We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to experience the hot springs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
New Berlin, WI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to experience the hot springs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This location was excellent for visiting the hot springs. We booked the relaxation/pamper package and this was the hotel we were placed in. The rooms are spacious, clean and had free wifi. The woman at the desk was very helpful and nice. You could walk through the trees across the road to the hot springs and it was also very close to the stores, restaurants and mini grocery store. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmelinaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for posting your review of the Hot Springs Motor Lodge, our location is close to all that the village offers and I was pleased to see you enjoyed this. With a good dusting of snow happening on the hills now it is an ideal time to revisit Hanmer Springs for a soak in the hot pools.
Kind regards
Kim Rogers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    91
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
48
161
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here around Anzac Day. We had two units. Rooms were modern - love the mirrors. Beds were great. Water pressure in shower was great. Large bathroom with decent size towels. Rooms backed onto a nice deck area with no view but we were here for the hot pools so it didn't bother us at all. We were downstairs which suits us better with one of our party less mobile than the rest. We didn't eat next door so can't comment on that. This is on the edge of town meaning it was quiet and a quick drive to the shops. Room lacked nothing we needed except when 3 people are in room maybe a stool so all three can sit at the table might be considered. Thanks for making our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CosmicCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for selecting to stay with us at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge, and for posting a review of your time with us. Your feedback is valuable to us and I have taken on board your comment re an extra chair when three in the room and will be looking into this. All in all I was pleased you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.
Kind regards
Kim Rogers
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nz
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were extremely happy to stay here! The room is very new, clean and very well maintained! The view from our room (upstairs) is stunning. Room décor is simple, yet luxurious. We book this room for the king size bed, and very pleased with it.....it was so comfortable! Love the cleanliness of the bathroom very much too. The host is nice and friendly. The only one thing that we regretted is we stayed only one night!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelearnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for posting such a lovely review on your stay with us. It is always rewarding to be able to pass on your lovely feedback to the team who look after our rooms every day to ensure you have a pleasant stay. we look forward to welcoming you back for more than one night soon
Kind regards
Kim Rogers
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a fantastic stay here. The rooms are extremely clean, fresh and modern. We ate at the restaurant which was great value and huge meals. It was also very kid friendly. The staff are extremely warm and friendly and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nztripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review on your stay you had with us here at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge. I was very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and the meal you had at the Hot Springs Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back one day
Kind regards
Kim Rogers
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Box Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our room was very spacious with enough room for a couch and coffee table. Everything was clean and modern. The bathroom was clean and relatively new. There was free wifi and parking.

The hotel is joined onto a pub which looked like it had decent food(you get 10% off), but its also a short walk into town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank random_ninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor in regards to your stay at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge. We were pleased to read your enjoyed your stay and the hearty meal you had at the Hotel adjacent to us and look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Kind regards
Kim Rogers
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here as part of a package deal. The staff were very friendly and somehow we were upgraded to a bigger studio unit. Lovely units. Bit further out of the town centre, but still not too far to be able to walk.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstyD24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello Kirsty, thank you for placing such a nice review of our property on Tripadvisor. We were pleased you enjoyed your upgrade, such a treat when not expecting it. The package deals are a really nice way of enjoying a visit to Hanmer Springs and look forward to returning to Hanmer Springs one day soon
Kind regards
Kim Rogers
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed there week on an Easter weekend and was very lucky to get this place not booking in advance. Price was about the same as every other motel asking for about $160. Lots of parking space.

I was really happy with cleanliness of everything (bathroom spotless and amazingly powerful shower) and great space in bathroom and main room, the friendly staff, and of course the fantastic view I had of the mountains, although be aware there are rooms that have a less spectacular view, but still great views, so ask.... !!!

The bed was great and I slept well, although I am also sure that was something to do with going for a run up a mountain and a nice hearty meal in the pub right across the way.

The walk to town and hot springs takes about 5 minutes and the walk is super pleasant. A few bike trails and walking trails nearby, too so definitely take advantage of the good location of the motel.

The only thing I would like a bit more of is Internet use. Motels across NZ seem to offer different plans where some offer 50MB free, which is a joke, while some offer 100, 250mb etc.. others offer time limits from 30mins up to 2 hours. I have not come across a free one, yet. Most annoying as some nights were dreadful and I stayed in to catch up on some work, but couldn't do anything.... Free Wi-Fi would make me way more satisfied, but Hot Springs offers limitations like all others, and so like all others in Hanmer that I browsed when looking round it is as good as any other. Free Wi-Fi would allow them to offer something the others don't...

Still, what a great place!!!

Room Tip: ask for rooms facing north towards town to see mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hall5456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello and thank you for placing such a lovely review of our property and your visit to Hanmer Springs. Hanmer Springs is a stunning place to visit and live as you mentioned. With you enjoying our cycle trails, a run up the mountain along with the alpine air you certainly would have had a great sleep.

With our WIFI I am sorry our lack of explanation is evident. Our WIFI is complimentary with a data cap , which can be topped up by visiting reception, if you require a top up. My apologies for clearly not explaining these details upon check in.

All in all I was pleased to read you had a great stay and although now back in the UK it would be great to welcome you back to Hanmer Springs one day
Kind regards
Kim Rogers
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.7 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Springs Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Springs Motor Lodge

Property: Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Address: 35 Hanmer Springs Road | PO Box 115, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#5 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hot Springs Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Hanmer Springs scenic surroundings while relaxing in one of our modern, clean and comfortable accommodation units. We have 32 modern, spacious units including studios, spa units, and luxury 1 and 2-bedroom spa apartments. Each Motel has either a king-size bed or king and a single, a kitchenette and an ensuite bathroom. No need to leave the complex either as we have a licensed restaurant adjoining the property - offering breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. On offer on Sunday mornings is a cooked / continental breakfast buffet which can be enjoyed at the Hot Springs Hotel from 8.30am, as well. Free guest BBQ also available. Sky TV, Free WiFi, BBQ area, Off-street parking, Mountain Bike storage and Guest Laundry are some of the facilities we offer to ensure your stay is comfortable. A 6-minute walk takes you to the thermal pools and village centre offering beauty treatments, fashion shopping, a variety of cafes, mini putt golf courses and a picturesque 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hot Springs Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hot Springs Motor Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hot Springs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing