We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing trip!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colibri Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The colibrì g.h. has been a wonderful experience; we enjoyed the food and the prompt and kind staff. It has the best view on the placid water of Praslin. For us there is no better place on the whole island.
Lorenzo and Nicola.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NixLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picuture, Owner at Colibri Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Lorenzo and Nicola,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site. We are delighted that we had the pleasure of hosting you at our Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay - our goal is to always provide a "home from home" experience to all guests visiting Colibri Guest House.
We have passed your praise to the whole team, who were equally delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, and it motivates us to work even harder when our high level of service is acknowledged.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our beautiful Hotel again in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance with any future bookings.

Our team looks forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Sylvie and Stephan Hattingh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Colibri Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 230 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

At walking distance from the jetty: but, if you have big luggage, walking is not advisable: usually, you can get a lift from the owners, who can also arrange for car rental (Pak, the indian guy, is really kind!).
Not suitable if you intend to dance, drink and get loud.
Otherwise, it is perfect.
Food is not bad, either, and relatively cheap for Seychelles standards.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgialdini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

This guesthouse is situated near the jetty and has a small pool that is very clean with different part for the children. Every evening the owner who and his kitchenstaff makes nice dinner with choice between fish or meat all fresh made ! We stayed more than two weeks in the room Kato with seaview and terras. There is a fridge in the room and airco. There is no beach but you are in no time near all the beautiful beaches. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomadedelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Stayed for 4 nights at Le Colibri in August 2010. The guesthouse is part of a complex of guesthouses with mixtures of residents and visitors. Le Colibri itself seems to be a swiss chalet placed on an Indian Ocean Island. The guesthouse is waterfront although not beachfront as advertised in some places. Room was excellent, service at reception was generally less than satisfactory. Despite not being waterfront it is a good location being near the ferry to La Digue. Not many food places around so I would recommend hiring a car (but that would be expected on Praslin anyway). But the real story is the food. I stayed there on a Bed and Breakfast basis. Breakfast consisted of 2 eggs (however you like them), 3 bits of bread, some fruit, fruit juice and coffee. Quite sufficient and OK. But dinner was another story. On offer was a delightfully called buffet for 19 Euros (excluding drinks - upwards of 2.50 Euros for water). The buffet consisted of 1 salad (ie entree) and 2 mains (always fish in a creamy creole sauce with either pork of chicken) plus rice, No separate veges and no real choice. What they mean by buffet is set menu. Dessert varied through the days but again there was no choice and tea, coffee or citronella was included (although only a meagre serving). The food was ordinary at best. There is plenty of good food on Praslin but it takes finding and a lot was very expensive. The combination of the service and the set menu buffet reminded me quite fondly of Fawlty Towers. I had a great time though and would still recommend the place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BruceMichael98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Our stay at the Colibri Guest house was one of the Best! We were welcomed with open arms. On our arrival our flight was delayed from our home country. We only arrived at the guest house after midnight. We were greeted with a huge smile and warm hospitality.
The food served from the guest house was very good and was prepared with stunning perfection. The accomadation was good and all the rooms had a ocean view. Our room had the best and most beautifull outlook on to the ocean.
I recommend this Geust house for any one who wants to go. The pricing was absolutely just right.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etienne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

We had read quite a few recommendations, but they must have been outdated.
The only highlights are a wonderful view on Baie Ste. Anne and the garden.
The owners seem to be pre-occupied by their hobbies (gardening), and seem to consider guests more or less as a nuisance. The food is lousy (breakfast consist of ever the same 7 jams and not much more, fruit are never ripe, only the omelettes are nice. Dinner is so-so, fish is mostly okay, but meat is constantly cooked for hours and therefor nearly inedible. The cook obviously does not enjoy his job, and the management doesn't care. Don't even try a cocktail, that's just a warm fruit juice with some rum.
All friendliness of the personnel does not compensate for the shortcomings.
In short: Don't sty any longer than two nights, otherwise the "Seychelles experience" becomes quite a drag, at least as far as accomodation and restaurant food is concerned

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sunshinefun69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

I stayed here for a week in May 2008 and have to say that I had a fantastic time - what a wonderful place, a great family run business and extremely professional with lovely attentive and friendly staff. The proprietors are clearly very experienced in what they do here and are still very hands on with the day to day running. The menu's are masterminded by a classically trained master chef so, as you would imagine, the food is absolutely suberb - very authentically creole and given the challenges of importing into a group of small islands like this, they manage to provide a feast fit for a king night after night - delicious! Far better than what the same money would buy you if were eating out in the UK. Having travelled all over the world, this is one the places that I will be going back to again and again - a lovely setting, very romantic, beautiful views and rooms that are of a very high standard. This place comes highly recommended - go and enjoy it, you won't regret a minute! I'm already planning my next trip back!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camilla63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Ste Anne
0.1 mi away
Chalets Cote Mer
Chalets Cote Mer
#2 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
271 reviews
1.6 mi away
Iles des Palmes
Iles des Palmes
#3 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
142 reviews
3.0 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
167 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
789 reviews
3.2 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colibri Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colibri Guest House

Address: Pointe Cabris, Baie Ste Anne, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Baie Ste Anne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Baie Ste Anne
Price Range: $177 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colibri Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mentioned as a reference in all major tourist guides, The COLIBRI Guesthouse possesses an undisputable typical charm. All its chalets, combination of noble wood and stone, have a breathtaking ocean view. Pleasantly located on the hillside, nesting amongst the abundant tropical shrubs, the hotel offers 5 superior rooms and 6 standard rooms all with terrace or balcony. The restaurant is situated on the water’s edge. Rene, a French Master Chef, is there to offer you outstanding Creole and International dishes, Guest booking a stay at COLIBRI Guesthouse can look forward to a home away-from-home ambiance, as well as feeling very much part of the owning family, whose generous warmth and friendliness assures a true experience of the Seychelles' way of life. For your comfort, we offer you:• 6 STANDARD ROOMS : 5 Double rooms (Max 2 Pers) one of them can be turned into a triple room - 1 Duplex (Max 4 pers). No air-condition in standard rooms. All our rooms have King size Bed, Coffee-tea making facility, private shower room, safety box, hairdryer, television, fridge and fan. The triple room consists of 1 king size bed and 1 single bed. The duplex has a king size bed on the mezzanine and 2 bunk beds on the ground floor. For more than 4 occupants, the duplex has a connecting double room. The daily cleaning of the room is provided with the bath towels changed every 2 days and the bed sheets every 3 days. A wireless Internet Access is available at the reception at extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Colibri Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colibri Guest House Hotel Praslin Island
Colibri Hotel Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing