We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scarborough Lodge Motel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Scarborough lodge is a small motel within easy walking distance of hanmer springs village, the rooms were clean, well equipped and warm (have heat pump). The host Graham is very friendly and has good local knowledge, he even offered to transport us to wedding we were attending at a nearby winery. Definitely would recommend motel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSBLJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 136 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

This motel was in a great location very close to the centre of Hanmer Springs and the hot pools etc. The host was extremely welcoming and helpful on arrival. The room itself was large and very clean with a kitchenette, sofa, flat screen TV, large bathroom with spa bath, and a little garden out the back. There was Sky TV in the room, including sports and movies, which I thought was fabulous.
One negative was that the walls were very thin, and I could hear everything the people next door were saying in the night, the shower going, the toilet flushing etc. Also, I personally found the bed was a little hard for my liking, but then I am extremely spoilt with a fantastic pillow top super-king bed at home, so not much really compares to this except in 5* hotels.
All in all a good stay, and the positives definitely outweigh the negatives. I would recommend staying here, good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisamarieauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed here and we would come back again and again. The owners make you feel very much at home and nothing is too much trouble. Last time they even did our laundry for us!
The rooms are spacious and very clean with everything you need and the location is a two minute walk away from all the action. Fully air conditioned with sky television and a fully equipped kitchen.
I would recommend the Scarborough Lodge to everyone, it's a lovely place to stay.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andrea Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just the warmest welcome received by the host Graham. We arrived to a freezing cold temperature in Hanmer and Graham turned the heat pump on. The unit was spectacular and very cosy. The com pendulum provided awesome information on local eateries wether it was a thumbs up or please avoid. The location is handy and walks all round. The hot pools are a must do. Our unit also came with a king spa bath.....very nice indeed. Can't rave more. We stayed there from December 7th- December 8th 2012. Stunning service.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite with a king spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lois h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in Scarborough Lodge for a night while doing a tour of the south island and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The lodge is in a good location, close to the centre of Hanmer, and all the main attractions of the area. We were welcomed warmly and the room we were given was spacious and very clean. The bathroom was also quite large with a spa bath. Unfortunately because we spent much of the day at the thermal pools in Hanmer, we didn't actually make use of it! The bed was comfy and the owners very helpful, recommending places to eat (and those to avoid!). They also gave us extra towels to bring to the thermal pools. There was a wide range of channels on the television if you wanted to spend the night in too!
Overall, we felt that Scarborough Lodge represented exceptional value for money and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank POC-CW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here for the 2 days we spent in Hanmer Springs.
We had a beautiful, clean room with a Jacuzzi and private garden overlooking the nice and peaceful neighbourhood.
Graeme is a wonderful host. Warm, friendly and full of good advice.
It was his idea that it was the best time to go to Hanmer Spa while it was still drizzling...and was he right! We had an amazing experience.
And not to forget the nice little collection of DVDs he has.

Brilliant 2 days spent here. Definitely recommended!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankittravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

At first glace Scarborough Lodge does not look anything special but it would be a mistake not to consider it as an ideal place to base yourself while in Hanmer. It is spacious. exceptional clean and well located close to restaurants and the hot springs - the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
731 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
617 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chalets Motel
Chalets Motel
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarborough Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Lodge Motel

Address: 34 Harrogate Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $98 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scarborough Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scarborough Lodge is a couples-only retreat just a short walk from Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools Reserve. The property offers barbecue facilities, free Wi-Fi internet access and free parking. The air conditioned apartments feature flat-screen satellite TV with over 40 channels. Each apartment has a double jacuzzi, separate shower and a well equipped kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scarborough Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing