We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting in a tranquil town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Greenacres Chalets And Apartments
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice setting in a tranquil town”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The chalets are very spacious and can sleep 6 pax comfortably. The chalet that we have has been renovated recently, so everything looked new and clean in there. The place is right next to the Conical Hill hiking path, so it's ideal for those who like trekking. The staff there are also very friendly and helpful. We originally only planned to stay for one night but ended up extending for one more night as we enjoyed the tranquility of Hanmer Springs.

Room Tip: The chalets are being renovated, so make sure you ask for the ones that have been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbbalemi, Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hi, Thank you very much for your positive review! We really apriciate it!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay that much you decided to stay longer!
Our Chalets are indeed being renovated and we keep on working to improve them.

Hope to see you back very soon!
Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    85
    45
    15
    10
See reviews for
115
95
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This place is at the end of the main drag away from all the noise. You get your own small cabin with all the necessities including kitchenette with stove at a great price! So all of you people that are like us and don't like spending lots of money on eating out this is a perfect place!! Manager very friendly and helpful, would recommend this place anytime! Has affordable laundry too

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbbalemi, Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you very much for those nice words!
We apreciate your stay and hope to see you back very soon!
Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2013

It is rainning when we stay in , but there is fan heater warm up the room quickly. It is private place on the uphill where we get fantastic mountain view. My child spend 2 hour on the playground.
the stuff here are really helpful. we will be back next time.

Room Tip: the room 4 we stay has wonderful view through the windows. we have a relax morning tea here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Qiuping S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbbalemi, Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with use and hope to see you back again!
Maybe next time the weather will be better!
Have a nice holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great location and yet quiet and good motel accommodation. The only place I would stay at in Hanmer. Great service very keen to help in anyway. They know the area and where to eat. They also know where all the good walks are. The location is high up so you get a great view but is still in walking distance. The chalets are showing sign of their age, but they are clean and we stayed for three nights and were happy with it.

Room Tip: They have a spa just didn't use it. The single bedroom chalets are great for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nautique5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbbalemi, Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank very much for this positive review!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back very soon!
May your holiday season and the New Year be filled with much joy, happiness and success!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnham common
Level Contributor
298 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We arrived in Hanmer Springs quite late in the afternoon and little of quality was available; we thus took a room (Chalet 7) in the Greenacres Motel. The Receptionist was very helpful but the room was dilapidated (plaster falling off wall, wall paper missing, woodwork damaged) and a major disappointment after a long car journey. Basically, we would not recommend it; indeed, stay away. Wifi worked well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbbalemi, Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Shabby
We are sorry that we have no time to put the wall paper back in the bed room . it was teared off by the kids .
Follow your suggestion , we are going to painting the room 7 instead of the wall paper next week , and it is going to close the room for next 2 weeks. We hope we can make people who are staying in the room 7 comfortablly during the christmas time.

thank you for your time giving us the feedback. We are keeping updating the units and improving our servies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

as has been said before, the owners are lovely, very helpful and polite. This is an older property but you get what you pay for and it's very clean. Each unit has it's own little deck and the set up feels quite private.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allie2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbbalemi, General Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank Heaps for your positive review .We are glad you enjoyed your one night stay with us . We are the first motel in Hanmer springs, we are keeping updating the rooms each year and make the room more comfortable to stay in . We are glad to have you here , and you can see the difference when you come back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanaka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom chalet for 3 nights. The rooms were clean and tidy with an amazing lookout of hamner springs. The kids loved the park and the use of the DVDs after a busy day in the hot pools. The staff were great and very helpful. The bedrooms were lovely and warm and very comfy beds. Thank you we will defiantly be back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: We were in number 10. Great views over the town. And sunny all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbbalemi, General Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Nichola,
thank you for your time to give us the valuable review.
It is wonderful to have you and your family staying in our motel , and it is the most important thing for us to make you enjoy the time staying in Hanmersprings. You bring the sunshine back to here.
WE are looking forward to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
673 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Forest Peak Motel
Forest Peak Motel
#15 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
90 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalets Motel
Chalets Motel
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenacres Chalets And Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenacres Chalets And Apartments

Property: Greenacres Chalets And Apartments
Address: 84 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenacres Chalets And Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique complex of cosy, individual alpine chalets and superior villas set in acres of parkland overlooking Hanmer Village and the mountains beyond. A short walk to the famous Thermal pools and Shops. 1, 2, 3 bedroom with fully equipped kitchens, something to suit everyone from couples to families. Spectacular views, privacy and quiet with room to move. Wireless internet, DVD library, BBQs, Playground, Private Spa. Commitment to environmental sustainability. Friendly NZ owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Greenacres Chalets And Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing