean can be viewed on google earth, it is just fantastic and many guests have said we have now delivered a WOW effect to the Iles Des Palmes Eco Resort product. Thank you for your valued comment and we do look forward to welcoming you with that special Seychelles touch next time, but this time with our excellent restaurant "Le Vasseur La Buse" to serve you, do to open anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just returned on a two weeks vacation at Isles Des Palmes. The Chalets are well equipped and everything was clean and in very good condition.
Two large bedrooms, one with double bed and the other a good size twin room. Shared bathroom with shower facilities.
The location is fantastic, tucked away from the main road and next to the beach with fantastic views of Bay Ste Anne. The tranquillity of the place is beyond imagination.
Good customer service from staff and always helpful. I will recommend the place to anyone going on a trip to the Seychelles. Value for money!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryJ2292VE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sezfree4u, Manager at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
It is with great appreciation and satisfaction of all our staff, head of departments of our family run establishment that read this great guest comment. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Iles Des Palmes Seychelles and we could make it special for you.

Our establishment remains the best value for money on Praslin, and with the new restaurant beach bar, pool-sun deck over the sea 4 sided views, we aim to continue to deliver excellence and that WOW (!) effect, guests expect from the Seychelles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We, 2 adults and 2 kids (10 and 12 years) spent 2 weeks here. Everyone was very friendly and we just enjoyed the stay all the way.
Only reason for not giving 5 stars, is that the beach is not really for swimming/snorkling, as it is too shallow. However, we had rented a car and with Anse Volbert only 10 mins away it wasn't a problem.

Room Tip: The bungalows are very big and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjarne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel has great price/value. You get an entire house with a bedroom, a living room including a kitchen. It is very quiet and very relaxing. The place is also safe. There are even securities walking around. The service is very friendly and professional.

There is now AC in the room, which is the only downside (even it's better for the environment - but with 34 - it was very hot.)

You for sure need a car.

Overall I would go there again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urshinterwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sezfree4u, General Manager at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
It is always very much appreciated when a Guest makes a fair and honest comment on our establishment. Our staff which is small, and Seychelles does have staffing issues, work tirelessly to deliver an excellent eco product that is not comparable to anything else in Seychelles for the price.

Indeed we will be installing solar air-conditioners soon as our next project after the restaurant opens. We are lucky that the South East winds have picked up from now until next December and the climate is very pleasant day and night. This period Iles Des Palmes sell outs early.

Thank you for your valued comments and critique.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Ste Anne
4.1 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mango Lodge
Mango Lodge
#7 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chalets Cote Mer
Chalets Cote Mer
#2 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Les Villas d'Or
Les Villas d'Or
#1 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.5 mi away
Acajou Beach Resort
Acajou Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.7 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iles des Palmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iles des Palmes

Property: Iles des Palmes
Address: Anse Takamaka | Near cot d'Or, Baie Ste Anne, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Baie Ste Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Baie Ste Anne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iles des Palmes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iles des Palmes bungalows is a premier Eco resort establishment with 20 cosy beach bungalows set out in a 18th century plantation. A large and peaceful garden just meters from the long and white sandy beach of anse takamaka on Praslin island.A pool and bar offer excellent vistas over the ocean. Restaurant Le Vasseur La Buse offers excellent Creole and international cuisine..Detached beach bungalows are typically designed in a Creole manner and fully equipped with all the necessary facilities and amenities for a pleasant stay.All Family units have kitchens. couple units we recommend B&b options.Iles des Palmes Bungalows are split into two different types of accommodations: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Iles des Palmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isles Des Palmes Hotel Praslin Island
Isles Des Palmes Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing