We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to end a day of travel”

Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.88*
and up
Hanmer Springs Natural Thermal Pools Admission Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great way to end a day of travel”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very well set up - even with lifeguards to ensure safety. The variety of pools at different temperatures means you can always find one to relax in. Changing facilities were good. Only disadvantage is that it is so popular some of the pools were overcrowded at times.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TooKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,359
    825
    235
    63
    35
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hot, hot, hot”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We dropped in to Hanmer Springs whilst visiting friends in Christchurch on a whistle stop tour of New Zealand. We only had a couple of hours in the hot pools which was quite enough time to spend in hot and in some cases very high in sulfur water. The pools are graduated and you can choose from quite warm to quite hot and hop back and forth between them, although even in summer it feels very cold when you get out. It was certainly an experience and I'm really glad we did it, the only down side was that we missed the sign that said "remove jewelry" and ended up with some very black silver!! Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob_and_Trish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Know Before You Go: More Theme Park than Nature Park”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

It's important to manage expectations for your experience here - based on our time in NZ prior to visiting the pools we were expecting a more natural experience, instead we found that this place is stuck between a theme park and public pool. There were private spas available, which we didn't try, so that may help things a bit...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank The2Welches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ever expanding”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Every time we have been here the complex has grown with more and more to do. We only did the pools this time but you can go from sulphur pools around 41C to the coolest pool which is around 28C. Plenty of lifeguards wandering as well for peace if mind....

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tiger96_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great place to relax”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was a great experience the thermal pools and spa are just so relaxing and great to unwind.
There are several pools which vary in temperature also vary in the amount of sulphur. Some have massage jets and you just come out feeling amazing. Some of the pools have views to the snow capped mountains. A must if staying in Hanmer Springs.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank suzieqlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing