We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pools” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa

Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa
Book In Advance
More Info
$208.11*
and up
Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools and Jet Boat Day Trip from Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great pools”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

These are definitely up there with the best hot pools I have visited. They are a tad expensive, but worth it. Heaps of different pools of varying temperatures. I did think it was a bit steep charging you $20 entry and then an extra $10 for the slides, so I didn't bother with those. We went on a Friday early evening, and it wasn't too busy, but it much busier on the Saturday at the same time.
Very relaxing and would recommend.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lisamarieauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,268
    794
    226
    61
    35
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

If considering going near/through Hanmer Springs and you have the time, I'd recommend a visit. $20 adult entry and stay as long as you want, closing at 9.30pm. They have multiple thermal pools, including three smelly sulphur pools for you to enjoy. There are Aqua-therapy pools with invigorating jets to help loosen up any tight back, shoulder, leg muscles you may have; Rock pools which are heated at ~39 degrees; and there are heated thermal pools to simply sit and relax in. I'd say the aqua-therapy pools are far better than having a massage!

Not only that, they have a great kiddies area and a pretty fun ride for the young at heart too.

There is also the facilities of the day spa if you'd like to add other luxury to your visit. There is a cafe, locker for your bag and you can finish with a hot shower before dressing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shazza_123_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were here for approximately 2 hours trying different pools, the water is quite warm to hot and most relaxing almost going off to sleep! Strongly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Relaxing and therapeutic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Hanmer was a gem of a place to visit during a busy coach tour of New Zealand and an afternoon at the pools and Spa was heaven. After a brilliant back massage several hours dipping into the various pools heated thermally to varying temperatures eased away the ache's, pains and stresses of travel and set us up for the next stage of the tour. In a word"brilliant"

Helpful?
Thank MikeP388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolleston
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“we will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

it has been years since last in hamner spings and the pools. took the grand children and daughter inlaw for the weekend the kids just loved the pools. we spent all day there and took a picnic lunch. the kids were very upset when we had to leave. the kids area is fantastic the lazy river was so much fun the wife and I loved the hot pools very relaxing. recommend signing up for the discount card. great saving on entance fee can be had. we will be back soon and would highly recommend for a great day out

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndrewRolleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing