We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food and service”
Review of Jollie Jacks Cafe & Bar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jollie Jacks Cafe & Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We ate dinner there with special friends and it was the last night of our holiday with them. The food and wine were incredible and the service was very friendly. The rib eye steaks were cooked to perfection and the lamb melted off the bone. If you want to try an after dinner liqueur then try the 'jam doughnut' it was scummy.

Helpful?
Thank Andrea Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    12
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Jollie Jacks”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We rated it somewhere between average and very good. The food was fine, the service was good and we would have eaten there again if we had had time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LYNN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice for a drink”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

It was good, good service. Simple and friendly. We only had drinks here. Couldnt comment on anything else.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Went there to have a good kiwi fish meal..not disappointed.”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Nice meal, plenty of food, great hosts who could not have been more ready to assist in any request. Cosy fire, good pub meal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank missiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We ordered 4 different meals and each one was very tasty and a decent portion. The service was excellent and the log fire cosy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jollie Jacks Cafe & Bar also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing