We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip!”
Review of She Universe

She Universe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Lyttelton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have been making the rip over the Port Hills to Governors Bay for a number of years now, and it is very hard not to give in to the temptation of stopping off at She Café. As always, the staff were very welcoming and most accommodating. A big plus - in addition to the top-rate coffee - is the availability of a most indulgent chocolate treat without additional sugar. Any café that caters to the needs of a diabetic gets the thumbs-up from me! Well done, She!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    55
    33
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Had a great time learning about chocolate and getting hands on experience in making some truffles, delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieCoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, great view, delicious hot chocolates”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

The dairy free (and normal) hot chocolates were amazing - even though we have specific dietary needs, these were met without any hassle. To top it off, we were serenaded by the delightful staff member with a violin! Fantastic experience!

Helpful?
Thank Nik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Best Hot Chocolate Ever!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I absolutely love this place, it has the best hot chocolate. The food is also delicious but i recommended it mostly like the Hot Chocolates, Service and the Beautiful scenery. I have been to SHE on many occasions and loved every experience. I have also been on the High Tea Bus which i also thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debbiechoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

lovely hot chocolate rest was disappointing due to staff's attitude as they even made you feel like a nuisance in taking your order & bringing the order, had high tea for 2 and very disappointed - lots of chocolates yes I do like chocolates but the savories consisted of 5 crackers tiny slices of cheese & chocolate chutney to be shared between couldn't understand why 5 crackers when it was a platter for 2, no other savories on board the high tea platter. So maybe nothing was working for She that day due to how staff were acting but it certainly didn't work for us either. I used to purchase chocolates & hot chocolates at farmers market in the past but haven't since the experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fae20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed She Universe also viewed

Lyttelton, Canterbury Region
Lyttelton, Canterbury Region
 
Lyttelton, Canterbury Region
Lyttelton, Canterbury Region
 

Been to She Universe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing