We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real BAD!!!!!!!!!”

Five Stags Hanmer Springs
Price range: $5 - $29
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Whakatane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Real BAD!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The absolute worse meal and serviceI have eever had. We asked to speak to the manager to complain, so the staff arqued with us. Don't eat here ever!!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank sirrurima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs M, Manager at Five Stags Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for answering my messages in regards to your experience. I am very sorry you had a bad experience, but your constructive feedback is vital to assist us in areas of improvement. We now have a new team of wait people who are just lovely and would certainly look after any guest concerns differently.
Kind regards
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    102
    47
    30
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor service and long wait times”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This has the ability to be a great restaurant but they seriously need to get their act together. We went with a group of friends for a birthday celebration and it was spoilt by the hour long wait before food orders were taken and then the very slow service of the meals. Four of our meals arrived nearly an hour after the first ones after we had to ask where they were twice- eventually someone in the bar said they had a fryer blow up so thats why it was slow but there was no explanation from the waiting staff and also no apology whatsoever. The food quality was average and the portions small so altogether not a great experience and we would not go back.
We asked a staff member for recommendations from the menu, she said she had only been there 2 hours so had no idea, then a staff member in the bar couldn't tell my husband where the toilets were!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hillbillies_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs M, Manager at Five Stags Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your review, although I was sorry to read we did not meet your expectations. On the night you dined we did have two inexperience staff on who helped us out of a spot when our two experienced staff members did not show. The simple things were missed in briefing them for the night, due to a larger than normal Saturday night crowd enjoying our facilities. We now have a great team of permanent wait staff who are well briefed. I hope you do give us a second chance when you return to Hanmer Springs one day.
Kind regards
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHOREHAM BY SEA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A quality restaurant with style”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Only recently opened for business but the all round quality of service , ambiance and food means that this restaurant will be around and at the forefront of Hanmer Springs dining for some time to come. Congratulations to all involved.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dogwalker_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs M, Manager at Five Stags Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review of the Five Stags Hanmer Springs. Our team are working really hard to deliver an enjoyable experience for all our customers and your feedback is a lovely positive to pass on to everyone. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hanmer Springs and the Five Stags Hanmer Springs one day.
Kind regards
Kim and the team at Five Stags Hanmer Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Coffee needs improvement”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stopped to have a coffee here when passing through Hanmer. Great new decor, looks really good.

I am not a coffee snob, however the mochachino that I ordered was probably the worst I have ever been served. No frothy milk, and a watery tasteless drink. Not sure how this was made but even an instant coffee would have been preferable.

At $4.50, I would suggest training on the coffee machine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs M, Manager at Five Stags Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you Mary for posting your review on your mochaccino at Five Stags Hanmer Springs, I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy it. As you suggested we have coffee training scheduled and are all looking forward to seeing the Vivace representation to upskill us all.
Kind regards
Kim and the team at Five Stags Hanmer Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

An excessive wait between ordering and receiving our meals. A meal "for two" arrived with no serving utensils and after requesting utensils were given a spoon to serve slices of meat. The meal would have been ok for one but insufficient or two. Luckily we ordered extra vegetables but sadly they didn't arrive and we had to follow this up with wait staff. Another wait. Even with the extra veggies there was just not enough food. Overall a very disappointing night.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SleepyINParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs M, Manager at Five Stags Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hello SleepyNParadise, thank you for your review. I was very disappointed to read that we did not provide a sufficient meal for you with quick and prompt service. Although no excuse for your disappointment, after ten days of trading we have quickly learnt which dishes are labour intensive and have slowing down the speed of service. Therefore we are now in the process of fine tuning the menu and removing or revamping these dishes. Thank you for your feedback, as always it is vital for us to receive so we can rectify any area that causes our customers dis-satisfaction.
Kind regards
Kim Rogers
Five Stags Hanmer Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Stags Hanmer Springs also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Five Stags Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing