We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best ~ all you could ask for and more.”
Review of Settlers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Settlers Motel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Ingleton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Simply the best ~ all you could ask for and more.”
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Settlers was just fantastic. There was a warm welcome to this fantastic Motel. The room was large, beautifully clean, well fitted out with everything we could want. It was air conditioned, the linens were crisp & clean, and the bathroom was large and very well fitted out. Settlers had washing facilites, towels to take across to the hot springs, DVD's and a selection of books available (all free of charge). We thought it couldn't be bettered.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babsdranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    73
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
113
373
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

The staff at Settlers Motel were very friendly and welcoming. We booked the Honeymoon suite with the double jacuzzi bath, which was great and we wished we hadn't bothered to visit the hot pools later!!
We travelled with my brother and his wife and they stayed in a King Spa room nearby.
Our suite was very well equipped and we cooked dinner for all of us. The weather was lovely and we ate outside. The bed was extremely comfortable and we enjoyed a good night's sleep before travelling on to Hokitika.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreabocelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We only had a one night stay and having seen flyers for this place all over the south island after we had made a reservation we were a little worried we were going to come across an underwhelming experience desperately trying to rustle up some more business. in fact the folks at Settlers just run a very slick operation. Travelling with a small infant they had not only provided a travel cot and bedding as requested but also put us into a family unit complete with slide and sandpit in an enclosed garden area. The kitchen was fully equipped with lots of little extras like a proper tea pot, decent teas and plunger coffee, cling film, spray oil - just little things that aren't essential but make the experience just that little bit easier when you are changing location everyday and don't need to be karting the kitchen sink with you. Two TVs meant the oldies could watch the news whilst bedtime DVDs from the extensive selection in reception could be viewed. Oh and lots of fluffy white towels to take over to the hot springs across the road. Staff were very warm and welcoming and you could hard;y believe the structure has been there 8 years as the rooms and facilities look about 6 months old. A really great, well thought through motel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hrhmaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Clean, tidy, modern and comfortable.
Provided travel cot and baby bath and actually up[graded us to a more suitable room (at no charge).
Would highly recommend The Settlers in Hanmer Springs!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCobblesKelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

We stayed in a studio one night then a 1 bedroom unit the next (late bookingby us). Everything here is high quality including Allan and Sally the owners. It is the little extras that make a stay that much better. Things like air freshner, small chocolate, free DVD library, free laundry, hugh car park spaces, nice and quiet.
Just a couple of minutes walk to town centre and some nearby bush walks.
Want to go back in the winter to experience the snow on the hills.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisjoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed in the two bedroom chalet which is located quite separately from the motel and backs on to the forest walk to Conical Hill. This wall kitted out and there was everything we needed to look after ourselves for the two days we stayed. The outdoor bath on the deck needs a special mention. There was a very friendly song bird who woke us up at a respectable time each morning but what a way to wake up.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatchNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Good sleep in comfortable bed (firm enough mattress) with nice bed linens. Quiet, no noise from waterpipes, neighbouring rooms or street. Eco-friendly and ethical detergent and soap. Nice flat-screen TV with SKY Movies, free DVD library, free internet, free laundry machines and towels to use at the thermal pools – all appreciated. Nicely equipped kitchenette, including scissors, measuring cup, plastic wrap. Alan showed me to the room and explained how to use things. Also gave me a map and recommendations for walking paths.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCNtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
682 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
289 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
497 reviews
3.4 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Property: Settlers Motel
Address: 6 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Settlers Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SETTLERS MOTEL is a 5 star boutique motel carefully designed for your comfort and privacy. With relaxing decor and quality fittings you can be assured of a totally rejuvenating holiday, short break or romantic weekend away in superb accommodation which has that special touch. We are situated just 60 metres from Amuri Avenue in lovely tranquil surroundings with no street or traffic noise. We are a Qualmark 5 Star rated motel - Self Contained and Serviced - "Exceptional, among the best available in New Zealand." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Hotel Hanmer Springs
Settlers Motel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing