We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something a little different...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Malabar Restaurant

Malabar Restaurant
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Something a little different...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Malabar was warm and inviting on a cold winters evening. We were given a choice of having a table either by the fire or near the window. The staff were attentive and helpful, the menu made it difficult to chose, lots of options. We opted for two small sharing plates, a main to share and we both had dessert. (Make sure you pace yourself for dessert, it was divine!)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WasupB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    168
    35
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed with food but service was good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had read great reviews about this restaurant so had high hopes but were a bit disappointed. I ordered the lamb kebabs expecting tender meat but it was more like lamb patties and they were a bit tasteless. My husband ordered the duck expecting it to fall off the bone but it needed to be cooked a bit longer. My daughter thought her kids meal was too spicy. The waiter snapped at her for bending the menu (what do they cost to print ???) and we weren't asked if we wanted dessert. Won't rush to go back. At least it has a clean and funky atmosphere to the place which works in its favour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'm disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The menu is very attractive, but it's not a good value. The slow cooked beef was salty and 4 pieces of bones with a little bit of meat for $32.00 on its own.The meat in the trio curries were soggy.The people were lovely and the atmosphere is excellent sadly the food is poor.:((

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alaska1183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went for dinner to Malabar and it was nice. We had the pork belly and chicken with noodles mains and they were both very tasty. The atmosphere was good, service prompt and it was an enjoyable meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Sublime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We look forward to coming to this restaurant each time we visit Hanmer Springs and it never disappoints. They have changed the style of their menu to sharing plates which we as a couple found great. Started with the scallops and pork belly - one of us loves scallops the other pork belly and this was a delicious taste tempter with a lovely sauce. Then the crispy duck with sides of Asian greens, rice and naan. Divine! Couldn't resist dessert - crème brulee and chocolate terrine - wow! The whole meal was wonderful and we kept talking about it for days afterwards and we are not ones to usually rave about eating out. We had just eaten at two rather pricy restaurants in Christchurch and there was no comparison. The staff of course helped make the evening so special. They were friendly and helpful - charming young men! Good wine selection and overall the price we felt was very reasonable. I wish they would move their restaurant to Rotorua!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WetaRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malabar Restaurant also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Malabar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing