We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sort it out chaps”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Civil and Naval

Civil and Naval
Ranked #6 of 18 Restaurants in Lyttelton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $7
Cuisines: Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Previously a tailors of the same name, Civil & Naval is a bar and tapas restaurant. Placed on Lyttelton's main drag, they specialise in craft beer, and offer an eclectic wine list and some seriously good bar snacks and small plates. Drop by for a bevy of local and international wines, great beer, classic cocktails, and a tempting and decadent menu.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“sort it out chaps”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

This spot has been open a while now so I was baffled by their obvious lack of systems on a Saturday morning. Perhaps the overheard conversation "I'm a bit fragile" was a clue to their hungover status? Coffee served with serious splatter up the cup - eyes popped out of our heads on that one. Serious delay on my hot Choc explained when I spotted them sneaking in a box of soy milk. Wrong coffees delivered to the wrong people all around us. When teenage kitchen hand arrived late Batista very publicly gave him the finger - general impression is that this place has great potential but the staff need to sort it out, and dare I say grow up a bit. Samos not far from here NAILS service with gazillions of customers on a Saturday.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shak33n0mn0ms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    15
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for a drink and enjoyed friendly locals, an excellent gimlet and quality food. Stayed longer than I meant to, which is always a good sign. Loved the ambience!

Helpful?
Thank tiffymoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous bar meals, great service and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Just a great wee place - we had the bar snack mini (2 bite sized) burgers and chips in the basket and these were delectable! Louis, behind the bar really looked after us and the beers were traffic. Love the wood and simple styling of the place. Has a great wee courtyard out back as well. The two piece band were awesome. Love this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annieb107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fills a gap in the market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

As Lyttelton locals we have popped in 3 or 4 times and feel that it really adds something to the village. It is definitely more intimate than other bars in Port that have been largely staked out by High-Vis earthquake workers or youthful beer drinkers. Yes it is perhaps a little more expensive than others but the ambience and food is great, the wine selection is excellent, and overall a great spot for a quiet catchup with friends.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelling-wilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Fantastic cocktails and fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had the pleasure of visiting the Civil and Naval a few weeks ago with a group of friends for a slow Sunday session. We decided to buy a few beers from the tap and a gin cocktail that was absolutely to die for. On the food front we ordered the olive and pickle entree (which was huge) and, on recommendation fo the owner, the beef cheek which was absolutely mouth watering (the burnt butter emulsion was really something special!). A perfect place to catch up with friends for a Sunday afternoon, will definitely be returning.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carlu438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Civil and Naval also viewed

Lyttelton, Canterbury Region
Lyttelton, Canterbury Region
 
Lyttelton, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Civil and Naval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing