We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Spacious rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very Spacious rooms!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Hamner offers some very good values in the South island. There is a lot of competition and in the late afternoon they start putting out the "special Boards". We were very happy with this property. The husband and wife team are delightful and the rooms are very homely and spacious, with good beds, good showers and all in all a very clean comfortable and quiet package. Located directly opposite the Hamner Spring Hotpools you couldnt get a better location and just up the road (2min's walk) good resturants and Bar's. Tea, coffee making facilities are in the room as is a fridge, microwave and dining table and chairs. Also an extra single bed for a guest.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ravinon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    33
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed two nights here and it was great all round for a good price. A Nice clean room and right across the road from the thermal pools. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Have stayed here many years ago (Oct.1998), we just drive straight to this establishment. The motel is now run by Chanel and her husband who took over the business four years ago. It's still very well maintained and everything works well. There is also free wi-fi with very good signal strength. We are staying at room number 7. The location is spot on, opposite the thermal pools, in the heart of town. What else can one ask for. Chanel is so friendly and accommodating. We just love her disposition and flexibility. We are staying tonight (19Sept.2011) and will definitely be extending for another night or two.

Room Tip: Have stayed in room no.2 and now no.7. They are similar and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magbillSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We checked two other motels close by and this won out. Comfortable and close to pools with really friendly customer service, Room was already heated when we arrived and Front desk pointed out restaurants on guifde map.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank licorice_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
351 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We arrived after dark during the low season, and after asking around a few locations, decided to drop in on Glenalvon as they advertised special rates out front. We were not disappointed - some of the cheapest low season rates we've seen in S.Island this year, for a 4* location.

Nothing outstanding to mention, but everything is clean, spick/span and works as it should. We stayed only one night, but would not have a problem staying longer.

And if you go by, say hello to Zeus the cat!!

Room Tip: Go in low season?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keltzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We wanted a room for one night and went to 5 different places in Hamner before choosing this one. The genuine and helpful attitude of the manager and his wife made a lasting impression.
Glenalvon is conveniently situated almost directly opposite the entrance to the thermal pools and the rooms are arranged around an attractive courtyard away from the road so are nice & peaceful. Our room was very clean and well equipped despite not having full kitchen - good value for money.
Although we couldn't get a late check out, they were more than happy for us to leave our vehicle in the courtyard whilst we went to the pools.
Wi-fi signal strength wasn't fantastic as we were in the room furthest from reception but we managed to get connected.
Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visitor999999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Very friendly hosts who were accomodating in every way!
Our family booked last minute on wotif.com, so managed to get a very reasonably priced spacious unit. Due to the fact it was so reasonably priced and the unit so clean and tidy. It wasn't a hard decision to stay over for an extra night.
We would most certainly stay here again on our next visit to Hamner Springs.
Highest recommendations on friendliness, cleanliness, and locality!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandramartin_234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
673 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Larchwood Motel
Larchwood Motel
#21 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forest Peak Motel
Forest Peak Motel
#15 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B

Property: Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B
Address: 29 Amuri Avenue | PO Box 29, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#12 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenalvon Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing