We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Up and coming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpine Springs Motel
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Up and coming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

The English couple who now own this motel are working hard to upgrade it. Our apartment was very well-equipped and had a large spa bath. It is on the outskirts of the town but within walking distance of the shops, restaurants etc.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MabsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    12
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
27
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

Love love love love love!! This was our second stay and will continue to go back to a break away. The unit has everything in the kitchen - if you dont want to eat out , and the spa baths are just so relaxing... plenty of TV channels to view and only a hop skip and jump tot he golf course. See you again soon!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeshaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

Good motel with good facilities. Owners very helpful with suggestions of where to eat and what to do. Great to have a carport for our car (something we didn’t see in too many places) Our room was on the smallish side and little storage space available (notice others have commented on this). We were traveling for 5 ½ weeks so we each had a main suitcase and cabin bag. With room so small it was difficult to find somewhere to leave the cases without tripping over them. Pity really as this spoilt an otherwise good stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oztraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

We were guided here by the good reviews that this place has earned and we were not disappointed . The rooms were very clean and comfortable and only the best fittings had been used throughout, whoever built the place spared little expense to ensure that the guests would be very comfortable. The double spa is a great touch. It is not too far away from the township and thermal baths, a nice stroll around part of the golf course will get you there.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arko69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2009

These apartments are a little out of town but we appreciated the space and quiet being next to the golf course as it could have been a little noisy in the town. The main area of the apartment was quite spacious with a well-equipped and clean kitchen. However, the bedrooms were very small without any cupboards or places to put suitcases. Luckily we did not need to use the third bedroom so had all our belongings on the beds in there. We thought this very strange indeed as if you had more children I am not sure what you would do. Also there was a ginormous spa in the bathroom leaving little space for the toilet which was squished between the spa and the shower. If we had been in any way over a normal weight range the toilet would have been difficult or even impossible to use. My husband being an average size man had some difficulty using it. Again a little strange. Overall however, we enjoyed our stay here and the hosts were very nice although the male had a habit of repeatedly saying that they had to charge for everything as they got nothing for free due to being a business. Not sure what all that meant. Anyway it was pleasant enough staying here and either a short walk to the town or an even shorter drive. The springs were nice enough to spend a couple of hours but not sure I would bother coming to this town again if short of time.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottishsmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2008

Clean luxury cabins with 12 channel TV ,Double Spa, very new just 2 mins drive to Hanmer, next to Golf Course. They even give you towels to take into the Springs. A nice welcome pack also.
Very welcoming, luxury at an affordable price. Really scenic setting. Will be back some time.

  • Liked — Clean luxurious and a friendly welcome
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doirewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2008

My extended family, my wife and I stayed at the Alpine Lodge for a weekend in Febuary this year and we were delighted. We booked a three bedroom cabin and it was fantastic, brand new and fitted out to an extremly high standard. (The garden overlooked a green of the local golf course).

Bob made us feel welcome and didn't mind us "borrowing" his fantastic Labrador retriever for photo opportunities. The Lodge is very close to Hamner (10 mins walk) and I would recommend a stay there to anyone.

Alan & Sylvia Parker
Greenwich
London

  • Liked — Standard of accomodation
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan&Sylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#20 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Springs Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Springs Motel

Property: Alpine Springs Motel
Address: 121 Argelins Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alpine Springs Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Springs Motel is a unique, peaceful, private complex and add of qualmark 4 star plus standard, set in an acre of mature landscaped gardens next to Hanmer golf course, with stunning alpine views in every direction. Our luxurious motel is the perfect place to stay on a getaway weekend, family holiday, business trip, or while touring New Zealand. The motel has 10 ground floor self contained studios and apartments located at the quiet end of Hanmer Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpine Springs Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing