We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, massive room with patio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scarborough Lodge Motel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A short walk from the most amazing Hanmer hot pools, the best thing about this nice place was the hosts who were wonderful. We followed their recommendation to go up the nearby hill and to visit the hot pools (we'd have driven on and missed them otherwise) and had a brilliant time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank godoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 133 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

As per a previous review, at first glance Scarborough Lodge does not look anything special but as the old adage goes, "You can't judge a book by it's cover" it certainly applies here. We were greeted by a neighbour who was standing in for the absentee owners for the afternoon. I am so sorry I can't remember her name but she was so friendly and accommodating and showed us around the 2 apartments (there is only 2) that us and our two friends had booked explaining eveything and supplying towels for our use at the hot pools. Nothing was lacking in the unit and with free wifi thrown in for good measure we were set for the night. It's location and proximity to all Hamner Springs has to offer is superb so the car is just not necessary when restaurants, pools etc are so close. Graham the owner met us the next morning and he too was very friendly and eager to offer any touring tips to us. Do not hesitate in booking here if your travels take you to Hamner Springs, a lovely little town. Well done!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dougalHorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The owner Graham was extremely friendly. We only had a fly by visit to experience the hot pools. We were glad we stayed here. It was an easy walk to the springs and into town for dinner. Graham supplied extra towels for us to take to the pools. There is easy parking close to the room which was great for lugging our luggage out early in the morning. There was a mini kitchen and a spa which is probably under utilised, I imagine, as we had had enough of soaking by the time we got back to the room. The room was lovely and warm to return to after a brisk walk home. It's a lovely village and I would recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: There are only two so you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jalaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Scarborough lodge is a small motel within easy walking distance of hanmer springs village, the rooms were clean, well equipped and warm (have heat pump). The host Graham is very friendly and has good local knowledge, he even offered to transport us to wedding we were attending at a nearby winery. Definitely would recommend motel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSBLJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This motel was in a great location very close to the centre of Hanmer Springs and the hot pools etc. The host was extremely welcoming and helpful on arrival. The room itself was large and very clean with a kitchenette, sofa, flat screen TV, large bathroom with spa bath, and a little garden out the back. There was Sky TV in the room, including sports and movies, which I thought was fabulous.
One negative was that the walls were very thin, and I could hear everything the people next door were saying in the night, the shower going, the toilet flushing etc. Also, I personally found the bed was a little hard for my liking, but then I am extremely spoilt with a fantastic pillow top super-king bed at home, so not much really compares to this except in 5* hotels.
All in all a good stay, and the positives definitely outweigh the negatives. I would recommend staying here, good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisamarieauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed here and we would come back again and again. The owners make you feel very much at home and nothing is too much trouble. Last time they even did our laundry for us!
The rooms are spacious and very clean with everything you need and the location is a two minute walk away from all the action. Fully air conditioned with sky television and a fully equipped kitchen.
I would recommend the Scarborough Lodge to everyone, it's a lovely place to stay.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andrea Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just the warmest welcome received by the host Graham. We arrived to a freezing cold temperature in Hanmer and Graham turned the heat pump on. The unit was spectacular and very cosy. The com pendulum provided awesome information on local eateries wether it was a thumbs up or please avoid. The location is handy and walks all round. The hot pools are a must do. Our unit also came with a king spa bath.....very nice indeed. Can't rave more. We stayed there from December 7th- December 8th 2012. Stunning service.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite with a king spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lois h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
711 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harrogate Gardens Motel
Harrogate Gardens Motel
#14 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarborough Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Lodge Motel

Address: 34 Harrogate Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $102 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scarborough Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scarborough Lodge is a couples-only retreat just a short walk from Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools Reserve. The property offers barbecue facilities, free Wi-Fi internet access and free parking. The air conditioned apartments feature flat-screen satellite TV with over 40 channels. Each apartment has a double jacuzzi, separate shower and a well equipped kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Scarborough Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing