We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clear Ridge Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A lovely apartment”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night and we very pleased with the apartment which was a 2 bedroom one on the 1st floor with a balcony and lovely views. The apartment is very well appointed and has plenty of room. The kitchen had everything required for a longer stay and there is also a washing machine and dryer tucked away in a cupboard. The king sized bed was extremely comfortable and we had a good nights sleep.
The bathroom had a double spa bath with a shower over which I can see may be attractive in the colder weather but I prefer a walk in shower.
I was surprised that no green tea was provided for guests as this is standard most places I have stayed in over the past few years. Although free internet access is provided, like another reviewer we wanted wifi.
I found the manager rather rude when we first arrived - no welcome just a form slapped down to sign and it gave me a very bad first impression. He did seem a bit stressed but this is no excuse, particularly at a 5 star establishment
The location of the apartments is very handy to both the shops and pool complex.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    34
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
55
80
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Great accommodation in very good location...Very handy to town. Great bath. Were happy with room...great view but very disappointed with the standard of servicing given they advertise it as a 5 star apartment.. Found dental floss on lounge floor when we checked in. Gave option of reusing towels or leaving them on floor to be replaced. When we came back room had been serviced but towel was still on floor. Toilet hadnt been cleaned, bench hadnt been made. Bed made very roughly. Although we enjoyed our stay, felt the servicing really let the place down.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sangemclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Fantastically positioned and appointed apartments. Right in the centre of the Alpine Alps of Hanmer Springs. Everything on the one level with a set of lifts to accommodate the elderly if necessary.

Very nice facilities, everything you could possibly need to look after yourself for a short stay.

Peter S Brisbane Qld

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJS1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Absolutely gorgeous two bedroom apartment we had... Free Internet but we needed wifi. Spacious, nice self contained apartment with washing machine and dryer... Just like home. Very comfortable and friendly manager, Steve. Best shower... Great hot water pressure!!! If we come back to Hanmer Springs.. we will be back. Perfect accommodation... Very easy walk to the Village....and restaurants, hot springs.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brettnjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

What a scurrilous review from dm b who appears to live in Hanmer Springs! There is no way the son could have got bitten at this luxury accommodation. Did the parents seek a diagnosis? Perhaps he's allergic to his nasty relative? We have just left after 4 wonderful nights. Most comfortable bed of our whole South Island trip and we have been traveling 5 star all the way. LUXURY! Crisp, spotless linen with upmarket bedding. High class fabrics on all the plush couches. Large flat screen TV in the lounge with another two, one in each bedroom. Modern fully equipped kitchen with dish drawer. Nothing was too much trouble for our host Steve and we certainly were a challenge for him at times! We would recommend these fabulous apartments to anyone who is as choosy as us about cleanliness, ambiance, service and those luxuries it is hard to find these days. The lunch platter Steve did for us on our second day was not only a work of art but unbelievably scrumptious and fed us for dinner as well!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We recently stayed here and my son now has hundreds of bug bites which must have originated from the bed that he used at the Clear Ridge Apartments. Now we are sanitizing his clothing, bedding, etc. Not worth it!

P.S. Elevator did not work half the time....and that's not all.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank dm b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spoggels, Owner at Clear Ridge Apartments, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Unfortunately the person making this comment has not contacted me in any way but by Tripaviser .
This matter has been taken very seriously and a thorough inspection of all beds in all units has been undertaken by a industry approved contractor . I am delighted to advise that there was absolutely no trace of any infestation .
Should the author of this complaint wish to contact me i would be delighted to provide the results of my investigation.
I can also advise that there was an issue with the life not working but this matter was addressed as soon as the servicemen was able to travel to Hanmer Springs as he was situated in Christchurch and thats a 90 min drive away ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Location great, and rooms really comfortable and well fitted. Steve was very welcoming and cooks a great breakfast. The outlook from the room was beautiful. You must book dinner at Power house restaurant as the meal was one of the best we had in New Zealand and only a short stroll from the unit.

Room Tip: Book the Deal with the Spa included
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gtrain217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#11 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clear Ridge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clear Ridge Apartments

Property: Clear Ridge Apartments
Address: Corner Jacks Pass Road & Chisholm Crescent, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Clear Ridge Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLEAR RIDGE | Hanmer Springs offers luxury, indulgence and exemplary hospitality to match. The hotel is located on Jacks Pass Road and within a 2 minute short walk to the thermal pools and the village centre. The five star qualmark boutique hotel is designed to cater to both leisure and business travellers, be it for families, couples or an independent traveller. Clear Ridge offers self-contained deluxe suites in the form of one or two bedroom luxury apartments. The Hotel boasts of some of the best views in Hanmer Springs. Clear Ridge by Mandaara Hotels, Resorts and Hideouts - A style to Remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clear Ridge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing