We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location only”
Review of Alpine Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpine Lodge Motel
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Expensive for what it is, we thought. I suppose you have to pay top dollar for location, but that is probably all these motels now have. Very outdated miniature showers, with blocked shower nozzles and all could do with a good make over.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwikate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Alpine Lodge Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 135 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2012

Nice staff, very clean, wood paneled room, great location, just seemed a little expensive

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliMoz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We paid for a tower room and we paid alot for this room and I was dissapointed to find it is right by the road and everyone walking past could see in unless the curtains were closed which made the room dark. While the bed may look nice in pictures it was not that good to sleep in the bed head was not fixed to anything and everytime one of us shifted it rattled and banged. The biggest issue we had was there is no sound proofing between our roof and the floor of the people upstairs and we could hear them everytime they moved and the doors opening and closing etc 'all night long'. I was very dissapointed with this Motel.

Room Tip: Choose one without someone over top.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Havick007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We were allowed to check-in 2hrs early to our room. Log cabin style accommodation, looks great but not ideal for sound insulation so expect creaking if the wind is blowing and if you have loud neighbours you will hear them! Comfortable bed, basic kitchen utensils, small bathroom. Very high ceiling making it hard to kill the flies but fly spray was provided within the room! Were given free towels to use at the thermal pools which is just across the road.

Room Tip: Would not recommend this accommodation if you are a light sleeper
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank untermc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Absolutely fantastic get away and stay for 1 night on boxing day. We stayed in the Tower suites as they kindly had upgraded us from our orignial booking which we had booked a Chalet unit. As it was our wedding anniversary and we hadn't gone back to Hanmer Springs together since our honeymoon 9 years ago! Was a much needed get away to celebrate each other, life and have a short break from Earthquakes as we from Christchurch.
We could not have asked for anything more. The location is perfect just across from the Hot pools and the balcony view was awesome!They even were kind enough to offer us an extra hour for check out and made no fuss over the fact that we checked in 30mins before offical check in time as we arrived to Hanmer earlier than we thought we would.Thank you very much for a awesome stay. Wish we could have had more than 1 night for our get away but even so it was terrific!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kho_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

However the walls are paper thin. You can very clearly hear your neighbors conversations and so on.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verywilltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

The motel is in a great location and the managers are nice, but I could hear the people in the next room. I would not recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yankee-on-walk-about
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
704 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Larchwood Motel
Larchwood Motel
#21 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Garden Motel
Alpine Garden Motel
#16 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#11 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge Motel

Address: 1 Harrogate Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $87 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Lodge Motel is a charming motel located in the heart of the alpine village and set in beautifully maintained gardens. With our fabulous location, it is an easy stroll to all the fine shops, cafes, bars and restaurants that Hanmer Springs has to offer, as well as a quick hop across the road to the famous Thermal Pools! We are renowned for our impressive round tower and suites with very unique super-king sized ROUND BEDS. Also, with our great selection of studios, chalets, family units and luxury suites, we remain a very popular choice with all of our visitors. All of our units are serviced daily, our car park is private from the road and we have 5 SKY Channels and yes, 2 of them are sports channels so you won’t miss that crucial match! Hanmer Springs has a lot to offer, starting with the Thermal Pools, horse riding, walking and mountain bike tracks (many tracks from beginner to advanced accessible from the end of our street), mini golf, a fun maze, fishing and skiing. For the more adventurous of you there’s Thrillseekers which can provide bungy jumping, jet boating, white water rafting and quad biking to name a few, all of which you can book from our reception. For those who want to relax and unwind, grab a DVD from reception and chill out in your room. With 24 units we can easily accommodate from large groups to people traveling alone, families to special occasions, we have something for everyone! Whatever you are looking for, Alpine Lodge Motel can provide. We look forward to seeing you soon! Your Friendly Hosts: Ash and Emma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alpine Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing