We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Settlers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Settlers Motel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Great place”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I can not say enough about this Motel. Very clean, very nice rooms and very nice staff. But I have to say more because this has to be a min of 200 characters. Still not there. We had a meal at the Monteiths. very nice. Then the next day we went to the Cafe in the same little block of shops. After 1/2 an hour I went and asked for our money back as we still had not go our food.Greg

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    74
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
116
380
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed in a spa studio for two nights and had a lovely luxury experience. Great location, easy walking distance to thermal pools and town. Staff very friendly and helpful and room felt like a high end hotel yet homely. Free Wifi was very useful and it was nice to have more than the usual 100mb of other places. Everything about my stay was positive, except that it wasn't long enough. I highly recommend to anyone wanting a bit of luxury when away!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becljames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our motel and your Settlers Experience. We find the reviews very helpful as the comfort and enjoyment of our guests is important to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Settlers, Hanmer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

this was just one of those nights when you are sick of driving and just need to rest for the night. So onto the ipad and there it was, a place we had not stayed at before but looked ok.
We went for a King room with a Spa. Went to town to get some supplies then back for a soak, a glass of wine, a feed and a really good and quite nights sleep. It is back from the main road which was great.
We had an in-house breakfast then hit the road.
This is now where we will stay in the future as we make the trip from Nelson to Christchurch reasonably regularly. Too close to Christchurch on the way home.
The hot pools can be quite busy and not cheap so spend the extra and get a unit with a spa.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a spa, it is worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Love Hamner Apartment which is part of the Settlers Motel. It was excellent, really could not fault anything, perfect location, had all the amenities and more! Great corner bath on the deck and very private, many thanks we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed with my family over christmas, was really impressed with the place!! modern clean rooms and such a good location to the town. The free wifi was fast an easy to use. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The all-inclusive price of this motel, combined with with a generous and warm welcome, excellent faciities, and close location to the springs makes this an unbeatable place to stay. My laundry was done for me and tumble dried while we were at the springs, for no extra charge and, after a long day driving, this was so appreciated. Wi- fi also very good if you need it!

Room Tip: No need for tips about rooms. The lcoartion is in a side street sop no worries about noise or traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burnett-the-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights for a special birthday celebration and had booked the room with jacuzzi as a treat. It was all and much more than we had expected. Extremely comfortable room with a divine bed and beautiful linen. We liked it so much that we didn't feel like venturing out much. The bathroom was spotless and we enjoyed soaking in the bath while it was snowing outside (we were there in August).
Would definitely recommend it and will stay again next time we're back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
693 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
293 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
502 reviews
3.4 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Property: Settlers Motel
Address: 6 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#1 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Settlers Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SETTLERS MOTEL is a 5 star boutique motel carefully designed for your comfort and privacy. With relaxing decor and quality fittings you can be assured of a totally rejuvenating holiday, short break or romantic weekend away in superb accommodation which has that special touch. We are situated just 60 metres from Amuri Avenue in lovely tranquil surroundings with no street or traffic noise. We are a Qualmark 5 Star rated motel - Self Contained and Serviced - "Exceptional, among the best available in New Zealand." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Hotel Hanmer Springs
Settlers Motel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing