We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm & sophistication”

Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Isobel's Restaurant is located in the Heritage Hanmer Springs hotel and is open every day of the year for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We also have a fantastic outdoor Terrace overlooking our gardens for amazing al fresco dining. We offer a variety of meals to suit most tastes and meet most dietary requirements and we are proud to offer vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Our Son barely eats 2 pieces of toast & a Milo for breakfast so we were reluctant to have to spend $20 for him to partake in the continental option. We had one full Breakfast & one continental so the staff allowed him to dine for free - Thank you very much for being so accommodating in this gesture! The selection & quality of the food was excellent & the Dining Hall is a majestic yet charming space with loads of room & beautiful views of the grounds & surrounds.

Thank AnjHpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2014

Dear AnjHpr

Thanks for your review of the restaurant. I apologise for the delay in replying.

We are glad that you enjoyed dining with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Thanks again for your feedback - especially about our staff - we really appreciate your comments.

Best regards,

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 147 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I chose this for a romantic dinner as a more affordable alternative to No 31. It was reasonably priced and the hotel that houses it is beautiful. Dishes were hit and miss, one of our plates was great and one was average. I was a little disappointed by the decor of the dining room. Other than the nice fireplace, it had the distinct feel of an old empty ballroom with some tables thrown in. I will say that that the two waiters working that night (both internationals, I think one was a European studying international tourism) were excellent. They were attentive and friendly. Overall, not prefect but a good option in Hanmer.

Thank Chad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2014

Dear Chad2014

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the restaurant. I sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible service and experience for our guests. We already have a new Executive Chef in place and we will look at giving the restaurant a fresher look in the new year.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Had a memorable meal in Isobel's. The pork was meltingly beautiful and partners fish was tasty and a very generous portion.not expensive but just a beautiful meal.Please replace the tablecloths though...it is a restaurant and not a cafe or pub.the little lonely candle just looks sad...the room it beautiful...celebrate it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2014

Dear Elizabeth S

Thanks for your review of our restaurant. I sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible dining experience for our guests. Our goal is to be the #1 restaurant in Hanmer Springs and we are working towards that all the time.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had an evening meal here and have previously had lunch. The food was fantastic. For dinner we had the fish pie and the slow cooked pork - both dishes were well presented and divine. The ambience was great with the fire going. We lingered over dessert. The service was a little casual with one diner having to wait for some time to be seated because the staff had disappeared into the conference area.

1  Thank JazBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2014

Dear JazBear

Thanks for your feedback on our restaurant. I sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible dining experience for our guests.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Thought I would take my wife out for a nice dinner. The food was as close to perfect as you can get. The waiter was friendly and attentive and to top it all off, I thought the prices were extremely reasonable. Well done team. I will be taking friends next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2014

Dear Peter H

Thanks for posting a review of the restaurant. I apologise for the delay in replying to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible dining experience for our guests.

We now have a new Executive Chef in place and we have recently released a new dinner menu for which the feedback has been excellent.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing