We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful two days of rest and relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpine Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alpine Lodge Motel
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Wonderful two days of rest and relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Great stay from the start. Leaving shaky Christchurch on a chilly Friday night and being met by Emma who escorted us to our warm room, lighting already on. It was really welcoming.
The room was well appointed, very clean, spacious with lovely antique furnishings.
The large spa bath was wonderful following an evening out dining. Clean towels provided daily. We were pleasantly surprised at the very reasonable tariff.
We will certainly will be visiting again. We had forgotton how close Hanmer was to Ch Ch and really appreciated the break.
Thanks for the excellent service.
Vic and Ron

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    41
    26
    11
    4
See reviews for
23
68
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

Great location across the road from the thermal pool complex. Basic but comfortable accommodation - carpets worn and linen faded but clean. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChambyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

****NO SMOKE DETECTORS INSTALLED!!! At Alpine Lodge Motel - you are only paying for the Location. 40 watt light bulbs make reading at night impossible. Hole in the bathroom wall & no toilet door! Dead moth on bathroom floor.Continually dripping shower & cracked showerhead. Showerdoor wouldnt shut properly. Broken jug lid, 3 piece dinner/cutlery set & kitchen appliances from the early 1970s Sofa - with springs gone! 2 Sky channels not 5 as advertised. Misleading advert -DVD player has to be installed if requested. Paperthin walls - baby crying and taps turning on - were very loud. Only Shampoo supplied, no conditioner. Bed was like a rock to sleep on. AND - asked to pay BEFORE you stay !! A smile from the hosts wouldve been good & not so many "sighs"!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mckenzie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

Walk in booking. Asked if they had a family room with two bedrooms. No, but have an aging cabin with two singles in a small bedroom and queen in common area. On the face, ok, a little cramped, well equipped kitchenette, large bathroom. Bedding and carpet a little grungy, microwave quite old, never generated any heat. Hotel also has newer area. My wife was poking around, looking into vacant rooms, when lo and behold she comes across the two bedroom unit (separate BR's I might add). This on the morning of our departure, so didn't make a fuss. Certain that management doesn't really want kids in the nice, new rooms, so let them trash the old cabin, and who's to care? Should have gone elsewhere. Big plus is location directly across from hot springs.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninernut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
419 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

We stayed in an older family unit, but it was warm (despite the snow storm), with comfortable beds and cooking facilities. Management were very helpful. Best thing was being able to go to the pools, then just run across the road back to the units.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakatipu Basin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

Booked 1 bedroom unit and on arrival was shown studio . For personal reasons 2 people needed separate rooms. Then offered a poky i bedroom unit, fitting just 2 single beds. No wardrobe in unit, nowhere to put cases, carpet worn and grubby, holes in bathroom wall. Price not negotiable and $120 per night for 4 nights. Should have moved.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marg008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
385 reviews
271 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2009

We looked at several motels many of them nondescript, looking like English council houses of the 50s or absurdly expensive. The Alpine stood out, more Switzerland than South Island. It was nice and bright, and directly opposite the Springs. The price was clearly negotiable. We had a very strong internet connection for a reasonable price though to get wifi we had to be in the room next to the rubbish bins! The hotel supplied extra towels for the Springs for free. Very genial management

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Garden Motel
Alpine Garden Motel
#14 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Greenacres Chalets And Apartments
Greenacres Chalets And Apartment...
#13 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge Motel

Property: Alpine Lodge Motel
Address: 1 Harrogate Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Lodge Motel is a charming motel located in the heart of the alpine village and set in beautifully maintained gardens. With our fabulous location, it is an easy stroll to all the fine shops, cafes, bars and restaurants that Hanmer Springs has to offer, as well as a quick hop across the road to the famous Thermal Pools! We are renowned for our impressive round tower and suites with very unique super-king sized ROUND BEDS. Also, with our great selection of studios, chalets, family units and luxury suites, we remain a very popular choice with all of our visitors. All of our units are serviced daily, our car park is private from the road and we have 5 SKY Channels and yes, 2 of them are sports channels so you won’t miss that crucial match! Hanmer Springs has a lot to offer, starting with the Thermal Pools, horse riding, walking and mountain bike tracks (many tracks from beginner to advanced accessible from the end of our street), mini golf, a fun maze, fishing and skiing. For the more adventurous of you there’s Thrillseekers which can provide bungy jumping, jet boating, white water rafting and quad biking to name a few, all of which you can book from our reception. For those who want to relax and unwind, grab a DVD from reception and chill out in your room. With 24 units we can easily accommodate from large groups to people traveling alone, families to special occasions, we have something for everyone! Whatever you are looking for, Alpine Lodge Motel can provide. We look forward to seeing you soon! Your Friendly Hosts: Ash and Emma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Alpine Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing