We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We really liked our room. Very clean and nice looking. A place is not far away from hot springs, but we went there by car as you still have to walk there for 10-15 minutes. Our heating system was not working good and owner gave us their heater, which was nice from their side. The only thin g that we didn't like was a restaraunt, which owner advised us. Restaraunt has very good interior and exterior, but food was terrible (meat was uncooked and rise balls contained some frozen pieces inside). And my husband was poisoned, didn't sleep half a night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valeria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your room and stay at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge but very concerned to read of your husbands experience. I have discussed your feedback with the Chef on the night also.
We hope your enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand.
Kind regards
Kim, Warren and the team at the Hot Springs Motor Lodhe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    94
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
49
166
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Coopers Beach, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Hot springs motor lodge was a really lovely place to stay. Rooms with beautiful mountain views and really nice and clean. A very good restaurant also on site, a place not to miss, also handy to the pools.
Dennis and Trish Breckon

Room Tip: upstairs for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denn_trish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Hello Dennis and Trish, thank you for your lovely recommendation of our property. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the South Island
Kind regards
Kim, Warren and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Loved our stay as part of the couples pamper package thru the isite in hanmer. My husband dislocated his shoulder the week before and they were super accomodating, even offering to postpone our weekend away if we wanted.
Upgraded our room for free too!
Not too far walk from the hot pools

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room for an amazing view and balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beck20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for your posting your review on your stay with us. The Pamper Pack is a lovely gift idea for people who are wanting to visit Hanmer Springs. I hope your husbands shoulder is now mended and look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.
Kind regards
Kim, Warren and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

What an absolute gem! This hotel is 5 star at 3 star prices for me.
Clean, roomy, wonderful kingsize bed plus a single, microwave, sink, toaster, cutlery, dishes, super super strong steaming hot shower, lovely towels, toiletries and linen.
Table, 2 comfy sofa singles. Industrial washer and dryer on premises at $3 each, lovely friendly reception.
On the plus side also, there is a fabulous restaurant/bar on the premises, the meals are great value, the waitress lovely and we wished we were staying longer.
Highly recommend, 2 min drive or leisurely walk to pools and town centre, to die for views.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kezCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you Kazcairns for your review, We are pleased to see you enjoyed the facilities we offer and the Five Stags Restaurant Bar connected to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us on your next visit to New Zealand.
Kind regards
Kim and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Hostess was very helpful. Room large and comfortable (but lacked airconditioning during a hot spell). Cooking facilities are a microwave only. Convenient to the village although we chose to drive there. Free WiFi.

Room Tip: Traffic noise if windows are opened in Rooms 8-10 which happen to have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pasummers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your review on your stay with us at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge. We were pleased to read you enjoyed your stay, although a bit too hot. On the day of your stay we reached nearly 36 degrees, hard to imagine in winter we have snow on the ground. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand
Kind regards
Kim and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Arrived late due to our flights and had to phone the manager on duty (Jill) she was very pleasant and accommodating. The room was great, huge comfy bed and no issues at all. Shame we couldn't have stayed longer. Thank you would definitely recommend it

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kazz9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge. On your next visit to the South Island you will have to schedule in a longer stay. Thank you for your recommendation
Kind regards
Kim and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was lovely, it was clean and tidy, it was a pleasure to stay here! The room I was in had three single beds with a kitchenette, spacious bathroom and access to a outdoor eating area! The bar was great although a bit pricey... Breakfast was average! Overall great place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmh222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge - we were pleased to see you enjoyed your room and the outdoor area. We look forward to welcoming you back one day
Kind regards
Kim and the team at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
693 reviews
0.7 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
147 reviews
3.1 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
307 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Springs Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Springs Motor Lodge

Property: Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Address: 35 Hanmer Springs Road | PO Box 115, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hot Springs Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Hanmer Springs scenic surroundings while relaxing in one of our modern, clean and comfortable accommodation units. We have 32 modern, spacious units including studios, spa units, and luxury 1 and 2-bedroom spa apartments. Each Motel has either a king-size bed or king and a single, a kitchenette and an ensuite bathroom. No need to leave the complex either as we have a licensed restaurant adjoining the property - offering breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. On offer on Sunday mornings is a cooked / continental breakfast buffet which can be enjoyed at the Hot Springs Hotel from 8.30am, as well. Free guest BBQ also available. Sky TV, Free WiFi, BBQ area, Off-street parking, Mountain Bike storage and Guest Laundry are some of the facilities we offer to ensure your stay is comfortable. A 6-minute walk takes you to the thermal pools and village centre offering beauty treatments, fashion shopping, a variety of cafes, mini putt golf courses and a picturesque 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hot Springs Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hot Springs Motor Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hot Springs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing