We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food (and wine!)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marble Point Winery

Marble Point Winery
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Marble Point Winery is situated just 13km south from the small alpine village of Hanmer Springs heading towards Christchurch. We are the only vineyard in this area; at 297m above sea level, we are among New Zealand's highest altitude vineyards. Our situation on the banks of the Waiau River and the micro climate it creates allows us to grows grapes where many people thought we would fail. Varieties grown are Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay, Riesling and Pinot Noir. We are open for tastings 10am to 5pm Daily.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food (and wine!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We decided to stop in here for a relaxed lunch on our holiday while staying in Hanmer. Turned out to be a great decision. The menu wasn't huge, but the food delivered. I had the lamb rack and it was simply outstanding. The wine was good too (Classic Riesling). The owners were friendly and down to earth. We had a really good time here. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tinks04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    10
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely spot, personal service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in at marble point after enjoying a bottle of their sav blanc in a hanmer springs restaurant.

The owner was working behind the bar and we enjoyed chatting away to him about their journey so far.

We enjoyed the Pinot noir and a nice cheese platter.

Great to support the smaller wineries, we would love to try for lunch!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stopped here on the way back to CHCH from the West Coast for lunch with a friend from Hanmer. Nice food (including childrens menu) & great wine in a lovely setting. Would recommend to all!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank duchess2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best meal of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We stopped off at Marble Point Winery on the way home from an extended long weekend away. What a beautiful spot, perfectly appointed, lovely big tables with a view and very friendly, knowledgeable staff.
I had the most amazing lamb salad (best lamb salad I've ever had) and hubby had the ribeye steak. After eating out every meal for the previous four days this was by far the best meal we had had - well worth stopping for!
The classic reisling was fantastic (so good we brought a bottle to take home!)
We will definitely be stopping here again (we can't wait!)

Helpful?
Thank RileyMarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Winery - not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

When travelling in the Hanmer Springs area - make time to visit Marble Point Winery. This is well worth the stop - if nothing else to spend some quiet time looking at the view. A warm friendly greeting from the staff, good clean lines in the tasting room / restaurant and this place has a WOW factor.
The food is fabulous - a lovely menu with variety for most palates, small & larger dishes, I enjoyed a seafood pasta that was brimming with seafood, moist ( not that dry taste) and such a healthy size serving to feed the most hungry person.
We enjoyed a bottle of the Dry Riesling - this is stunning. Not being a regular Riesling drinker I was so impressed with this drop.
Richard & Cheryl have got the mix just right - make time for a stop - you will not be disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jaymaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marble Point Winery also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Marble Point Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing