We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor, untrained service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virgil
GreenLeadersGold level
Lahaina, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor, untrained service”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Although we are not staying at the lodge, we visited as there was no snow for skiing. First visit we had lunch at the lodge restaurant. Our server was pleasant but untrained, she seemed scared? After about a 45 minute wait we went up to the hostess stand, as no one had come back by to check on our table, to which the hostess (manager per her name tag) exclaimed "Oh my goodness" and came back apologetic that there had been a dish mishap in the kitchen and the chef was quite embarrassed. In the hospitality business ourselves we understand mishaps but appreciate communication - we would have been understanding should they have just explained the situation to us. So over an hour later we enjoyed a nice lunch - the food was, surprisingly, good. We had a pizza which was above average; highly recommend the Greek Peak salad, not the caesar though as lettuce was wilted and there were no sun dried tomatoes per the description.

Next day....a visit ton the water park. Open to public on Thursday's and Sunday's from 12-7 we decided to take the kids. At first they wanted to charge the adults for watching kids swim??? Then the desk clerk commented "well if you go in the pool without paying the lifeguards will stop you". Highly offensive comment as 1: we are from Hawaii and can swim anytime. 2: it implies we are cheats or liars. Hmmm. We had to call her out on that and offer a chance at redemption, which to her credit, she accepted and apologized....admitting that it sounded confrontational.

So, bottom line, I think management needs to consider more effort at training their staff, who seem nice enough just green....very very green at hospitality. Not sure I'd stay here when I can drive 1/2 hour and stay in Ithaca.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamakibell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle K, Owner at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Thank you for your recent visit to Hope Lake Lodge. I apologize for the unacceptable wait you experienced in the restaurant. Our new food and beverage director, who came on board yesterday, will improve the training, communication and customer service in that area.
In addition, I will contact the front desk manager regarding the desk clerk's inappropriate comments to you and your family.
Thank you for your feedback and please feel free to contact me should you have any other comments or concerns. Please consider giving us an opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    209
    78
    27
    25
See reviews for
492
39
2
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northwestern, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

The good:
Staff is very friendly.
Kids activities and kids club staff very fun.
Visually appealing hotel.
Free wireless.
Great kitchen set up in room.
Rooms are cozy and inviting.
Clean common areas.

Opportunity areas:
The spa - while I had a nice treatment there, it's not really a spa. It's a collection of treatment rooms. There's no place you can shower, sauna, relax, etc as you can at a traditional spa. They have a "relaxation" room, but it overlooks a parking lot. My treatment room had a shower but it was not offered to me for my use. When I peaked inside it there were no toiletries.

It's a timeshare facility - yes, we get it. There are signs, a sales office, brochures and magnets in the room. At least get rid I'd the huge, ugly banner in the lobby. It makes the hotel feel cheap.

Waterpark - waaaaayyyy too expensive. For our family of 4 it would have cost $140. We could spend a day at Six Flags for that much. Double it and spend the day at Disney.

Food - the restaurant is not very good. Burgers were ok but beyond that, don't bother. We ate Thanksgiving dinner at the Acorn Grill and it was a horrible waste of money. Selection was not broad (turkey, ham, rolls - but no butter, mashed potatoes, beans, squash, stuffing and sweet potatoes). I serve more at my house. The turkey was ok but no flavor. Mashed potatoes good but that's where it ends. The sweet potatoes and stuffing contained raisins, and the shrimp on the salad bar were over cooked and tough. Dessert selection was crummy at best - 3 kinds of pie and macaroons. Coffee and soda were not included in the buffet price, which was something like $24. The night before we had a horribly dry BBQ platter. The baked beans were the consistency of refried beans and the rib meat wouldn't come off the bone. I didn't bother trying to eat it.

Housekeeping - not exactly sure what they do beyond changing towels. Our kitchen sink was left dirty and they certainly didn't vacuum or clean toilets.

No adult area - this is a family friendly place for sure, which is why we went. But it would be nice to have an adults only area for when your kids are at the night program and other parents let theirs run wild.

Kids nightly program - make it 3 hours long and communicate what is included each night. Some nights dinner is included others it's not.

Even though I wrote more about what wasn't great, we did have a really nice time. Being able to eat in the room negates having to eat downstairs and the kids loved the nightly kids program.

The value was ok as we stayed on a free night promo. A bounceback savings offer would have been nice and maybe would have had us considering a return trip. We may visit again, only time will tell.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJMama02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle K, Owner at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you for your recent stay at Hope Lake Lodge. As an owner, I welcome all guest's feedback. A customer's point of view is critically important for our growth. This allows for us to make necessary and positive adjustments for future guest experiences. I was happy to hear that you had a nice time and we hope to be given another opportunity to meet all your expectations. Please contact me if you would like to discuss this further.
Gayle Kryger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Beautiful resort run by friendly and helpful staff. A welcome place to relax after a hectic summer

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cinnamon26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, General Manager at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
My favorite spot as well! Nothing like sitting in our Northwoods style hot tub on a calm still winter night, and see skiers and boarders enjoying the brightly lit slopes. Just a few more days away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We visited the Hope Lake Lodge back in July 2010. It was our very first time at an indoor waterpark. We absolutly loved it. It was very clean, the room price was great, and the acorn grill prices were great. We have been to three other indoor water parks in the NY/NJ/PA area since then. None of them compare to our experience at Hope Lake Lodge. Unfortunatly when I called today to see about going back again I was floored by the current pricing and nights of stay restrictions. Needless to say that at $350 plus a night with a two night minimum stay, we will not be back. There is not enough to do at the water park iteself for that long, and we don't ski. I have heard they do day passes now but at $35 a head they only allow you in from 12pm to 7pm. Pretty steep. Dear Hope Lake Lodge....lower it to $25!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, General Manager at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Adrienne,
We at Hope Lake Lodge and Cascades Indoor Water Park are very excited to see that your stay in July was an overall great experience. My team and I have been hard at work developing new and exciting packages this winter season. For example we have a package in place that includes: One night stay in our Stony Brook Traditional Suite which includes four Water Park Passes, for $299.00. Also available is our brand new Adventure Center located right across the street. A Mountain Coaster, 8 Zip Lines, Four Seasons Tubing, High and Low Ropes challenge Courses and a state of the art Virtusphere are some of the new additions to the resort. These wonderful family friendly activities have helped us solidify our pledge to be a true Four Seasons Resort Destination! We are very excited to be able to offer these unique attractions First in Central New York. Please feel free to contact me at any time to discuss these and many other options that are now available to you. Your comments are greatly appreciated and help us make a better resort for you and your loved ones to visit in the future. You can reach me at 607-835-6300 ext. 1230 or my cell phone 954-815-9955 at any time. Have a happy and safe holiday season!

Yours Truly,
Jeremy Wehnke
General Manager
Hope Lake Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2011

A beautiful hotel with so much to do with a waterslide, pool and now even more to do with their Adventure Center. PLUS great skiing during the winter! Ski & Ride School has great instructors, some of the best in the country with many holding the highest PSIA certification level, III. Junior Ski & Ride School is an excellent program with very children-friendly staff to start kids on the road to becoming fantastic skiers and snowboarders.
The spa is wonderful, very clean, professional & friendly staff. I've had several pedicures and they are so relaxing! I especially like that you are not in a room with 4 walls but sit and look out on the beautiful landscape and hills.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savytraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Morrin, Manager at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for your recent stay and more importantly your response. We are proud of all that our beautiful resort has to offer on a year long basis. We are getting ready for the 2011-2012 Ski Season and hope that you come back and visit with our very talented Ski and Ride School.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich,Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

My family recently stayed here for a couple of days. I was thrilled with the atmosphere and the decor. However, we were told that the waterpark in the resort was additional cost and not included in the stay and then we used the waterpark only for 1 evening from 7:00p.m. until about 9:00p.m. and we had to pay for a full price ticket of $35.00, I felt that was a rip-off. If you have alot of money to blow then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadow2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Morrin, Manager at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for your recent stay and response. We are pleased that you enjoyed the decor and atmosphere of our Family Resort. As with most Waterpark Hotels, we intially built the waterpark passes into the room rate for the total stay regardless of waterpark usage. To better serve our customers needs, as not all Lodge guests want to use the waterpark, we have broken out the room rate from the waterpark and allow our guests to purchase the waterpark a la carte. While the full day waterpark pass is $35.00, we are in the process of evaluating other products such as a half day pass.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Family ski vacation to Greek Peak Mountain Resort, Hope Lake Lodge, near Cortland, NY, upstate NY. Rented 2 condo room, including full kitchen and gas fire place. My wife and I took 2 of our grown children and their spouses and 3 grandchildren; so 6 adults, 3 children (4 months to 9 years old). Our children and grandson (9 years old) enjoyed ski school and the free time skiing while the grandparents babysat the 2 little girls. Indoor waterpark was great both during the daytime and at night. The Acorn Grill was great for lunch. The rest of the time, we cooked in the room and had our own beer and wine. Was very convenient, especially since the kids all seemed to have their own times to eat. We would go back here!

Room Tip: We had 2 connected rooms, one with full kitchen; very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, General Manager at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so happy that you had a wonderful time here at Hope Lake Lodge last February! With the weather changing and the cooler nights, we will be skiing in no time at all. With even more actvities to do, like zip linning, snow tubing, and our mountain coaster, you and your family will have more fun this year! We look forward to seeing you soon. If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact me at anytime!

Jeremy Wehnke
General Manager
Hope Lake Lodge
(607) 835-6300 etx. 1230
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgil
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Finger Lakes Inn & Suites
17.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
19.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
19.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center

Property: Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center
Address: 2000 State Route 392, Virgil, NY 13045-9556
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Virgil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virgil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi access at this Award Winning Hope Lake Lodge achieved the prestegious LEED Certification in August of 2013. The hotel is also Audubon International Platinum rated (one of 5 in the USA) and was TripAdvisors Family Choice Award winner for 2012 (#3 in the USA and #4 in the world). The hotel is located at Greek Peak Mountain Resort and offers 106 condo hotel units providing unit owners and resort guests with luxurious accommodations in a family friendly, "green" Northwoods style lodge. Guests and owners have access to purchase day passes to the 41,000 square foot Cascades Indoor Waterpark, with over 500 feet of slides, including a three-story tube slide, a 500 gallon deluge bucket, a wave pool, activity tower, and hot tubs. The new Adventure Center includes 4 tandem zip lines, mountain coaster ride and ten lanes for snow tubing. The zip lines and coaster are open year round. The Tubing center is open during the winter. Call ahead for hours open during the different seasons. Also on site is Hope Lake Beach during the summer and Greek Peak Mountain Resort for skiing and boarding during the winter. The 2013 - 5 million dollar expansion to the ski center was completed including new quad chairlift, new Trax Restaurant, new ski and board equipment, New PB 600 Groomer with Zaag attachment. The resort is building the only double black diamond glades run in Central NY "Labyrinth" which is located between Hercules and Trojan. Hope Lake Lodge and the Acropolis Conference Center can accommodate groups with up to 1000 attendees. The onsite activities as well as the proximity to the Fingerlakes Region give everyone in the group many activities to choose from. For those who just want to relax the units all have full kitchens and a fireplace. Waterfalls Spa & salon has three private balneo tubs, vichey shower treatment room, private in room showers in all the treatment rooms and is the perfect place to "Nourish your skin and soothe your soul... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Lake Hotel Cortland
Hope Lake Lodge And Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing