We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalets Cote Mer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chalets Cote Mer
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Baie Ste Anne
Certificate of Excellence
Whitstable, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

A lovely small hotel. The room was large and clean and had great views over the sea to La Digue. The Infinity pool is great and the breckfast though limited was enough and very well presented and the staff are great. There are steps down into the sea from the pool area and snorkeling is possible and we saw a few fish. Its very close to the Jetty and we were provided with a transfer to the Jetty when we left.
The hotel is fairly remote and there is not much in Baie Ste Anne. You should really hire a car if staying here. There are plenty of beautiful beaches on Praslin to visit. Hire Cars are relatively cheap. I paid Euro 40 a day for a small hatchback arranged by the hotel. There is a local bus service but it is irregular, crowded and looked very hot. Taxis are expensive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    102
    18
    9
    3
See reviews for
74
137
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
traveling cat
Level Contributor
311 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

it was a lovely place. it's built into the hillside so there is a lot of up and down the stairs to get to the restaurant for breakfast or to go to the little infinity pool which was quite nice. The views are good. You can see the jetty and the ferries coming and going. We did the bed and breakfast only but we ended up having dinner there every night anyway. They have a two choice menu for dinner and we'd tell them in the morning what we wanted. good food every time. Staff was lovely. room was lovely. will definitely go back

Room Tip: think all the rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carpefeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom bungalow with kitchen, living room and balcony overlooking the sea and islands. Nice landscaping with lots of flowers. Close to ferries. We had a package with half board which included breakfast and great dinners. They can also arrange for an economical car rental. Good value and we hope to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenw2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in a split level bungalow. Very spacious, large kitchen included, with adequate airco. The bungalows are situated on a steep hill near the jetty, in a rather quiet part of the island. the park has a beautifull tropical garden and nice pool, with great seaview, but no direct beach acces. We rented a car and travelled to different beaches everyday anyway, so no issue for us. Lady at the reception very undriendly, showing no hospitality at all. Felt like a cold shower. However more than compensated by the owners, Sylvie and her husband. Excellents hosts! Restaurant staff, a Philipine couple, were really nice as well. After dinner there is not much to do in- around the bungalows, a pool side bar would be a huge improvement. Good place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonvanhappen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

My wife and 2 kids (teenagers) stayed at this place for 3 nights in Aug '13. I believe I made the best choice. The very communications with Sylvie (hotel Manager) gives you a feeling that you will have a great holiday and indeed it was a superb holiday. Ours was a duplex style apt (80 sqmt) fully equipped with coffee tea making facilities, king size bed, bunk beds, another single bed, safety box, TV, sofa sets, fridge & aircon. The best part of this room was the view from the balcony overlooking the indian ocean. Breath taking was watching the sunrise every morning with a hot cup of coffee. The distance from the jetty is just 5 mins by car and you are escorted by a very humble Indian boy called Deepak who will transport you & the bags to the hotel. Actually the hotel is just 7 mins walk (shortcut way) from the jetty but you cannot do it with bags. Ms Stella was at the reception when we checked in. 1st she offered all of us a nice cool mint drink and smoothly checked us in and advised all the facilities. The restaurant for breakfast & dinner is by the ocean below and goodness gracious the dinner menus are simply awesome with a different menu everyday. Finally we met the lady that I wanted to meet who helped me with all the various communications and her name is Sylvie. She simply does not stop smiling and I will tell you; Sylvie will make you feel at home and assist you in everything. We felt sea sick from Mahe to Praslin on the cat-cocos speed boat and we had not carried any pills and the fear of happening again whilst going back was bothering us until Sylvie came to our rescue and offered us a few pills from her own. Thank you so much Sylvie. The pool is small but if you are a good photographer; then you can take a pic of the pool and the ocean together and make it look like one. Maybe i will try to upload one photo. The other person that i really want to speak good about is the Ms. Liz (from Phillipines) the one who helps at the restaurant. This girl is so full of life and smile. Along with her husband Jack, they do an excellent service in satisfying all the guests. We rented a car for a day and discovered the whole of Praslin. Anse Lazio is a beach that you must visit and Valle de Mae where the famous coco de mer grows. The roads are straight forward and with a map you will never get lost. You drive on the right hand side and all roads are two way and most cars are manual.... So if you got all this in you then you should not face a problem. Deepak the guy I spoke earlier will arrange you the rent-a-car. Also whilst at Praslin don't forget to take a day trip to La Digue island which you can access thru the inter island ferries which is just 15 mins away. An amazing island and known for its beauty and widely photographed especially Anse source d'Argent beach.
Before I end; I would like to say a big Thank you to Sylvie in special for making our stay so wonderful and to all the other ppl who contribute in their own way to make this hotel a wonderful place to stay. God bless you all and kudos for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Set in beautiful gardens with fabulous views of the ocean, Cote Mer should satisfy all tastes. Rental cars are available on the premises and the bus stop is a few minutes walk away.
The  manageress, Sylvie, is not only gorgeous but charming as well. (If I were 40 years younger, had Brad Pitt's looks and Bill Gates's money, her. beau, Stefan, would have faced some stern competition!)
Liz has to be the best waitron we have encountered anywhere and with the waves all but lapping the dining room, what more could one ask for? Gourmet food? Yes, THAT was served with dinner being exquisitely presented and the wine  fairly reasonably priced for the Seychelles. The inclusive breakfasts were also tasty with the preserves especially so, though a choice of accompaniments with the eggs would have been welcome.
The minor negatives were the lack of coffee/ tea in the room and the need to pay for wifi (freely provided by the far cheaper accommodation we used on La Digue and Mahe).
Although it is only a few hundred meters to the jetty, do take advantage of the free transportation offered as the walk is very steep and would be strenuous, lugging suitcases.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Would absolutely recommend Chalet Cote Mer for a great relaxing holiday.We rented a car, which is almost a must in this location.Good value, friendly hotel, 5 minutes walk from the jetty, so easy access to the ferries for Mahé and La Digue, and also the bus stop for a short 10 minute ride to Cote d’Or beach. We were very satisfied with this trip.We will definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Ste Anne
5.0 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
1.2 mi away
Les Villas d'Or
Les Villas d'Or
#1 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Acajou Beach Resort
Acajou Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.4 mi away
Domaine de La Reserve
Domaine de La Reserve
#5 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Cote Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Cote Mer

Property: Chalets Cote Mer
Address: Baie Ste Anne, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Baie Ste Anne
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Baie Ste Anne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalets Cote Mer 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Chalets Cote Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalets Cote Mer Hotel Praslin Island
Chalets Cote Mer Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing