We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere , nice service and great lamb shanks”
Review of O'Flynns Irish Pub

O'Flynns Irish Pub
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere , nice service and great lamb shanks”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was near where we were staying and on a cold night it was warm and welcoming. Young couple obviously trying to "make a go" of this. Unfortunately when we asked for the dessert menu they had to suggest we go to Monteith's next door. Even some ice cream and berries or something would keep people there. Not a good look to have to send customers to the opposition. We shared the salmon and the lamb shanks which were delicious.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeeDeeArusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    58
    23
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The worst meal”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We went to o'Flynns after the hot pools. There were 4 of us. After waiting too long we recieved our meals. They didn't look too bad. My husband ordered the stake. There was no way he could cut his meat and when he manage got rip it apart he said he can't eat this. I felt he overreacted until I tried some and as much as I chewed I had to actually remove it from my mouth as it was not only too tough and full of gristle but it tasted terrible. My hot pot was cold in parts and warm in other parts and the meat was tough and not enjoyable. My son in law ordered lamb shanks and said it was not the best but ate most of it. My daughter ordered salmon and loved it. I called the waiter and kindly mentioned my husband was having trouble eating his meat and I tried it and yes it was really inedable. We didn't mention the other meals as we didn't want to make too much of a fuss. Our waiter said he will talk to the chef. He didn't return to us and so I called him over. He said sorry but he spoke to the chef and yes the meat is a bad cut and they said they won't buy there meat from them again and there was nothing they could do about it. That's what you ordered, that's what you got. But we can offer you a free drink if you like. We were disgusted and said no thank you and left. We are being very lenient in our comments. We would not generally do this. First time. And we are not fussy eaters. Just a warning not to waste your money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kieren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Was just ok”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We decided to try the irish pub after our trip to the spa. We ordered a cheese dip, several beers, a lamb dinner and a very appealing looking salad. The bartenders/staff were very pleasant but the food wasn't very good. My husband isn't a picky eater but he said his meal was just ok. The atmosphere was great though.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Nice Irish pub with good atmosphere, great food and service. All the meals looked delicious and very well presented. Highly recommend the steak, stout and mushroom pie! Prices very reasonable too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristineMarlb0r0ugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anakiwa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb Food with Irish Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The bar and seating area was large with plenty of seating room. Lovely mixed Irish music playing in the background. Generous portions of food, well presented and extremely flavoursome. Very friendly, polite and attentive staff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Okiwa_Bay_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Flynns Irish Pub also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to O'Flynns Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing