We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Clear Ridge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clear Ridge Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved Clear Ridge”
Reviewed August 30, 2008

A friend and I stayed here for 2 nights and absolutely loved it. The apartment was spacious and had a beautiful view. The spa bath unit didn't cost any extra and was great. The kitchen had everything you would need. We wished we had gone with a larger group of people as there was a 6 seater dining table and plenty of couch room. The website pictures of the units and location don't really do it justice. Plenty of heating with a heat pump and electric blankets on the beds.
The decorating was cosy and had extras that made it feel homey. Absolutely spotless with a separate loo to the bathroom.
The balcony caught the sun in the afternoon and the parking was free. It was very reasonably priced.
The people running the place didn't seem to have our reservation, (although I'd made it over the phone), but since we easily got a room that exceeded our expectations, we didn't mind at all.
Hanmer itself is gorgeous, very relaxing. Its much quieter during the working week than the weekend, so if going on a weekend, book ahead for spa treatments and dinner reservations (we went to the restaurant in the Spas, which was reasonably priced, menu spot on and service was great).

  • Liked — cosy and spacious
  • Disliked — nothing - it was great
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jean094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    34
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
55
80
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

We stayed here for our honeymoon and found the price extremely reasonable for such a beautiful place. The room we stayed in was spacious and comfortable, with a huge bath, wonderful LCD TVs and full kitchen and clothes washing and drying facilities. We had a gorgeous view of the hills and the golf course.

I recommend the cold platters the hosts do. We went to have a massage at the Spa and when we came back there was a lovely selection of breads, meats, sauces and other goodies waiting for us in the fridge.

Overall this was such a fantastic place to stay and I would definately recommend it to others.

  • Liked — I loved the layout of the room, it was so spacious and a lot of effort had gone into the planning.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chile_chicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2008

The apartment was the best fitted out in our whole stay in NZ. The large kitchen included a washing machine, dryer and dish washer. The lounge had a huge flat screen tv, comfortable couch and large dining table. We had a first floor apartment with a large balcony. There was also a small gym we could use.

The owners were very helpful, giving us information and also providing towels for the hot thermal springs for a small charge (less than the springs wanted).

Everything was within a short walk of the apartment. Would stay again if we were going to Hamner.

  • Liked — spacious well appointed accomadation
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaclak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2008

Wow this place was amazing! We stayed here right near the end of our honeymoon - I wanted to suprise my new husband on his birthday and I certainly did!

The decor in this place is gorgeous, very modern and stylish. The bathroom is clean and sparkling, and has the biggest, comfiest bath I've ever seen! We spent all afternoon at the hot pools and still enjoyed the bath in the evening. The kitchen is big - very well equipped, perfect for a long stay. And the big screen TV's were definitely the best part.

We only spent one night - you would definitely want to make the most of this place though, and stay longer!

It was also very affordable, only $200 a night - probably the most we paid while we were in NZ, but for everything you get, its well worth it.

If you want to spoil yourself with a touch of luxury at an affordable price, this is definitely the place! I would also highly recommend making the most of the spa at the springs, with an hour long massage followed by 1/2 hour in a private pool, absolute bliss!

  • Liked — All the luxurious inclusions
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank carousel266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2007

Absolutely gorgeous town, absolutely gorgeous accommodation.
We booked directly with Clearridge and they were kind enough to upgrade our room free of charge because we were on our honeymoon. The room was stunning - more like a well set-up home than a hotel, everything was of the best quality and much effort had gone into the feel of the place.
Beautiful views, very close to the hot springs and town, many nice places to eat nearby.... bliss!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle_moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2007

Top marks for interior design and the most tasteful accommodation we have ever stayed in. Plasmas in both bedrooms and lounge, great fit out (everything is where it should be), comfy beds with sumptuous coverings and superb views to snow capped mountains from lounge and main bdr! BYO breakfast or other foodstuffs and you will find all the utensils you need to dine in. Why go out when the ambience here cannot be matched anywhere else in town?

Convenient short walk to shops/pub/hot springs and the apartment also
had a washer/dryer which worked out brilliantly as our 7 year old had
decided to take a dip in a creek the previous evening fully dressed! Friendly hosts who provided extra towels to take to the hot springs ($2 each to hire) and lent a childrens DVD at no charge. Not the cheapest accommodation around @$280 per night but absolutely worth it. Stayed one night, wished we had stayed a week! Rare to find this degree of quality in NZ.

  • Liked — So luxurious
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blinkybill11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2007

Sensational luxurious room with quality fittings and comfortable sofas and beds.

Absolutely stunning.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank nudels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalets Motel
Chalets Motel
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
#1 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clear Ridge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clear Ridge Apartments

Property: Clear Ridge Apartments
Address: Corner Jacks Pass Road & Chisholm Crescent, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Clear Ridge Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLEAR RIDGE | Hanmer Springs offers luxury, indulgence and exemplary hospitality to match. The hotel is located on Jacks Pass Road and within a 2 minute short walk to the thermal pools and the village centre. The five star qualmark boutique hotel is designed to cater to both leisure and business travellers, be it for families, couples or an independent traveller. Clear Ridge offers self-contained deluxe suites in the form of one or two bedroom luxury apartments. The Hotel boasts of some of the best views in Hanmer Springs. Clear Ridge by Mandaara Hotels, Resorts and Hideouts - A style to Remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Clear Ridge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing