We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B
Nearby Hotels
The St James(Hanmer Springs)
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scarborough Lodge Motel(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Settlers Motel(Hanmer Springs)
$106
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanmer Springs Retreat(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$118
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalets Motel(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
$90
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Lake Apartments(Hanmer Springs)
$173
$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tussock Peak Motor Lodge(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanmer Apartments(Hanmer Springs)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel(Hanmer Springs)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveler rating
57
39
9
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
39
9
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadcooking facilitiesgreat locationhot poolsshower and toiletfree wifione night stayplace to staystudio unitoff street parkingenjoyed our staywalking distance to everythingshort walkthermal springsroom was largeking bedfriendly hosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 106 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Stayed for just one night on a small road trip around Canterbury.

Our unit ($100NZ on wotif), had one double bed and one single, a couch, window seat, small table and chair set. The bathroom had a shower and toilet. The place was spotlessly clean.

The hosts recommended several places to eat. Within walking distance of everything ... literally 5 mins to restaurants, pools, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwi_karyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Great location opposite the thermal springs. Clean spacious unit with tea and coffee making facilities. We could have done with an extra blanket - there was one spare but we were sleeping in 2 beds. I'm sure the staff would have been more than happy to provide an extra, but it was late by the time we went to bed, so make sure if it's winter you ask for any extra bedding you might need.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelkitkatnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Arrived late due to plane being delayed. Stayed only 1 night could have stayed longer but on a tight schedule The hosts had the heaters on in our rooms for us which was quite welcoming from the cold. Very helpful on whats about the town. Hot spring across the road. You can hire towels for $2 from reception instead of $5 from pools. Great rooms and comfortable beds. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kezsouthwestrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

As motel owners ourselves, we are probably more concious than most of the little things in motel service and unit amenities. Dale and Chanel run a lovely facility and clearly take pride in their motel. The units are well appointed, clean, quiet and warm. The hot pools are just over the road (which is a bonus!) and restaurants are a very short walk
It was a pleasure staying at Glenalvon Lodge Motel and we have no hesitation in recommending this facility to other travelers. We look forward to visitng again sometime in the future.

Steve & Sue
Ashleigh Court Motel (Christchurch)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshleighCourtManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Our trip to Hanmer started as a day trip, however we decided to stay overnight. After being messed around by another motel in the area we were sent here. The staff was very friendly and within minutes had arranged a portacot and fresh milk for our room.

The decor is dated, however it is the cleanest motel I have ever stayed in. Absolutely spotless! Could not fault it at all. Heater worked well during the cold night, bed was comfy and the room was very quiet as it's set back from the road.

Loved our stay here and would 100% stay again if we are ever in the area!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bubbly_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews