We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing short of Blissful.”
Review of Settlers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Settlers Motel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nothing short of Blissful.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Most flyers and websites give a better impression of the accommodation than you find - this is not the case for the Settlers. The photos don't do justice to the excellent quality and design of the facilities. And what a picture can't convey is the warmth and friendliness of Sally and Alan. The attention to detail is superb - at every turn, when I thought - "it would be good to have' - I looked and it was there.

On the practical side, the free towels, laundry, daily newspaper and HUGE DVD selection are a real bonus and the location is perfect for making the most the Hanmer Springs has to offer. The views of the Alps from my terrace was wonderful.

The Settlers is the best Motel I've stayed in for a long time. I'm only sorry I couldn't stay longer!

Room Tip: I would imagine that all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
thank you for your feedback and we are so glad we exceeded expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    73
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
112
373
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Settlers Motel is just great. It's a motel that goes the extra mile- from daily news paper, free dvds and beach towels.

I stayed in the premium room for the additional cost and do recommend this. It's gives greater privacy and a larger room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chantal u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

The room was superb as we were staying 2 nights we were upgraded. All the amenities are included. Wifi laundry all at no charge. The hosts are lovely. Highly recommend and will be back. A short walk to all local amenities make this a great quiet spot to stay

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GnRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great quiet location off the main street yet short walk to everything. Very clean, comfortable, modern rooms with everything you could need. We stayed in a 2 bedroom family room at the back of the complex and it had a quiet and private courtyard also.Very friendly hosts. Free laundry and they happily supply extra towels if needed for the springs. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg1522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the Settlers after being booked in there as part of the Hanmer Springs "pamper plus" package.

I have no complaints whatsoever. The room we had was large, clean, and comfortable. Reception was very friendly and helpful. Location was ideal.

We actually overslept on the morning of our departure, and there was no problem with us booking out late so we could have a shower and get sorted.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunthediver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

There are a lot of accommodation options in Hanmer Springs, however the Settlers Motel stands out amongst the rest. It is a great motel which is well located to town. Imacculately clean, the Settlers provides a well equipped kitchenette in a good sized, nicely decorated studio room. Complimentary laundry facilities and DVDs are available. Staff are friendly and accommodating. There were no grassy play areas for young children as the rooms look out at the motel carpark, but this was not a problem for us, we would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Al_Linda81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

we arrived three hours early and knew that our rooms would not be ready but asked if we could leave our car in the car park and head into Hanmer. We were blown away by the response we had-one room was ready so we could check straight into that one, they appologised that the second room was not ready but made us aware that it would be in an hour. Allan showed us to our private car space and then up to our gorgeous room where everything was explained to us (how to use the card for lights, air conditioning etc) They kept appologising that our second room was not ready (three hours before check in time) which was such a surprise, we have never been made more welcome anywhere we have stayed. Such interest they showed in us too and the rooms were amazing. We truly felt welcome and comfortable as if we were in our own home. Thank you so muh for such amazing hospitality, from now on we will only stay at Settlers motel when visiting Hanmer there is no reason to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
672 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
287 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
492 reviews
3.4 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Property: Settlers Motel
Address: 6 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Settlers Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SETTLERS MOTEL is a 5 star boutique motel carefully designed for your comfort and privacy. With relaxing decor and quality fittings you can be assured of a totally rejuvenating holiday, short break or romantic weekend away in superb accommodation which has that special touch. We are situated just 60 metres from Amuri Avenue in lovely tranquil surroundings with no street or traffic noise. We are a Qualmark 5 Star rated motel - Self Contained and Serviced - "Exceptional, among the best available in New Zealand." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Hotel Hanmer Springs
Settlers Motel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing