We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tussock Peak Motor Lodge
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect Motel”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This motel was selected for us as part of a spa package, it wouldn't have been possible to choose a better place ourselves! The rooms, are comfortable and really nicely decorated. The shower is one of the best I've used! Perfect after a 'hard' day at the spa! It's a short walk from the spa and village centre.

Julie was hugely helpful and the perfect host. Stay here, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Go for the spa room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusDPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    41
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
46
83
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moraira, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Checked in with a minimum of fuss and upon informing the proprietor that my wife suffered from MS and couldn't get up stairs too well when we were given a 1st floor apartment, we were offered a ground floor room which although wasn't ready, was cleaned within the hour and was ready upon out return from having a wander around the town.
The rooms were clean and adequately furnished with a bonus of free wifi internet connection, something that had been lacking on our previous nights in Kaikoura.
The location is ideal for the Springs which are just a few minutes up the road, as is the centre of Hanmer Springs.
We paid $165 for a queen sized bed and a single bed for our daughter which I thought was reasonable. On the whole, I would definitely recommend this motel to visitors to Hanmer Springs. Thanks for your hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Nice motel within very easy walk of the springs and shops. The room is a good size for two with double bed, couch, table and 2 chairs. The outdoor patio or balcony makes the room look bigger and is nice to sit in the afternoon sun. Free wifi a bonus but disappointed they don't give you towels to use at the hot springs.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Some have spas, some don't but the springs are just up the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kscott4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here one night, picking the hotel from the outside appearance. The receptionist was polite and helpful we saw our room before deciding and were offered a discount without asking.
The large room was clean well equipped (even a microwave) with a wet room type shower. A decent TV and a complimentary DVD was also available.
It was in easy walking distance of places to eat but I would recommend that you order the breakfast there as the choice was either too limited or too long a wait in town. Evening meals were great in town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this motel, and found it to be very good. Pleasant upstairs room with nice decor. Very clean, and comfy bed and furnishings. Perfect location, just across the road from the hot pools & spa, and easy walk to the restaurants and cafes. Friendly staff. Only criticism would be that it was a bit noisy at night, from other guests talking loudly in the carpark!!

Room Tip: Definitely get an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We chose this place due to price and convenience to hot springs, also it was far superior to Top Ten Park and cheaper! Absolutely great room, clean, comfy beds, quiet and fabulous girl on reception....very helpful and 2 hour free wifi. It's also across the road from a lovely park where we carried our cups of tea at days end. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boozybub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night only. But the motel was very handy for the things we did in 24 hours. It is two minutes away from the heated pools and the restaurants are a minute away. The beds ,bathroom and kitchen facilities are good. We had the upper level so we no noise of other people above us. The free internet is great. Overall a very nice place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
693 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tussock Peak Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tussock Peak Motor Lodge

Property: Tussock Peak Motor Lodge
Address: 2 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#8 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tussock Peak Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable luxury and style in a prime central location. Stunning mountain views and a stroll away from Hanmer Springs' many attractions. Units range from spacious spa studios through to 2 bedroom family suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tussock Peak Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tussock Peak Motor Hotel Hanmer Springs
Tussock Peak Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing