We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food and service really lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Malabar Restaurant

Malabar Restaurant
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food and service really lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

A real find on our trip around the South Island. The restaurant was busy which added to the atmosphere. The food was excellent especially the pork belly in pepper sauce - yummy. The service was attentive and friendly. I have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant.

The only small criticism is the new menu - all the starters, side dishes, mains are all listed in one, long list in no particular order - this makes it difficult to order food in any logical order. The 'lighter dishes' come out first and so my daughter had ordered the fries hoping they would come with her fish but the fries came before.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m_portelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinemalabar, Owner at Malabar Restaurant, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.Its been 4 weeks with the launch of the new menu and we are learning a lot each day and we'll certainly take your suggestions on board.
Regards
Team Malabar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    168
    35
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy but Pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This restaurant is very nice. The place is posh and modern but warm and casual at the same time. We ordered the grilled lamb cutlets with pickled pepper for entree. This one was a hit. The flavors were spot on and it just exploded in your mouth. This dish cannot be faulted. We ordered the wok noodles, the slow cooked beef with red curry and crispy duck with ginger stir-fry for main. Initially we were worried we ordered too much as there was only two of us, but surprisingly the portion size is not that big. I would say it was about small-medium. The wok noodles was a miss. It had no direction in flavor. It had no definite taste of what it should be. It was lack luster. The beef was a hit. The meat was tender and was falling off the bones. It wasn't that spicy as well. I don't know if this is a plus or a minus. The crispy duck was a hit as well although duck was not crispy at all. We also ordered a garlic naan but flavor of garlic was just a mere hint. We also ordered the desserts, creme brulee and angel cake. Both were hits. They were very delicious. Order these desserts! The service was very good. The only thing though is they didn't change the plates/ utensils for entree and main. Price - very pricey as portion size is not big. Each main probably ranges from $28-$35. Enjoyed the meal and would eat there again but just be careful which dish to choose/ order as can be a hit or a miss.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cin262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Absolutely exceptional dinner. Best tandoori chicken I've ever had, hands down. Naan was great and the green curry was quickly devoured. The new menu is great - it provides an awesome way to share several different menu items with those that you bring. It's like a tapas menu, but includes entrees (starters/appetizers) and mains (main course). Think of one menu item to be shared by two, maybe three, people - and you're set. order a slew of dishes - they won't disappoint!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerosene15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Somers, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't expect large servings”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Went to this restaurant with high expectations. Friends had dined there previously. The waiter briefed us on the new "fusion" dining format which sounded interesting. However we were left with the impression that it was a way by which the small size of the servings could be camouflaged. 6 in the party meant that each dish was split 6 ways. With the pork belly dish this meant that we each had exactly 2 small cubes of pork (was the chef counting them out?). Same with the mussels - 12 exactly working out at well over $1 per mussel. One of the mussel shells was empty and I had one small mussel and one extremely small mussel. Not good enough. Surely some quality control in the kitchen would have identified that - after all there were only 12 to check on!
The rice was not up to standard. Small serving and lumpy - not free-flowing.
The same pattern continued with the deserts - expensive and small. I was told that when I opened the top on my Angel Cake container that "the angel would fly out". I should have known that it wouldn't - there wasn't the room for one in the small container.
Not good enough for a bill for $96 for two.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank curler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinemalabar, Owner at Malabar Restaurant, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback,our menu is based on a sharing concept.If you dine in any restaurant anywhere,and share 1 main dish between 6 people i wonder how much each of you will get. It is very easy for you to be critical of our efforts,we do feel we need to put the facts out there for people to decide.
Here is a detailed breakdown of your bill with an average of $48 per person.
Beverage-1 Tiger beer,2 pints of beer,1 glass of white wine.
Small dishes-2 lamb cutlets(6 pcs)2 masala fish(4 fillets)Spring Roll(6pcs)1/2 kg mussels
2 Onion Bhajis(4 pcs)
Main size dish-1 Pork Belly
Sides-2 Roti,3 Jasmine Rice
Desserts-2 Creme Brulee,1 Fruit Skewer with Icecream,1 Angel Cake,1 Affogato.

As far as the rice being lumpy and not free flowing,it clearly states on the menu we serve jasmine rice.
The whole concept of sharing is based on eating at a family table where each one gets a bit of everything.Our efforts in creating a unique dining experience in Hanmer Springs will not be deterred by unfounded criticism.

Regards
Team Malabar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful dining experience (once again) at the Malabar. It was great to see a new and exciting menu with a sharing concept. The pork belly and the stir fried Asian greens were amazing! The food here is always so fresh and tasty. The service is also impeccable with great attention to detail. The owner Annette is extremely warm, friendly and attentive. Will definitely be back again on our next trip to Hanmer :-)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sairsimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malabar Restaurant also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Malabar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing