We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pub meal”

Five Stags Hanmer Springs
Price range: $5 - $29
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
new Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“pub meal”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

this was a typical pub type of meal, had a good selection at a very reasonable price, the service was fine, we enjoyed our meal and the bonus was it was 20 paced from our motel, very handy in the rain

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jenny074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs M, Manager at Five Stags Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hello Jenny074, thank you for your review. Being located right next door to the Hot Springs Motor Lodge is great as it offers guests a short walk for their evening meal - especially on a wet, cold winter's night. I was pleased to read your enjoyed your meal and look forward to welcoming you back one day soon
Kind regards
Kim, Warren and the team at Five Stags Restaurant Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    105
    47
    30
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rakaia, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A bit careful with reviews”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We were in Hamner at a very busy time 900 odd athletes and end of school holidays. When we drove around looking for somewhere for dinner most places were overflowing. Five Stags is a big bar restaurant and had plenty of space. I went in had a look around nice heating not too noisey and good menu. I came back with my family of 4 adults 2 children and baby in about 30 mins. We were really well looked after. My wife and mother in law shared a 'captain cooker' pork meal for two with beautiful potatoes and corn. I had a 'Barry Crump L&P Jack Daniels glazed spare ribs' this was amazing what a lovely piece of meat. My older son loved his steak. The kids had great choice from childrens menu.
The staff were lovely, one of my kids accidently bumped a glass out of a waitresses hand and she handled it beautifully and put my child at ease.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zinzanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs M, Manager at Five Stags Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hello Zinzanz, - thank you for taking the time to post your review of your experience when dining at the Five Stags Restaurant Bar. I was so pleased to read you all enjoyed your time at our restaurant, you are correct end of school holidays and a large sporting event makes Hanmer a very busy place with everyone wanting to dine early, and we all work really hard to try and please everyone. So thank you for your lovely review it is so nice to get after a very busy evening. We look forward to looking after you again soon
Kind regards
Warren, Kim and the Team at Five Stags Restaurant Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honeymooning in Hanmer”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband and I booked at Five Stags on the last night of our honeymoon in February in Hanmer for originally 6 people but as 3 of them fell extremely ill before heading to the restaurant it went down to only 3 of us. No bother.
We highly enjoyed our meals, I had the steak, my husband had the venison and I cannot recall what our friend had for a main. My husband said the venison was the best he has ever eaten and it was the biggest piece of venison for the price it was, from anywhere ever. My meal was amazing and i was so full by the end of it, almost didn't have room for desert(you always have room for desert) It was the best meal of our honeymoon!!!
All three of us then had the chocolate fondant for desert. We then decided to move into the bar as they then had a tour group in and they had started singing along to the piano and got very loud. The Manager then came over and apologized about the loud singing, but it was our decision to move so we said its fine don't worry about it. We spent the time eating our deserts listening to the singing and it was very funny. Desert was great! We were not disappointed.
As we went to pay at the end of the night we were greatly surprised as the value for money for what you got was the cheapest we had found anywhere we had been on our honeymoon for that level of amazing service and outstanding food.
Overall, the best way to end our honeymoon and we are super glad we went.
Thank you five stags for a great night out.
Would highly recommend this restaurant and was a highlight of our time away.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs M, Manager at Five Stags Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Congratulations on your wedding Laura P and thank you for choosing to dine at the Five Stags Restaurant Bar during your honeymoon. Thank you also for such a lovely review, we are really pleased to read you enjoyed your meal and dining experience and look forward to welcoming you back one day soon -
Kind regards
Kim, Warren and the team at Five Stags Restaurant Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Right beside Hot Spring Motel, so no driving. Lovely food lots of choices. Big screen TV and great staff

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs M, Manager at Five Stags Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you Lorraine for your review. It is very handy being next door to the Hot Springs Motor Lodge, a short stroll and you are there. No need to worry about driving to far at all for a lovely meal.
We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon
Kind regards
Kim and the team at Five Stags Restaurant Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic treasure hidden in Hanmer Springs!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We visited Hanmer Springs last week (Easter 2014) and after asking the motel manager where he recommended for dinner we were fantastically surprised by Five Stags!!
The atmosphere is awesome, the staff were friendly and the food was fantastic!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GrantO74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs M, Manager at Five Stags Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you Grant for such a lovely review, we are very pleased you enjoyed everything about the Five Stags restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon
Kind regards
Kim and the team at Five Stags Restaurant Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Stags Hanmer Springs also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Five Stags Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing