We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and Rustic all in one”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virgil
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 10, 2010

The Resort was beautiful and the details -right down to every single light fixture - made the atmosphere of a log cabin seem so authentic.
The kids really enjoyed the waterpark and I enjoyed the indoor/outdoor hot tube. It was really nice to sit in a hot tub and look out at beautiful mountain scenery.
The facial I had at the spa was extraordinary too.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebeth3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaink24, Director of Sales at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Happy to hear that the kids enjoyed the waterpark (and you enjoyed the hot tub!) and you had a chance to check out our spa. As you are from the local area, please remember that our spa (and restaurant and arcade) is open to the public.

Hope to see you again as the scenery continues to change with the seasons. Should you have any other comments or specific questions, I may be contacted directly. jkryger@greekpeakmtnresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
There are newer reviews for Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 668 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2010

Easy off Route 81 at the entrance to the Fingerlakes region, large "lodge-style" hotel across from ski slopes with tons of activities, fantastic indoor waterpark with stuff for all ages, connected to outdoor heated pool and spa, kids' activities (my six year old played in an inflatable obstacle course and we took an evening wagon ride drawn by two Clydesdales), Lake Hope right behind hotel for boating/fishing/swimming, large suite with full kitchen held two adults, two teens and a child comfortably. Many activities in the area, you could easily spend a week here (we were only there for one night, but will definitely return). The views and trees and fresh air are worth the trip from anywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardenstate029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaink24, Director of Sales at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Thanks for touching on many of the activites and attractions we offer, and hopefully next time you can stay longer to take advantage of more of them. And as your post title says, the view from the outdoor pool of the valley, lodge, and ski area behind it certainly is our "signature" look. You'll have to check it out in the winter, at night, while it is snowing and the ski area and lodge are all lit up. It certainly is a one of a kind experience.

Should you have any questions or other specific comments, I may be contacted directly. jkryger@greekpeakmtnresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

My son and I were heading up to this area to attend New York Jets Training camp at SUNY Cortland. When my wife found out about the Hope Lake Lodge we decided to make it a mini family vacation and boy are we glad we did. This a really neat, place that caters to families with kids of any age. Excellent staff, accomodations and facilities. We will definitely return, probable during the winter so we can enjoy skiing at Greek Peak and the water park which is opened year round.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsavaresefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaink24, Director of Sales at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad you were able to turn your trip to training camp into a mini-vacation. We have had many Jets fans do just the same. And I am very happy to hear you will be returning, Be sure to take advantage of some of our ski, splash, and stay packages when you do return.

Should you have any questions or any other specific comments, I may be contacted directly. jkryger@greekpeakmtnresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Wow! After four hot and sticky days in NYC the Hope Lake Lodge was delight! We only spent one night but wished we could have made it longer. The lodge itself is stunning; the lobby was incredible with a massive stone fireplace, soaring ceilings and loads of "woodzie" details. Check in was a pleasure, young fella was polite and accomodating. I was really impressed. The room itself was spacious and clean, loved the outdoors balcony, we could SMELL the pine forest from our balcony!!! The water park was a real treat, small but clean as a whistle and thankfully was salt water!!! The indoor/outdoor pool and spa were especially lovely. My daughter loved the wave pool, slides and dumping bucket.
The hotel had plenty of activities for kids all through the evening including a charming wagon ride and clown, a bouncing castle and games and activities in the lobby.
Oh! and the food....was really really good! We had the prime rib special which was huge - we should have shared it. and the breakfast buffet the next morning was excellent, so happy to finally see some fresh fruit!!!
All in all...this was a surprise and a treat...we WILL be back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_bunny3838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaink24, Director of Sales at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad that your family enjoyed themselves, and thank you for touching on all of the various amenities and activities that we offer our guests. There really is so much to do here that we encourage our guests to stay for more than one night, just so that they have enough time to full enjoy themsleves and everything we have to offer. One note: our pools are not salt water, but we do employ a state of the art air and water filtration system in the waterpark, so maybe that lead you to believe that something was different (as there is not the usual overpowering chlorine smells and sensations).

We look forward to seeing you again soon. Should you have any questions or any other specific comments, I may be reached directly. jkryger@greekpeakmtnresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Great Place to go have fun with your children and to mingle with everyone. The staff is is friendly and very helpfull. I am definantly going back again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank della16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaink24, Director of Sales at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am very happy to hear you will be back! I will be sure to share your compliments with the staff. Should you have any other specific comments or questions I may be contacted directly. jkryger@greekpeakmtnresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

It was raining almost all weekend where we came from and we wanted to get out and do something with our kids. A friend of ours has visited frequently and told us his kids had alot of fun. We found it online and booked our room and off we went. Our kids loved it!!!! Definately an awesome place to go during the winter months when cabin fever starts to set in!!! I would definately go again. We only got the room with the two queen beds and I think the next time we go we would definately get the room one step up that offers the kitchenette and dining table, along with the couch that folds out into a bed. Another TV would have been nice as kids like to watch cartoons and we dont prefer to. Overall, excellent place and alot of fun for all!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caf9145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaink24, Director of Sales at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon! We do offer nine (9) different room types overall, including those with a separate master bedroom and/or a loft in order to let parents (or the kids) have their own space. And I do recommend one of the rooms with a full kitchen, as there is real value in the meal savings, not to mention the convenience!

Should you have any other specific comments or questions I may be contacted directly. jkryger@greekpeakmtnresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We booked this trip after hearing about it on the radio. What alot of fun we had! Our girls are 3 and 7 and they both thought the WaterPark was awesome. There are Lifeguards posted at each water area so you feel very secure in the safety of your child. The girls thought the "Keycard" wristbands were great too and they kept having to take turns to open the door to our room. We want to try this place in the wintertime now so that we may go skiing too!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pay1Tay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaink24, Director of Sales at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is nice to see our marketing efforts are working! :)

I am happy that your family had such a good time, and you enjoyed using our unique key cards. Remember for next time that they work on our vending machines, in the arcade, for our lockers, in the restaurants, and across the street at the ski area as well. We try to make everything as convenient and hassle free as possible.

Should you have any other specific comments or questions, or need assistance with your future reservation, please feel free to contact me directly. jkryger@greekpeakmtnresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgil
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Finger Lakes Inn & Suites
19.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
17.7 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
16.3 mi away
Courtyard Ithaca Airport/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center

Address: 2000 State Route 392, Virgil, NY 13045-9556
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Virgil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virgil
Price Range: $154 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi access at this Award Winning Hope Lake Lodge achieved the prestegious LEED Certification in August of 2013. The hotel is also Audubon International Platinum rated (one of 5 in the USA) and was TripAdvisors Family Choice Award winner for 2012 (#3 in the USA and #4 in the world). The hotel is located at Greek Peak Mountain Resort and offers 106 condo hotel units providing unit owners and resort guests with luxurious accommodations in a family friendly, "green" Northwoods style lodge. Guests and owners have access to purchase day passes to the 41,000 square foot Cascades Indoor Waterpark, with over 500 feet of slides, including a three-story tube slide, a 500 gallon deluge bucket, a wave pool, activity tower, and hot tubs. The new Adventure Center includes 4 tandem zip lines, mountain coaster ride and ten lanes for snow tubing. The zip lines and coaster are open year round. The Tubing center is open during the winter. Call ahead for hours open during the different seasons. Also on site is Hope Lake Beach during the summer and Greek Peak Mountain Resort for skiing and boarding during the winter. The 2013 - 5 million dollar expansion to the ski center was completed including new quad chairlift, new Trax Restaurant, new ski and board equipment, New PB 600 Groomer with Zaag attachment. The resort is building the only double black diamond glades run in Central NY "Labyrinth" which is located between Hercules and Trojan. Hope Lake Lodge and the Acropolis Conference Center can accommodate groups with up to 1000 attendees. The onsite activities as well as the proximity to the Fingerlakes Region give everyone in the group many activities to choose from. For those who just want to relax the units all have full kitchens and a fireplace. Waterfalls Spa & salon has three private balneo tubs, vichey shower treatment room, private in room showers in all the treatment rooms and is the perfect place to "Nourish your skin and soothe your soul... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Lake Hotel Cortland
Hope Lake Lodge And Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing