We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Extremely clean, quiet, spacious slightly dated accomodation with host that were exceptional in their knowledge, service and attitude. Very central - across road to hotpools.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallystours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    33
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We had an overnight stay here a couple of years ago and it was good and clean. Across the road from the hanmer springs pools. All Good and would stay there again

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheKiwiDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Stayed one night here recently. A smallish type establishment set back from the road , clean and tidy with a very accommodating host. Room was well laid out with a king size bed , dining table , lounge suite, tea and coffee making facilities , a small fridge and digital television. The bathroom was the biggest I have seen. I noted that they also hire out mountain bikes and scooters. All in all a pleasant stay and very central to the hot pools and eateries.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jono2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Stayed for just one night on a small road trip around Canterbury.

Our unit ($100NZ on wotif), had one double bed and one single, a couch, window seat, small table and chair set. The bathroom had a shower and toilet. The place was spotlessly clean.

The hosts recommended several places to eat. Within walking distance of everything ... literally 5 mins to restaurants, pools, etc.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi_karyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Great location opposite the thermal springs. Clean spacious unit with tea and coffee making facilities. We could have done with an extra blanket - there was one spare but we were sleeping in 2 beds. I'm sure the staff would have been more than happy to provide an extra, but it was late by the time we went to bed, so make sure if it's winter you ask for any extra bedding you might need.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelkitkatnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west rocks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Arrived late due to plane being delayed. Stayed only 1 night could have stayed longer but on a tight schedule The hosts had the heaters on in our rooms for us which was quite welcoming from the cold. Very helpful on whats about the town. Hot spring across the road. You can hire towels for $2 from reception instead of $5 from pools. Great rooms and comfortable beds. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezsouthwestrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

As motel owners ourselves, we are probably more concious than most of the little things in motel service and unit amenities. Dale and Chanel run a lovely facility and clearly take pride in their motel. The units are well appointed, clean, quiet and warm. The hot pools are just over the road (which is a bonus!) and restaurants are a very short walk
It was a pleasure staying at Glenalvon Lodge Motel and we have no hesitation in recommending this facility to other travelers. We look forward to visitng again sometime in the future.

Steve & Sue
Ashleigh Court Motel (Christchurch)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleighCourtManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
672 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Larchwood Motel
Larchwood Motel
#21 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forest Peak Motel
Forest Peak Motel
#13 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B

Property: Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B
Address: 29 Amuri Avenue | PO Box 29, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#12 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenalvon Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing