We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Settlers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Settlers Motel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great location - walking distance to restaurants and the hot pools. Alan and Sally were fantastic hosts and the rooms were comfortable and cosy. The chocolates on the bed were a nice touch! We would definitely stay at Settlers again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura_vR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our motel. We are certainly a pleasant walk to everywhere! no need for your car when you stay at Settlers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    73
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
112
373
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This place is awesome, it's the only place we stay when we come to Hanmer now. We are regulars because it is such a great place and friendly hosts, will be back for sure. We even have a favorite room that we request when we stay. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellykez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we are so glad you now have a 'favourite' room to return to!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolleston, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Wonderful stay, great staff and certainly the cleanest motel that I have stayed in for a long time. Settlers Motel will now be my "go to place" when I visit Hanmer Springs from now on. The little extras were a pleasant surprise from the real coffee and bickies to the bath bomb to go in my spa bath.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
thank you for your feedback on Settlers and we are glad you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so pleased to here that Settlers Hanmer will be your ' place to go' next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed at Settlers based on tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. Motel owners were away but the people looking after it in their absence were fantastic.
Clean, comfortable and homely rooms were great. Only stayed one night but would of liked to stay longer. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisTravellerKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad you were well looked after in our absence. We look forward to your return to Hanmer Springs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Loved the unit we had with its own heat pump - so very warm and cosy. Really nicely appointed unit with huge bathroom and nice amenities. Excellent laundry which was free of charge. Very good location - just a short walk to the pools and towns restaurants. Wish we had stayed more than one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citylights10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Manager at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
thank you for your review of Settlers and we hope you can stay for longer next time! We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I found Settlers Motel by pure chance while driving through Hanmer Springs and we were fortunate enough to book the last room for that weekend. And what a beautiful, cosy, warm room it was! Exactly what you want after spending the day at the hot springs which is a very short walk away. The service and friendliness of the owners was very welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrettyPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review on our motel. We are glad you found everything cosy and to your satisfaction. We hope to welcome you back some time in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We love this place so much its become an essential stop off when leaving the South Island for home. Alan and Sally have thought of every accessory you may need whilst away, the rooms are spotless, and service family style. Very helpful and obliging hosts. Will be seeing you again in March 2014.
Cheers,
Bob n Anne

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eaglehaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We both really appreciate you taking the time to write the review and we do endeavour to make our motel home from home and a memorable stay.
We are glad you were warm and cosy, a must during our winter months! We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
672 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
287 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
492 reviews
3.4 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Property: Settlers Motel
Address: 6 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#1 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Settlers Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SETTLERS MOTEL is a 5 star boutique motel carefully designed for your comfort and privacy. With relaxing decor and quality fittings you can be assured of a totally rejuvenating holiday, short break or romantic weekend away in superb accommodation which has that special touch. We are situated just 60 metres from Amuri Avenue in lovely tranquil surroundings with no street or traffic noise. We are a Qualmark 5 Star rated motel - Self Contained and Serviced - "Exceptional, among the best available in New Zealand." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Hotel Hanmer Springs
Settlers Motel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing