We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Impeccable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scarborough Lodge Motel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service Impeccable”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just the warmest welcome received by the host Graham. We arrived to a freezing cold temperature in Hanmer and Graham turned the heat pump on. The unit was spectacular and very cosy. The com pendulum provided awesome information on local eateries wether it was a thumbs up or please avoid. The location is handy and walks all round. The hot pools are a must do. Our unit also came with a king spa bath.....very nice indeed. Can't rave more. We stayed there from December 7th- December 8th 2012. Stunning service.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite with a king spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lois h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
107
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kilcullen, Ireland
Level Contributor
276 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in Scarborough Lodge for a night while doing a tour of the south island and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The lodge is in a good location, close to the centre of Hanmer, and all the main attractions of the area. We were welcomed warmly and the room we were given was spacious and very clean. The bathroom was also quite large with a spa bath. Unfortunately because we spent much of the day at the thermal pools in Hanmer, we didn't actually make use of it! The bed was comfy and the owners very helpful, recommending places to eat (and those to avoid!). They also gave us extra towels to bring to the thermal pools. There was a wide range of channels on the television if you wanted to spend the night in too!
Overall, we felt that Scarborough Lodge represented exceptional value for money and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POC-CW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here for the 2 days we spent in Hanmer Springs.
We had a beautiful, clean room with a Jacuzzi and private garden overlooking the nice and peaceful neighbourhood.
Graeme is a wonderful host. Warm, friendly and full of good advice.
It was his idea that it was the best time to go to Hanmer Spa while it was still drizzling...and was he right! We had an amazing experience.
And not to forget the nice little collection of DVDs he has.

Brilliant 2 days spent here. Definitely recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankittravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

At first glace Scarborough Lodge does not look anything special but it would be a mistake not to consider it as an ideal place to base yourself while in Hanmer. It is spacious. exceptional clean and well located close to restaurants and the hot springs - the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We have stayed here many times and it is perfect for our stay in Hanmer Springs. It is not too far to travel from Christchurch after flying in and a great place to start a holiday. The room is clean and of a high standard with a large bathroom with a spa bath. The bed is very comfortable with an electric blanket for the cold nights plus plenty of heating to warm up in winter. The village is delightful in all seasons with a visit to the thermal pools a must, either a private room or the outside pools. Scarborough Lodge is in a perfect location a bit out of the village but close enough to walk to the restaurants or hot pools. The hosts are always pleasant, helpful and very welcoming. We love it and looking forward to our next visit in November.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Great and warmly welcome from Gaeme. He can tell you about all the good restaurants, good walks and things to do or not to do in Hanmer Springs! Very nice, large and good furnished sunny room//unit incl privat terras and spa bath. The bed was great to sleep in ! You can cook yourselfs and everything is there in the kitchenunit. The surroundings are quiet, no annoying traffic. The place lies prefect within Hanmer, just of the main road, but everything can be walked. I realy enjoyed the 90 min massage Karima give me, this was the perfect extra to relex in this enviorment. Gaeme and Karima realy taken good care of there guests and always have time for a chat if you want to. Graeme and Karima, thank you very much for the cosy stay. I left with less stress then where I came with ! I definitely will be back with my husband and than we will stay a few days longer than I did now ! 2 day's isn't enough for Hanmer Springs.
See you both a.s.a.p.
Greetings from Jolanda

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms, both identically good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reisverslaafde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The room was spacious and fully furnished with kitchen. The spa was great. A short and pleasant walk to the town. Love the place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckiancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
672 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
589 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarborough Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Lodge Motel

Property: Scarborough Lodge Motel
Address: 34 Harrogate Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scarborough Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scarborough Lodge is a couples-only retreat just a short walk from Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools Reserve. The property offers barbecue facilities, free Wi-Fi internet access and free parking. The air conditioned apartments feature flat-screen satellite TV with over 40 channels. Each apartment has a double jacuzzi, separate shower and a well equipped kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scarborough Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing