We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This is it!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

First, if ever I find myself in Hanmer again, this is where I'll stay.

Location, cleanliness, spaciousness and quality of the rooms tick all the boxes.

The lady who manages the place took care of us very well. During our stay, there were very strong winds and we were allowed to park our motorbike in their covered garage to protect the vehicle. This was very much appreciated.

After a full day of being at the pools, all you want to do is have a spacious and comfortable place to lounge... Our very own room was the perfect place. The motel was simple, modest and unpretentious- with rooms that have all the basics a traveler needs. in short, the room just makes you comfortable.

Couldn't have asked for a better accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Themrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Owner at ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    45
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
72
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

As with other motels in the Asure range,we found this motel to be spacious,comfortable and well appointed. The standard of cleanliness was extremely high and the hosts/reception staff very welcoming and helpful. The main thing for us which gives the motel a full 5 stars is the proximity to the town centre - barely two minutes stroll to shops,supermarket,restaurants etc. - perfect!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwibear_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Owner at ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you. All the very best for 2013. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
125 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

When we walked in, the owner/manager immediately gave us a choice of rooms...ground floor, or first floor with view of the mountain. The choice was easy. Nice view, with afternoon sun on the balcony, good for a glass of wine....
The motel is short walking distance from the town centre where there are plenty of cafes and restaurants. Also the hot springs are a short distance away.
We fell in love with Hanmer. What a nice town! Great atmosphere, friendly townies and a superb environment.
The Hanmer Inn can be recommended as a friendly, clean and nice overnight option.

Room Tip: 1st floor, view of the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Owner at ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The stay was just overnight but could not have had a better experience. The reception was kind and helpful went out of her way to assist us even putting our washing in the dryer and bring it into the room for us while we were enjoying the Springs just a short walk away. Room was comfortable and clean. Walking distance from all the restaurants and cafe's in the main street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Owner at ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Friendly service and clean rooms however I wouldn't stay again particularly on a Sat night as rooms back onto pub and it was quite noisy. Rooms are clean and very basic. Heater did not work. Double bed was two singles pushed together and they were quite uncomfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amberrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Owner at ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry you did enjoy your stay. This always concerns us. We think we know which room you were in and will check the heater (also go through the other rooms as well) but wish you had told us as we would have rectified the problem. We could have been contacted at any time, even on an 'out of hours' telephone number at night. Also all of our king beds are king bed splits the reason being that we have many requests for 2 x single beds. We have had many many compliments on how comfortable our beds are but realise that possibly they will not suit everybody, or be like home. Regarding the pub, the people outside enjoying themselves were inside or had left by 8pm we think. We are sorry you found our rooms basic, we are a 4 Star Motel and think we are generally the same as a normal motel of that star rating. Once again, we are sorry but we always try our best and will continue to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just across the road from the hot springs so just right in that respect. Clean, reasonably sized studio room and fresh milk offered on arrival not UHT containers in the room. Phone in room was in a stupid place which got knocked off it's perch almost every time we walked past it.I HATE flip top waste bins as they get dirty just by being looked at.Nice white bedlinen and sheets but top cover on the bed weighs a ton.Pillows were a tad hard for my liking but otherwise no complaints apart from poor sound insulation between us and next room. We could hear almost every word of conversations and when they left early in the morning there was no lie in for us as the staff were in cleaning straight away. At least they were cleaning properly. Very nice warm and friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEOFFREY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Owner at ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Sorry about the phone, we cannot see where else in the room to move it to, but maybe we can look at putting something on, to hold it more firmly in place. Thanks for that. Regarding the sound insulation between rooms, most of our rooms have very good sound insulation room to room as there are stairwells in between, so it is just unfortunate that you were in a room that is directly next to another room. We will try to be more considerate when we are cleaning. We think the room next door to you must have been first to leave that morning and we were anxious to get it cleaned as it was a busy holiday weekend. We try to start cleaning as late as possible, 9.30 am on a Sunday 9.00 am other days, so apologies for that. However thank you for your review and all your points have been noted and we will aim to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This motel is operated by a lovely lady who makes you most welcome. The motel is close to the township and hot pools; just a few minutes walk away. Our unit was spotlessly clean, perfectly equipped to suit our needs. Our bed was most comfortable.
I would strongly recommend this motel to anyone wanting a stay in Hanmer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadMaxChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M, Owner at ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you very much. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalets Motel
Chalets Motel
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel

Property: ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
Address: 16 Jacks Pass Road | Hanmer Springs, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanmer Inn Motel sits right in the centre of the village. The Thermal Pools are 2 minutes walk away and is close to the shops and many restaurants. The comfortable units, ranging from studios to 2 Bedroom Family Units have plenty of heating and also ALL have kitchens - hotplates (some units have a full cooker but please specifically request), microwave, full fridge, electric frypan etc. Milk is offered to each guest/unit on arrival, and there are a range of beverages available in the room - selection of Teas, Coffee and Hot Chocolate, complimentary newspaper ON REQUEST. The Hanmer Inn Motel also offer FREE WIFI (conditions apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanmer Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing