We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scarborough Lodge Motel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great escape”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Went to Hanmer in August and found the lovelist place to stay, the hosts were great and the room was an great escape from christchurch and kids for a couple of days, it had everything you need and highly recommend, will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettboot3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
109
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Great accomation really great value ,made to feel very welcome from the moment that you are there ,lovely warm room the spa and bathroom so good ,put a smile on my face when i saw the lay out of the place.if you want dvds to watch just ring the bell and plenty to choose from at the office ,but different from some places because you can tell you are welcome and made to feel really good that you are on holiday.I love this place and cant wait to get away have stayed in other places in hanmer but would be back to scarorough lodge well before others at this price range,amazing

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wishboneChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarboroughlodge, Owner at Scarborough Lodge Motel, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you very much for your very kind words, we always go out of our way to welcome everyone and help them get the most out of their stay, so we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future for more Hanmer R&R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Nice place, great service, friendly, good amenities blah blah. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bredd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarboroughlodge, Owner at Scarborough Lodge Motel, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you both in the near future.
Warm regards,
Graeme and Karima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

It's a warmly and nice hotel well situated not in the main street of Hanmer Springs, located in the town and close to the forest. The room was amazing, big, clean and completely equipped with kitchen, microwave, pots and terrace with barbecue. Also has a big TV with Sky and DVD (you can take movies from the hotel to see in the room), confortable queen bed and free wifi. And the best one is when you have seen everything and you went to the bathroom is when you realized that there is a jacuzzi, shower, amenities...
The owners are really nice people and make you feel like home.
There is also a lot of activities in the area to complete the experience, hire mountain bikes to make a route there, spa and termal pools...
Definetely, it was a charming stay in the Scarborough Lodge!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xaviur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Host and hostess made us so welcome and at home. The room was lovely with all the conveniences, and a marvellous bed. The only problem was a couple in the next room, who were extremely noisy and kept us awake till 4 am. We still loved our stay, and would recommend it to all looking for a truly comfortable break away.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davnan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Hanmer Springs was a nice stopping point between Nelson and Christchurch if traveling through the interior. It's kind of like a ski town but the attraction is the hot springs. Upon our arrival at the lodge, we were surprised no one or note awaited us. Ringing the telephone posted on the door, we reached the proprietor who said we were expected yesterday - on checking our reservation she was right - we had accidentally booked on the wrong day. She could tell we had made an honest mistake and it hadn't cost her any business so she gave us the room for the night anyway. One of the nicest places we stayed and close to one of the least expensive. A nice kitchenette, sky TV, and an awesome jacuzzi tub! Walking distance of the town and a great walking/running track along the river next to the lodge.

Only downside - no wireless internet. Solution: Go to the library in town. 12-4 most days.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abc123miguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We stayed here for one night to enjoy the Springs. The room is quite large with two 2-seater couches (they are ok but could be updated), tv, fridge, plates etc and 2 hot plates for cooking – which was great for us as we love to cook. There is also a cute little outside area – giving the room a nice garden view and the bathroom is huge with spa. The best thing is the location – it’s a 2-5 minute walk to the nicest part of town and the Springs.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
693 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#18 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
600 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chalets Motel
Chalets Motel
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarborough Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Lodge Motel

Property: Scarborough Lodge Motel
Address: 34 Harrogate Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scarborough Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scarborough Lodge is a couples-only retreat just a short walk from Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools Reserve. The property offers barbecue facilities, free Wi-Fi internet access and free parking. The air conditioned apartments feature flat-screen satellite TV with over 40 channels. Each apartment has a double jacuzzi, separate shower and a well equipped kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Scarborough Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing