We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch option”

Freemans Dining Room
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Lyttelton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
451 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great lunch option”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This must one of Lyttelton's best kept secrets. We're down from Wellington for the weekend and went through to explore Lyttelton and it's recovery from the earthquakes. We had lunch out on the upper deck and it was just lovely in the sun watching the port at work. We ordered an entree each (the prawns are fantastic) and then shared a pizza, and it was a wonderful meal - just the right amount of food, well prepared and presented, washed down with a bottle of rosé. For those who prefer to be inside there's plenty of space. I wouldn't hesitate to go back next time I'm down this way!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    57
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I had the chicken confit 'salad' and the sticky pudding for dessert - excellent service, excellent food, highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathyN14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great choice for Sunday lunch”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We rang and booked ahead which was a good move as there isn't a huge amount of dinning area. The place caters for all sorts. Nice dining area, small bar area and a lovely deck area. We would have preferred to have been on the deck area but the weather wasn't conducive to be seated out there on this particular wet and cold Sunday. We ordered a platter for two and a side of handcut fries. We had more than enough food for three people. The platter was made up of a good variety of tasty treats. Some platters are bulked up with cheap fillers like picked onions, kiwi fruits and cheap seasonal veges. This platter had 2 small squares of blue cheese, pate, prosciutto, salami, smoked salmon, deep fried mussels and prawns a few olives,anchovies and a lovely side of toasted ciabatta with dips and spreads. The hand cut fries were also excellent. The place was warm and clean and the service more than adequate. Will be back

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mymagicroundabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Popped in here after visiting the farmers market. Small but interesting menu. I had the corned beef hash with poached egg, beautifully presented and very tasty. My partner had mushrooms on toast with a side of bacon - very tasty too.

Good coffee.

Service a little slow for a cafe that wasn't that busy when we arrived. Always disconcerting seeing someone who arrived and ordered after you receiving their meal before you.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 01foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food Cousy vibe”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Freemans is a good restaurant with a lovely indoor seating arrangement, you can also sit out side on the deck which is heated and covered, on Sundays like music is played to help wash down your delicious pizza or beer

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brendan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freemans Dining Room also viewed

Lyttelton, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Lyttelton, Canterbury Region
Lyttelton, Canterbury Region
 
Lyttelton, Canterbury Region
Lyttelton, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Freemans Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing