We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to eat”

No.31 Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $27
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The former "Laurels" Restaurant re-opened its doors in May 2012, as "No.31 Restaurant & Bar", an A la Carte Restaurant specializing in modern European/New Zealand Cuisine. The restaurant is set in a quaint character cottage on the main street of Hanmer Springs. French doors open out to a lovely courtyard for alfresco dining and an outside bar leaner for pre-dinner drinks/cocktails in the warmer months. Inside the restaurant it is very homely, with an open fire, wooden floors and candle-lit tables. Award winning chef/owner, Michael van de Wiel ( previous chef/owner at "The Old Post Office Restaurant", Hanmer Springs, for 12 years). Fully Licensed and NOT BYO. Reservations Recommended.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

An upmarket and high quality experience. The meal and wine were both very good. The serviettes were fine also! The staff were very welcoming and attentive and the service matched the food - excellent.

Date of visit: January 2014
Thank BrentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (938)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 797 of 938 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

Great meal with local wines available. Nice attentive staff would go back every night if waistline and budget permitted.

If your in town its a must dining experience

Date of visit: January 2014
Thank nzfargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Just next door to where we were staying. Popped in on the off chance there was room. There was. Enjoyable evening with a group of friends. Nice setting, enjoyable menu and reasonable pricing. Many Thanks

Date of visit: December 2013
Thank BaycrestL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We travelled across New Zealand and spent a night in Hanmer Springs. This restaurant was a real find. The evening meal here was one of, if not the best that we had in NZ. It was very reasonably priced (compared to UK) and a great selection of cocktails too. Thoroughly recommend you try this place.

Date of visit: February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AshleyRiches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I think we have found the perfect restaurant! We thoroughly enjoyed all three courses of our meal, and the service was second to none. We will definitely be returning to No. 31.

Thank LibbiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No.31 Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to No.31 Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing