We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best motel in Hanmer by far”
Review of Settlers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Settlers Motel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best motel in Hanmer by far”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Had a great stay at Settlers , this motel is perfect. The hosts are very proffessional and friendly. I would recommend to anyone, after 30 years of travelling around NZ for business and pleasure this accomodation rates in my top 5.
The location is perfect for walking to many resturants and bars.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Many thanks for your review of our Motel. It is much appreciated and we certainly try to ensure we are one of the best Motels (if not the best!) in the Village. We are glad you had a positive experience and we look forward to your return one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    74
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
117
380
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The site of the Motel was perfect, being on the edge of town and thus both close enough to walk to town but further enough to escape the noise. The room was of a high level of comfort, with plenty of space. The staff were very friendly and were very available to assist. Would definitely recommend the motel and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Back room has a nice outdoor area for breakfasts and lunches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debstar55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your review regarding our motel and we are glad you and your family enjoyed the Settlers experience. Yes we do have a great location, just a short walk to restaurants and shops and of course the Thermal Pools. We look forward to welcoming you back some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

After a whirlwind few days bouncing around the greater area of the Canterbury Plains, our final two days were in Hanmer Springs. We stayed at the the Settlers, and it was lovely. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room layout and facilities fantastic, and it was a very short wander onto the main drag where the restaurants were and most importantly the hot springs.

I would go back there without hesitation

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pumbah_pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are so glad you enjoyed spending such a special occasion at Settlers! We hope to welcome you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed here for Valentines day and it was GREAT. Nice room decor. Close to all facilities. Very friendly staff. We've stayed in few places in Hanmer Springs but this one was definitely the best. Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SZIKOSZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Many thanks for your review and for choosing Settlers to celebrate Valentine's Day!
We are pleased to hear you had a great time and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had a great stay at the Settliers Motel in January. Really good welcome, with plenty of advice, guidance and genuine interest in our travels around New Zealand. The room was very clean and comfortable, up a flight of stairs which may be difficult with luggage for some. Parking right outside. Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoCool3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write a review on Settlers and we are pleased to hear you had a great stay! We are most happy to carry bags up and down the stairs, if you require an upstairs room! We look forward to your return some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed a night in Hamner Springs at the Settler's - was one of the nicest stays we had on our trip around the South Island. Really lovely and friendly hosts who made sure we were happy and comfortable even though our stay was short. Everything included with the price - wifi, kitchen, laundry, towels to use at the spings, you name it. The rooms are nicely appointed and the furniture is beautiful hardwood - apparantley made by the original owner who was a carpenter. Very quiet and restful. Very close proximity to local food and of course the springs. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to ensure our guests are comfortable and relaxed and have a happy time at Settlers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have stayed at the Settlers Motel several times and have always found it first class. Excellent rooms, always very clean and good quality furnishings. Nice touches like wi-fi, toiletries, towels for the pools etc. Very courteous reception! I would recommend to anyone stopping over in Hanmer
Peter Wilby

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterWilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about Settlers. It is much appreciated and we are glad that we have become your favourite place to stop in Hanmer Springs. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
694 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
293 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
503 reviews
3.4 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Property: Settlers Motel
Address: 6 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#1 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Settlers Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SETTLERS MOTEL is a 5 star boutique motel carefully designed for your comfort and privacy. With relaxing decor and quality fittings you can be assured of a totally rejuvenating holiday, short break or romantic weekend away in superb accommodation which has that special touch. We are situated just 60 metres from Amuri Avenue in lovely tranquil surroundings with no street or traffic noise. We are a Qualmark 5 Star rated motel - Self Contained and Serviced - "Exceptional, among the best available in New Zealand." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Hotel Hanmer Springs
Settlers Motel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing