We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value accommodation in Hanmer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Blenheim, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best value accommodation in Hanmer”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Check out the Drifter's Inn opposite the Hot Pools in Hanmer, NZ, just like a luxury back packers. On-suite rooms, clean commercial kitchen with luxury lounge. Great hosts and even towel for the hot pools across the road. All for $100 per night per room - perfect,

Room Tip: go for the cheapest smaller rooms as your only in there to sleep , they are still great and the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    46
    13
    10
    8
See reviews for
19
114
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We chose this hotel originally for its great location, but were pleasantly surprised at its lovely friendly managers Penny and Mike and the warm welcome they gave us. The room was adequate for an overnight stay, but we were impressed with the large and spacious lounge area and communal kitchen for the guests. It had a lodge feel to it, cosy and welcoming and our hosts were most helpful with anything we needed. Easy walk to everything and didn't need the car. Good value and would stay again.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms would give you more privacy from the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a superb stay at the Drifters Inn and it is literally a stones throw from Hamner Springs so the location is fantastic. The room was beautifully presented and immaculately clean as were all of the communal areas and facilities. We received a very warm welcome from Penny and Mike (Managers) who were very helpful and gave great recommendations both for our stay at Hamner Springs and the rest of our visit to NZ. They really couldn't have been nicer. We would highly recommend staying ay the Drifters Inn and with the benefit of hindsight, we would not have spent the time that we did in Christchurch - we would have just headed straight for Hamner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Houstie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very good price for directly opposite the thermal spa. However, if you are looking for a room with a balcony, book elsewhere. Large communal lounge with TV and log fire and full commercial kitchen. Great for families.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MainlanderNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Flew over from Melbourne for a quick weeks holiday in NZ. Great location and facilities, the studio room was a wee bit small but It was great for what we paid. The Lounge area is excellent and although it was winter It's a 2 minute walk across to the pools in shorts. I would stay here again and my compliments go to Penny a real jem of a host.

Cheers
Keith from Scotland and Stef from Australia.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We celebrated my husbands 40th birthday at the Drifters Inn, this was with out doubt the best weekend every one has had in a long time, The drifters inn catered to all our needs and Penny and Mike are the best managers, they really make this place, they are so helpful and accommodating to every ones needs. The rooms were great and suited all our needs. Well done Penny and Mike we would not stay anywhere else in Hanmer now.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lemadchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here as a group for two nights, Penny & Mike were amazing and made everyone feel at home. The location was central for all our needs, restaurants, hot pools and cafe's. We had full run of the property given that we were all staying on site and were able to use the kitchen when we needed it. Penny was super helpful in helping us book the community hall that we used during the day sessions and organizing all our catering for us. She made our weekend retreat a highlight of the year. Stunning location, service and ambiance. Would definitely rate this location /property for future groups for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManuKeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs

Property: Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
Address: 2 Harrogate Street | North Canterbury, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drifters Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing