We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Convenient Location and Friendly Staff!”
Review of Settlers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Settlers Motel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Super Convenient Location and Friendly Staff!”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We really liked this place. It was so easy to walk into town from here. Very restful stop over!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    73
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
113
373
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This motel is run perfectly. Everything was 'spot on', complimentary towels for the pools & DVD's.
The host was very friendly and helpful. The room was beautifully presented with little luxuries which make a stay a very special one, magazines in the room, extra towels, bathroom extras, biscuits & chocolates. The continential breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janbru_2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Have stayed here a couple of times now and would recommend for those wanting a quiet and relaxing break. The motel is located within easy walking distance of the pools and the town centre. The rooms are well appointed and very clean.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Stayed here a few years ago it's still just as good it's got all you need & more & a great bed !!! We had 3 nights here very quiet & relaxing

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toniioverend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We loved staying here and going to the Hot pools. The hotel was fabulous with free wi-fi in the rooms, Sky tv channels and heaps of free dvds for us to borrow. We had a ball hanging out in the room together, going to the fantastic hot pools (towels provided by the hotel), eating out in the great eateries and biking around town on the 4 person bikes (oh, and going to the lolly shop). We were hoping it would snow but it kept away until the week after we visited. Would absolutely visit again and would definately stay here again - lots of added extras which made the stay a real treat (even having no hot water for 12 hours couldn't dampen my enthusiasm!!).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Very friendly welcome. Room was large, warm and well presented. Always a good sign is the quality of the coffee provided. Good kitchen, good size TV's in lounge and bedroom. There is a diary left by past clients which was a nice touch. Good to read what others have done and recommended. Bed was a bit hard but room well presented. Good range od DVD's and can use towels at hot pools. Will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseandTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Lovely cosy well eqiupped motel, very clean, nice toiletries. We stayed in a studio room which was quite small. Loved the free DVD library, weather wasn't the best for the 2 nights we stayed so we made the most of the DVDs. Only thing that spoiled my sleep the first night was the fridge making a loud clicking noise, got up in the early hours of the night to unplug it. Switched the whole thing off before going to bed the second night!
We recommend the restaurant Malabar.

Room Tip: Studio room was quite small but perfectly comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travels19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
682 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
289 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
497 reviews
3.4 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Property: Settlers Motel
Address: 6 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#1 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Settlers Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SETTLERS MOTEL is a 5 star boutique motel carefully designed for your comfort and privacy. With relaxing decor and quality fittings you can be assured of a totally rejuvenating holiday, short break or romantic weekend away in superb accommodation which has that special touch. We are situated just 60 metres from Amuri Avenue in lovely tranquil surroundings with no street or traffic noise. We are a Qualmark 5 Star rated motel - Self Contained and Serviced - "Exceptional, among the best available in New Zealand." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Hotel Hanmer Springs
Settlers Motel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing